We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST TIME BUT NOT THE LAST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Glacerie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

At 67 I had never considered a Budget Ibis before, but with one night to fill between leaving a gite and sailing for home, I was persuaded by the price. With some misgivings I approached the hotel - what a pleasant surprise. The staff were efficient, polite and informative - reception was clean, organised and tidy - the room was exactly as described in the ads - spotlessly clean, excellent bed linen and towels and a good shower, a decent television and enough space to leave you feeling relaxed. Topped off by an excellent nights sleep in quiet surroundings, for under £50 a night this was superb value for money - what a lovely surprise to end the holiday on - I would definitely recommend anyone to try it and would certainly use this chain again, my misgivings having been firmly dispelled.

Room Tip: 1st floor to avoid parking which is a metre from some downstairs windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe_Ibis_budget, L'équipe at Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear,

Thank you very much for such a kind comment.
We are glad to see that we furfilled our mission.

We hope we will welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards

Lisa - receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed in Mid-July after arriving in Cherbourg on an evening crossing. Arrived alongside various other passengers and we were all dealt with pleasantly and efficiently by the reception staff.
Being a relatively new addition to the Ibis at Cherbourg; the rooms, although cheap, were excellent in their facilities, cleanliness and state of repair.
We had to book two rooms for 2 adults and 2 children under 4 due to the occupancy rules, but even then the price was attractive. The hotel staff were also very helpful when we made our booking, responding to emails very quickly to confirm room occupancy rules and the provision of a cot (which was set up in the second room) and also to arrange for the rooms to be located next to each other.

There is plenty of parking space, although it appears limited on arrival, there are lots of spaces to the rear of the hotel.

The beds are very comfortable - my three and a half year old loved the bunk bed above my bed and although space is understandably limited in these rooms due to it being a budget hotel, there was plenty of space for us and the luggage we needed to bring in for the night.

Facilities in the room included a toilet, shower and sink, which were all immaculate. My room even had an LED shower head which is great for the kids!
At the other end of the room is a TV - we didn't stay for long enough to investigate the channels that were available, but there seemed to be a lot! There is also a desk and stool.
There are no facilities for making hot drinks, but there were three plastic cups for tap water and the reception had a drinks machine, microwave and another snacks vending machine.
There is a small cafe on site which we chose not to use, and you are very close to an Auchan Supermarket which has very well priced food and fuel. We went over after we checked out to buy pastries and bread etc and we were able to eat our breakfast outside on picnic benches next to the carpark - while it may not be the most beautiful location, it was a great provision for us with two small children!

The hotel is located on a roundabout on the major route South from Cherbourg. It takes 10-15 minutes to travel between the two on the E46.

To get two rooms as clean and well provisioned as this for less than £60 is amazing. With the proximity to the port and local facilities, I can see us using this hotel again in the future!

Room Tip: The triple room contains a double bed with a single bunk across the top of it. While it won't gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe_Ibis_budget, L'équipe at Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear,

Thank you so much for being so positive about our hotel !

We definitely hope you will come back here.

See you soon.

Lisa - Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great for overnight stop before drive south.
Spotlessly clean, friendly staff at reception, and a perfectly good buffet breakfast. Had dinner in the main hotel next door. Simple but tasty and suited our requirements. The location is off an out of town shopping centre roundabout, don't expect sea views!
Would definitely book again the next time I use that ferry crossing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loopyloolooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe_Ibis_budget, L'équipe at Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our mission is to make the most for our clients, we are glad to hear that we fulfill it.

Thank you.

Best regards

Lisa - receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Equipe_Ibis_budget, Responsable réception at Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is an ideal place for a stop-off when travelling to or from Cherbourg. Clean, comfortable and spacious room with large shower room en suite and quality TV. Plenty of parking and for just 39E for a family of three. The breakfast was perfectly fine and a good start to the day. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for an overnight stay and great value.
If you're looking for somewhere to eat avoid the chain US-style burger joint next door and drive 3 minutes down the road to L'ecurie for a good French meal in lovely surroundings. A great start to the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBadger2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe_Ibis_budget, l'équipe at Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear,

Thank you so much for this kind comment.
We really hope we will get the chance to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Lisa, receptionist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is the perfect hotel if you are looking for simple yet spotlessly clean accommodation. The great news is that there is an Ibis next door where you can buy a good meal and enjoy some drinks in the bar. We had Grimbergen when we were there to give you an idea.

The staff were so friendly; they even let us leave our bikes in a ground floor room at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe_Ibis_budget, Responsable réception at Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear,

Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel.
Our mission is to make the most for our clients, we are glad to hear that we fulfill it.

We really hope we will get the chance to welcome you again soon !

Lisa, receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Equipe_Ibis_budget, Responsable réception at Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Glacerie
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
#3 of 4 in La Glacerie
60 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie
2.7 mi away
hotelF1 Cherbourg
hotelF1 Cherbourg
#2 of 2 in Tourlaville
49 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#6 of 23 in Cherbourg-Octeville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie

Address: Rn13 | Rond-Point Andre Malraux, 50470 Cherbourg-Octeville, Cherbourg-en-Cotentin, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-en-Cotentin > Cherbourg-Octeville > La Glacerie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Glacerie
Price Range: £37 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Cherbourg La Glacerie hotel, opened in April 2013, offers 51 cocoon-style rooms for 1 to 3 people in a quiet environment, with bright and adaptable surroundings, wooden features and soft colors, as well as cozy duvets and extra-large showers! This new-generation economic hotel caters for both your comfort and your budget, and is closed from the city center and the Cité de la Mer maritime museum. 24-hour reception. Open all year round, 7 days a week. Free WIFI. Snacking 24-hour. Restaurant beside. Free Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie Cherbourg-Octeville, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing