We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect as usual”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dacre, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CSALondon
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect as usual”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I think that the fact that this was the 6th time I have stayed in the cottage with a seventh coming up in July speaks volumes. I love this cottage. The location is perfect - low level walks from the doorstep; easy access to higher level walks; Pooley Bridge and its amenities a short drive or an interesting walk away; Penrith and its supermarkets only a 10 minute drive away, and Keswick, with its shops, pubs and restaurants only 20 minutes.

The cottage is spotless and very tastefully decorated. With the wood burning stove lit, the living room is a very cosy place to while away the evening perusing the very helpful folder of walks and attractions. The kitchen is well equipped with all you could need for cooking away from home, although the quiet Horse and Farrier pub is only a 30 second walk away should you fancy a hearty pie and chips (no food in the winter months though).

The location and the attention to detail mean that I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in The Lakes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your 6th visit to Boxtree! We are delighted you continue to enjoy your holidays there and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in July.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Paul...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Boxtree is a bijou of a cottage furnished with high end furniture and kitchen equipment making it a very comfortable accommodation.It is kept to a very high standard . Some lovely touches from the owner's . Welcome pack homemade baking, wine, chocolate etc... There is a comprehensive information pack about the cottage and the surrounding area , a great choice of videos, books and games .
Dacre is a haven of peace, ideal for walks and beautiful scenery.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2017
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your stay at Boxtree. We are delighted you had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the peaceful location. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimandCha...
1 review
“Beautiful Idilic Cottage”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely cottage with very nice touches from the owner on arrival to make it very homeley. Had a fantastic time in the lakes with our dogs and coming back to a log burner and a bottle of wine in a lovely cosey cottage made it 100x better would highly recommend this cottage and would love to come back again. Thank you for making our last holiday before we are married one to remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Boxtree, Dacre. We are delighted you had a fantastic time and it is great to hear you would highly recommend this cottage. Good luck with the wedding and we hope to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babsylass...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First time booking this delightful cottage and was not disappointed.

Beautifully furnished and lovingly decorated with lots of nice little touches. On arrival I was greeted with fresh flowers, tea, coffee, after dinner mints and home made lemon drizzle cake which was soooooo delcious.

Invited to the village gathering of apple pressing for making cider ... all the locals were invited to bring their own harvested apples. Great experience.

This cottage has absolutely everything you could possibly need ... the owners have put a lot thought into making this a home away from home for their guests. Also, was so great that I could bring my two cats along ... they must have felt the love because they settled in brilliantly.

Many thanks to owners Carol and Steve Ingram ... will most definitely be booking up again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Boxtree, Dacre. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time at this beautiful cottage and it is great to hear that you definitely plan to come back next year! We look forward to welcoming you.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage conveniently located”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We we really impressed by the quality of this cottage. It was fully equipped with everything you could wish for, perfectly decorated and furnished with quality items.
It is well located for a number of local walks and generally exploring the Lake District.
The accommodation is also well arranged for dog owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Boxtree, Dacre. We are delighted that you were really impressed by the quality of this cottage and enjoyed its location. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveMoy
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cottage in great location.”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is about our 4th stay at Boxtree. Seem to recall it was new on our first visit in 2013 and the owners have really maintained it to a high standard - the gardens have matured beautifully. Very clean and bright with welcoming flowers, lemon drizzle cake, wine and chocolates and doggie treats and lot's of other little touches- very thoughtful. Conservatory and garden are a bonus.There's en suite bathrooms - one with a great shower, the other with a huge bath to soak in, big comfy beds and everything you need in the kitchen. Great log burner if needed. Highly recommended.

Dacre is very conveniently situated. It's a peaceful little hamlet tucked away but only a few minutes from Pooley Bridge and Penrith and no more than half an hour to Keswick. Great for getting out and about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage, good facilities and location.
Liked least: Hard to get a mobile signal but not a problem.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review following your stay at Boxtree Cottage we are delighted that you have returned many times and look forward to welcoming you again for your 5th holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anneandpa...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely comfortable they've thought of everything to make your stay a wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Extremely clean, and welcoming with beautiful flowers, cake wine and chocolates to start your stay in the perfect mood. This is the third time we have stayed & will stay again next summer, fingers crossed. There's a great shower or deep bath to soak in after great day's walking; and lovely fluffy towels.
Very conveniently situated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: It would be great to have Internet connection
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Boxtree, Dacre. We are delighted you had another great holiday and it is great to hear that you are planning to stay again next summer. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing