We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very average and situated too far out to eat elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Glacerie
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel is more suitable for a one night stay in transit. The room was comfortable enough but the potos of the food are not representative of the reality. The food is decidedly average and over-priced, eg. €9.50 for a croissant, tea and a slice of cheese...
The hotel is too far away from any restaurants to make eating elsewhere practical unless there is a non-drinking driver in your party. The hotel is ideally located for travelling out of Cherbourg if visiting the Normandy beaches or bayeux.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed overnight to break the journey between destinations. Arrived at 9pm and went in for a late dinner. Selection of food was relatively good and the price was reasonable. (deserts were wonderful-especially as it was a buffet!!) The rooms were adequate for a short stay overnight and were good for a rest. The walls were thin and you could hear the doors of other rooms being closed throughout the evening (not so good if you are a light sleeper). Breakfast was great. A huge continual selection of meets, cheeses, pastries and cereals. Overall - a good nights sleep with a wonderful breakfast to wake up to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martiniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on Friday and enjoyed a great value meal with 2 bottles of cheap but nice wine.

There's some mold in the corner of the room but nothing as dramatic as other trip advisors have suggested.

All in all a fab place for the money

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_Lee_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Never thought I would have a week in Cherbourg, went over to see the D day enactment 6 June, if you are interested in world war 2 military vehicles this is the place to be .San Mer Eglise the old church where the American parachutist got his chute caught on the steeple, also featured in the film The Longest Day. Utah Beach and Omaha Beach, also the American Cemetery is.
Really enjoyed

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Great overnigth stay after docking in Cherbourgh. The room was clean and tidy, the beds comfortable and clean good sized bathrooms. There was three beds in one room and twon beds in the other. The breakfast next morning was excellent with lots of choice. The staff were helpful and pleasant. Good hotel for the channel crossing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel as we were touring the area. It is nice and handy for the ferry to Roslaire. The room on the first floor looked a bit dingy on the outside but was clean and tidy on the inside. The twin room was well set out and comfortable. The bathroom is a good size with a decent shower. We had dinner on our last night and to treat ourselves had the gourmet menu @ €25. You get a buffet starter, main course from the menu and buffet desert. The buffet starter is not very good and should be given a miss. My friend had the steak and found it tough my fish was tasty but I asked for a salad and got only an assortment of lettuce. The range of desserts is good and a better option would have been the plat de jour and the desserts @ €15pp. I was surprised that when paying €25pp they charged extra for the 2 coffees.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor overlooking the carpark it gets the sun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hoops22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We chose this hotel as a stop over before catching the ferry home and it was fine. Good parking, well equiped bathroom, the room was big plenty of room for all our motorcycle clothes.

The meal was fine nice starter and desert buffets and good chese plate, as someone else said not the cheapest place for drinks but the wine of the month was good.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardenmidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Glacerie
1.2 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
#3 of 4 in La Glacerie
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
470 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kyriad Cherbourg - Equeurdreville
Kyriad Cherbourg - Equeurdrevill...
#1 of 1 in Equeurdreville-Hainneville
91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie

Address: 6 rue Montmartre, 50470 La Glacerie, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville > La Glacerie
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Glacerie
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Cherbourg - La Glacerie Cherbourg-Octeville, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing