We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and relax guaranteed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Horacio Quiroga Spa Thermal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Horacio Quiroga Spa Thermal
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salto
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peace and relax guaranteed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have just spent 4 nights in this beautiful hotel. All services were covered with excellence. The only thing I didn´t like to much is that the bathrooms are very old. Good food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoyPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    156
    80
    35
    17
See reviews for
231
107
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uruguaiana, RS
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

very conditions, in the room, so bad the bathroom and bed; the food at restaurant was not good, with terrible attended,; too expansive for the instalations.
the ggod is the view and to walk in the park.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPadoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Hotel Horacio Quiroga is one of the best choices for families with smaller kids visiting Salto. I went whith my child one time in october. The pools, the activities for kids, the breakfast, all was very, very goo organized.
I really recomend this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen de Escobar, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Relaxing termal pools with a beter salto grande view . Great water park and vegetation for a bike ride
my kids had a great time

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardomuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

I,ve been travelling all around South America and I was amazed by this beautiful place I had never heard of before...I loved the service and the pools, I will return next year if I can!!! Great breakfast and the landscape is very nice...

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Hotel Horacio Quiroga is one of the best choices for families with smaller kids visiting Salto. We went twice now and the kids (9, 7 and 4 years old) always had the time of their life in the pools of the hotel, in the "parque aquatico" nearby or following events.
The restaurant Iveraromi is not worth the visit, stay at the pool bar!
The service could be better (the last visit, there was a group of youngsters keeping everybody awake two consecutive nights making a lot of noise in the pool around 2:00 h - 4:00 h in the morning, the management minimizing the issue even after a formal complaint). A pity! With some effort it would be an excellent place to take some days of.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

My Argentine family (8 members, ranging from the ages of 80 to 15) and I spent five days at the Horacio Quiroga Hotel and recommend it enthusiastically for a relaxing break with the possibility of varied activities.
While the hotel cannot be described as five-star (as the brochures do), it is a superior 3-star with added amenities.
The hotel is some 11 kilometers from the Uruguayan city of Salto and 18 kilometers from the Argentine city of Concordia in Entre Ríos. If you are not travelling in your own car, you can take a taxi from Salto or Concordia for US $10 .
It is located on several hundred acres of forested grounds, on the coast of the Salto Grande lake, with a view to the dam, the hydroelectric plant and the power lines, as well as to the lake and pine forests.
The hotel is built on half-levels (from the lobby you go down one short flight of steps to the ground floor rooms, one short flight of steps to the first floor rooms, and three short flights of steps to the second floor rooms). Therefore, it is not suitable for people with reduced mobility, there being no elevators and no ramps.
There are no other constructions in miles around the hotel, so there are no noises and no car traffic. Perfect silence. Miles of paths to wander around, watching the birds.
You might think that there is nothing to do. Wrong. The gym, the sauna, the huge indoor swimming pool, the two outdoor swimming pools, the hot showers complementing the sauna, the free use of bicycles for endless rides on the beaches of the lake, the free use of the two tennis courts, the free tango lessons, the free water gym and stretching classes, the free activities for children, the free entrance to the water park (see below), the free movie in English (with subtitles in Spanish) every evening... Not to mention the possibility of paying for the extra massage, mud bath, skin treatment, cosmetic treatment, manicure, etc. You can also rent a yacht to take you sailing on the lake.
Plus, the whirlpool tub in the comfort of your own room.
AND...all the water in the pools and showers, including the water from the tap in your bathroom, is hot spring water. Which you can also drink, as it is available for free in carafes filled with ice water.
That being said, the price we paid (US$ 148 for a superior double with view to the lake, in super high season because of the winter break) seemed adequate to us. The standard room (US$126) did not include a the view to the lake or heated bathroom floor, and had a double bed instead of a King size bed (both also offer two twin beds). But both included whirlpool bathtub, in-room safe, hair-dryer, fridge.
The breakfast included in the price featured home-baked cakes, home-made yoghurts, stewed fruits, fruit salad, ham, cheese, breads, home-made jams, cereals, and a special low-calory table of goodies.
Meals could be taken either at the pool-side restaurant or the formal first floor restaurant and the quality was good, with very fresh produce, although the service was extremely slow.
The staff was uniformly attentive and smiling, and did their best to keep customers happy and provide solutions to any problem arising (for example: fridge not working = they replaced it; leak in the bathroom = could not fix it, supplied several floor towels to absorb the leak)
Guests are provided with thick white terry-cloth bath robes which can be changed at the Kiosk by the pool as many times per day as needed (every time your robe gets wet, you simply exchange it for a dry warm one), and the same holds for the pool towels.
The water park, about a mile away, was reached by way of the hotel bus (two times a day) or the hotel minivan, which you can call to pick you up when at the park. Alternatively, the 20-minute walk is good exercise. The water park is open to the general public for about US $ 5, but it is free for hotel guests. There are eight pools, including three water slides (one winding open one, one winding closed slide and a steep straight one), a winding "river" which you negotiate sitting on a rubber tire, a pool with artificial waves, waterfalls, several massaging showers. In other words, somewhat like Typhoon Lagoon at Orlando, Florida. Again, all the water is thermal water from the hot springs. The pools offer different temperatures (the hottest being 38° Celsius) and they are all in the open air. There is a restaurant on the premises, so you can spend the day at the water park. You can rent lounge chairs and chairs.
I must add that as it was winter the temperatures at night fell to -2° Celsius on one occasion. That did not stop us from enjoying the sunset sitting inside the open air pool. And we even stayed until the moon and the first stars came out. Only then did we move into the covered swimming pool, to continue gazing at the stars through the glass roof. All the floors are heated so you can walk around barefoot from one pool to the next one.
We heard that in summer the waters of the pools are cooled, and the rooms and common areas are air-conditioned, so it must be equally pleasant.



  • Liked — The surroundings, the hot springs, the extra activities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Argentine-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salto
30.8 mi away
Arapey Thermal Resort and Spa
13.2 mi away
Los Naranjos Resort Spa Termal
8.4 mi away
Salto Hotel y Casino
Salto Hotel y Casino
#3 of 14 in Salto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Termal Dayman
Hotel Termal Dayman
#11 of 14 in Salto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
20.1 mi away
Valle Termal Club Resort
Valle Termal Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Federacion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Los Cedros
Hotel Los Cedros
#10 of 14 in Salto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horacio Quiroga Spa Thermal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horacio Quiroga Spa Thermal

Property: Hotel Horacio Quiroga Spa Thermal
Address: Cerca a Represa de Salto Grande, Salto 50000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Salto Department > Salto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Horacio Quiroga Spa Thermal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Horacio Quiroga Spa Thermal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Horacio Quiroga Thermal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing