We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly renovated rooms OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Glacerie
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Freshly renovated rooms OK”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was a hotel Ok for a night stay over before taking ferry but actually we perceived it to be uglier than on the pics. It is nice that the rooms have been renovated recently and there is IKEA-like furniture and hygienic tarpaulin (?) instead of the usual carpet. But reception area, breakfast room etc are quite old style. We wondered when this is as this simple, how much lower can the budget version (next door) be?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jansen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    159
    54
    7
    3
See reviews for
94
120
13
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

You know what you get with an Ibis, but this is a little better. One of the best beds I've sleped in really nice. Rooms fine, but no tea making kit, I must check next time to see if this is normal or not.

Restaurant okay, nothing special, Not really much about to walk to, but for an overnight stop pretty reasonable.

Staff all very friendly, so that made it pleasant

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetUKJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EquipeIBIS C, Responsable réception at Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you again !

Best regards,


Alexis - Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice pleasant room, very quiet (insonorized). Location good for exploring the whole Normandy. Very helpful and friendly staff. They set a table for us in front of the TV so that we could watch the soccer match during the world championship. We were in the 3 stars Ibis, not the budget one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EquipeIBIS C, Responsable réception at Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in ibis budget Cherbourg La Gacerie.
To satisfy our customers is a priority for us so it's nice to receive good feedback from our hosts.

We hope we will receive you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Lisa, receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Good clean corporate chain hotel. No atmosphere, very sterile, exactly what you would expect. Food, 6 out of ten. Minimalist room with shampoo etc attached to the wall. Just blah! Was last night heading home so on the edge of a big port, can't expect much.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank croakies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EquipeIBIS C, Responsable réception at Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear,

Thank you for giving your opinion about your stay.
We will take note of what you said and try to do our best in the future.

Best regards,

Lisa, receptionist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

One of the better ibis hotels I have stayed at, very clean and quiet on the down side it is 7 km from the centre and front of Cherbourg and taxis are extremely expensive. Good bar but there is nowhere outside to sit in the sunshine except for a bench in the carpark

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear look over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EquipeIBIS C, Responsable réception at Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your comments.
We have two small living rooms where you eventually can relax and enjoy your drink.
We really hope we will get the chance to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Lisa, receptionist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Glacerie
2.7 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#3 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
#3 of 4 in La Glacerie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie

Property: Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Address: 2 RUE DU CHATEAU D'EAU | RN13 Rond Point Andre Malraux, 50470 La Glacerie, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville > La Glacerie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Glacerie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Cherbourg hotel is close to the motorway and a shopping centre. The Cité de la Mer, the ferry terminal and the railway station are only 5 min from the hotel. It has 71 air-conditioned rooms available for booking, a meeting room, free closed parking, a bar with a terrace open 24/24 and a restaurant. Guests on a business trip will appreciate the Wifi wireless Internet access. A golf course and a tennis court are available close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie Cherbourg-Octeville, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing