We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What’s not to love?!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Canon Pyon, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen D
1 review
“What’s not to love?!”
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Beautifully furnished and very comfortable accommodation with lovely countryside views.
The hosts made us feel very welcome...the homemade cake was a lovely touch and delicious to boot!
Will not hesitate to recommend this place and will definitely return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finest self catering accommodation in England.”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Cider Mill is truly amazing,we had the most relaxing time in 20 years. The owners could not have been friendlier or most helpful, the attention to detail in the accommodation was second to none.
The countryside in the Hereford area is outstanding, with no shortage of places to and things to see and do
It was so good that we booked to go again next April.
If you are looking for a relaxing time with great surroundings, lovely owners and classy accommodation then The Cider Mill cannot be bettered.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
2 reviews
“5* plus accommodation”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Firstly please don't tell everyone about this place, we would like to keep this little bit of paradise just between us.....
This has been the best self catering accommodation we have been lucky enough to stay in. It was 5* plus accommodation!
The facilities and cleanliness of this property exceeded our expectations. It was so comfortable that we both had an excellent first night sleep, which is unheard of for us, when staying anywhere, and it continued throughout the week.
Although a modern shower room and kitchen area, it still managed to maintain the feel of a traditional barn conversion.
The balcony/terrace area was lovely to sit out on and relax or have a bite to eat. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing would have been too much trouble, but they were not intrusive!
It was a lovely base from which to explore this part of the country. Thank you x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T29h
Belper
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best we have stayed in and we have tried quite a few.”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a find. You should just book it. I guarantee you will be as delighted as we were. Nice people as well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Cider Mill and hope that you return for another visit very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJFallowf...
Llandrinio, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5 Star Retreat”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I have just returned from a week's stay at this delightful and historic Cider Mill located not far from the city of Hereford. The setting is beautiful, incredibly peaceful in this small hamlet, with views up the hill and down the valley showing off splendid sunsets. The open plan one storey cottage has been done up to the highest standard, oak floorboards, granite countertops, goose down duvet and pillows, the softest and fluffiest towels I've ever had the pleasure of using, as well as top of the range fixtures and fittings. All utensils and cooking equipment you could need are provided, including dishwasher tablets and even personal finishing touches of luxury toiletries. I've stayed in many five star hotels that didn't offer this sort of attention or cleanliness. As if this weren't enough, I was welcomed with butter, milk, bread and a freshly baked cake. There wasn't anything that I could think of that hadn't been provided and for grocery shopping, a fabulous Waitrose was only a fifteen minute drive away in Hereford itself. I booked as somewhere peaceful to finish writing my latest novel and wouldn't hesitate to return again. In the past I've booked hotels for a few nights, but this was far more peaceful and beautiful with fast and reliable wifi access to boot. In the space of one day in the field opposite, I saw sheep, horses, chickens, rabbits, squirrels and a fox. You really feel as if you are alone in the countryside despite being in the owners grounds. David and Susan were extremely friendly and hospitable, nothing was too much trouble. I'm looking forward to another writing deadline to have an excuse to book another break at The Cider Mill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and views.
Liked least: I can't think of anything that I didn't like.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljf28
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful find!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My partner and I have just returned from a weekend at this simply stunning barn conversion. From the moment we arrived we could not have expected more, Sue and David were fantastic hosts treating us with a chilled glass of wine and homemade (delicious) cake while showing us everything we needed to know for our stay. There is nothing more we could have asked for, it was the perfect relaxing treat we wanted with everything at our fingertips.....including fantastic broadband!
This property really is a hidden gem and we will most certainly back for a visit later in the year. Thank you to you both

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic owners, fantastic location, fantastic property!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCSCES
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful barn, tastefully converted in an excellent location”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband, myself and our 4 month old son couldn't have been happier whilst staying at the Cider Mill. Upon arrival we were greeted by our hosts Sue and David who warmly welcomed us with home made scones, clotted cream and a fresh pot of tea having shown us around.

Although the weather was seasonably wet this was a perfect excuse to cosy down with the log burner roaring and a nice glass of wine whilst enjoying the beautiful views. When the weather cleared we enjoyed venturing around Hereford cathedral, Ludlow castle (which is must see) and walks in the countryside. After long days out returning to the Mill was a pleasure with its spacious walk-in shower and extremely comfortable super king bed.

Given the comments above it would seem like a small child wasn't in tow however he settled so well. Our hosts offered every convenience for our boy from changing mat to travel cot.

We will certainly be returning and will be recommending to friends and family.

Thanks again Sue and David for making our stay so wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing