We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large comfortable house in rural Herefordshire”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Peterchurch, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rebecca M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large comfortable house in rural Herefordshire”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This house is great for a large family party. Unlike a lot of houses that sleep a large number, there was more or less enough comfy seating in the sitting room, and chairs round the dining table. Also plenty of fridge space, really useful as we were there for Christmas. The owners had made a real effort with Christmas decorations, and were very helpful generally. Wifi good, though mobile reception variable - however there is a landline that you're able to use for incoming and outgoing calls. The garden is huge and you are on the edge of a village surrounded by rolling hills - very picturesque. with sheep and horses in the nearby fields. The house is on a fairly quiet 'B' road, and is roughly equidistant from Hereford and Hay on Wye (about 11 miles from both). There are some nice walks from the house, and it's worth visiting the rest of the village and the church where there is a small display about Skeffington Dodgson (Lewis Carroll's brother) who was vicar from 1895 - 1910. The sauna and hot tub weren't quite ready when we were there but are soon going to make the house even more appealing.

Date of stay: December 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markaz
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Well equipped, clean and spacious. Fabulous house.”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at this property as a group of 7 family members and it was wonderful from start to finish. Everything has been thought of and there are very comprehensive instructions for all the appliances as well. The owners are on the end of a phone and helpful in all matters at all times. The house is very well placed for exploring the Ross - Hay On Wye area and has some fantastic pubs around close by. The house is very warm and well set up. The kitchen has everything you could want with plenty of crockery and cutlery. And 3 fridges!! Amazing. Lovely 6 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. Absolutely perfect for a get together. We all want to move in permanently!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safari647...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful and well appointed 'home from home'”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely brick built and recently refurbished Old Vicarage that has retained some period features includes loads of home comforts (see the blurb) and all perfectly served our extended family celebration. Before we arrived we received an email with access to very detailed information about how the house works and its contents. Then on arrival, we were personally welcomed and introduced to the house and gardens by a member of the family who own the property; a welcome pack including homemade preserves was waiting in the ample sized kitchen as were logs should we need a real fire in either the dining room or lounge. The house is fresh, clean and well equipped, in fact it felt as if the family had just stepped out to let us stay. Oh the joy of waking from a comfortable holiday let bed to see the sun rising over the hill and then taking coffee in the garden with a red kite flying above with the sound of relatively little else! Peace and quiet! Locally, lovely country walks, whilst some of the footpaths are not used a regularly as others, we were able to take one of the maps provided in the house and work our way around for a morning's exercise with two small children. Going a bit further afield there's Hereford, Hay on Wye, The Weir Garden (National Trust), The Gruffalo Trail in Queenswood and The Red Kite feeding centre. Plenty in the area for all ages to do and see.
Would highly recommend the Old Vicarage for a relaxing break either with family or with a group of friends (albeit reluctantly as would like to keep it a secret so it would always be available should we need to book again!)

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellies367
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic short break for a large group”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What an impressive place! We loved the huge, fantastically equipped kitchen (3 fridges, a range cooker and enough cutlery, plates, glasses etc for double the number of people staying), which also included a large dining table with french windows that led out onto the lovely garden. The rooms are beautifully presented, the front room was large enough for us all to sit and enjoy the real log fire. The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated, luxurious and spacious.
We had a great meal at The Bridge at Michaelchurch Escley, our only problem was getting there - local taxis are in short supply. We visited the cider museum and Belmont Abbey - a Benedictine Monastery, both interesting in their own ways.
I really can't fault this property, it was everything I had hoped for and more and Elwyn was always at the end of the phone to answer any queries.
I would thoroughly recommend this property.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_john_m_u...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have all enjoyed our stay here at The Old Vicarage. Grandpa declares that it has given him "a new lease of life"!
Beautiful gardens. The siting-dining area gave plenty of scope for communal cooking and a well stocked kitchen, All in all a wonderful location.
Thank you for having such a lovely place for lucky people to enjoy! We have really enjoyed our stay. The property is really suited to a large group like ours and still had plenty of space to spread out in. The garden is so peaceful and we enjoyed the privacy and bird life. The flag was a great touch too!
Thanks,
The Scots!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eandu2017
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations - couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Rooms styled like a boutique hotel. Kitchen diner beautifully open and airy allowing easy access to the patio which was perfect for BBQs. The garden was massive and great for kids to play in with the football goal and table football getting a lot of use. Made full use of all the various kitchen utensils and having 3 full fridges was a welcome bonus! In a lovely part of the countryside and would love to come back again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A3635QBch...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented property set in idyllic countryside with magnificent views”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location of this property is ideal for a relaxing break, located in the countryside with idyllic views and set within large, peaceful grounds. Beautifully presented, with lots of character and a nice sociable space (very impressive kitchen/dinning area) with two open fires. Offering full facilities and extremely clean, this was perfect for a stress free stay. The bedrooms made it feel more like a luxury hotel, all presented with their own characterful style, very comfortable with quality bed linen and all had beautiful views. Nice village 2miles up the road with a couple of pubs and a small shop and a short car journey to Hereford town centre. We were a party of 10 that have regular small breaks in holiday rentals, and this was by far the best we've stayed at! Very impressed, couldn't recommend it enough!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.