We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean comfy warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loon Plage
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I paid top price after walking out of the hotel next door (a decision I didn't take lightly) however I simply couldn't stay next door. The campanile is modern, warm, friendly, and clean. The room I had I assume had been refurbished recently, and was excellent, I can't fault it. Clean, tidy, hot water, comfy clean bed, clean bedding, no dust. Not totally convinced about the modernist wardrobe, but it works perfectly, fantastic over the head ceiling shower and bath. Quite, pleasurable. Can't fault it. Well done. 10/10

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Have stayed several times over last few years. Literally 5 minutes off the Channel car ferry, is excellent location and simple to find. Plenty of parking, well-lit, visible from reception.

Rooms recently refurbished; spacious, clean, well furnished and equipped. Free wi-fi. Quiet nights.

Restaurant is basic but has a number of daily dishes, or choose from the menu. Decent choice of inexpensive wines, including by-the-glass, carafes. Have never had a poor meal here. Breakfast is a traditional french buffet, kept well stocked and replenished.

Friendly, helpful, efficient staff with at least one English speaker available.

Bathrooms well cleaned and stocked with essential amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Clean, functional bedroom with tea and coffee facilities, good aircon/heating, No non-French TV channels. Free and reliable wifi. Restaurant basic but perfect for 1 night stop. Good choice of wines, including carafes and half-bottles for solo travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank HelenSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Travelling for a weekend in France, Booked Loon Plage in Dunkergue for three adults and an 11 y/o. the family room is more like a small apartment and the Restaurant & Breakfast top class according to Campanile standards.

Room Tip: . Clean, comfortable, well kept and plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

No-frills and recently renovated. Bit in the middle of nowhere but very convenient for the ferry - 5 mins. Don't think staff spoke much - or any English. Auchan Hypermarket/filling station close by. Quite expensive for a budget hotel. Breakfast average and did the job. Would stay again - especially as the reviews for the cheaper neighbouring hotels looked a bit off putting. We ate in Le Vent d'Ange which was 15 mins by car and superb

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistaMeldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The biggest advantage of this hotel is very close location to ferry. Hotel looks to be refubrished lately. Rooms are clean and correctly fitted, but family rooms on the attic are low and a little bit claustrophobic. Bathrooms are very small, the width of the bathtub is enough for small kids, for adult it is too narrow and very uncomfortable. The cost of the hotel is quite high as for the value its offer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IEW_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived at Dunkerque port from Dover, having taken the 6pm crossing. With the hour's time difference, we disembarked at around 9:35 local time. A very short drive from the port, we spotted the welcoming green sign of the Camapnile (pre-booked) and parked up (eventually - the French and Belgians don't seem to concerned about how many parking bays they straddle - maybe it's a Gallic macho thing??)

A warm welcome as we walked in at 5 to 10 - given our room pass but advised to order a meal soon as the kitchen 'closed' at 10.

One very enjoyable meal (and a good recommended rose wine) later, we went to the small but nicely laid out room, and slept peacefully.

The starter buffet (as at all Campanile's we have stayed at) was good value and top quality. The entrecote was perfectly cooked (saignant), and the dish of the day (ham in a mustard cream sauce) hit the spot.

We passed by a few days later on the return trip to the ferry port, and the travel time from the hotel to the gate of the port was a little under 5 minutes - so perfect for a stopover on the way back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Pub_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loon Plage
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage
7.8 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
4.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Dunkerque Grande Synthe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Dunkerque Centre Gare
8.1 mi away
Les Gens de Mer Dunkerque
5.7 mi away
Campanile Dunkerque Est - Armbouts Cappel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage

Address: rue Charles de Gaulle, 59279 Loon Plage, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Loon Plage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loon Plage
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Campanile Dunkerque Sud - Loon Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Dunkerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing