We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wailana Beach Lodge
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hot night”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The view was good and we were taken in by the posh decor and spacious balcony when viewing the room. It was 40 degree c and later we realised to our dismay that the decorative ceiling fan was simply inadequate (especially when you lower the mosquito net over the bed) i.e. no air- con. The fan was so noisy. We had to leave balcony door and windows open to let in some air (and mosquitoes). It was rather pricey when compared to other b&bs but there was no fridge or tea tray in the room. Between 7 p.m. and midnight (when I gave up trying) there was no hot (or tepid) water for a shower. As there was no light downstairs, we did not venture to the owners living quarters to seek assistance - believing hot water had run out so patiently tested the water every hour. We also noted a prevailing smell of cannabis. Do not order sausages with your breakfast unless you like 'Wall's sausages'.

Room Tip: Look for air-con and a fridge in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowflake055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Deliciously cooked and presented 5* breakfast! panoramic view! Great rooms, pool and grounds meticulously presented by professional, friendly hosts, Rene and Renee. Thank you for all your personal, helpful service as ever it is a real treat to stay at Wailana.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirchdorf in Tirol, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Absolutely amazing...
R., the owner is very kind and welcoming and would help you with anything... You will feel at home...
Breakfast is a must, especialy the full breakfast!!!
Very safe and very quiet, the region of Margate has some few interresting things to offer, restaurants are not to far and delicious, afordable and well located...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchTomCasanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

How exciting to open your eyes to a 360 degree panorama of ocean! A rare find. Immaculately maintained. Thank you, Rene and Renee, you are both an invaluable asset to the world of hospitality in South Africa. Well above my expectation!

Room Tip: The Captain's Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I have stayed here regularly for the odd night or two, since I first visited South Africa in 2006 up to my last visit in 2008.

Rene is a wondeful host, extremely helpful and his local knowledge is extensive. The rooms are immaculate, clean, and have all the facilities you could need, polished off with a wonderful breakfast!

I would highly recommend this Lodge to anyone who plans to visit SA. Its in a perfect location to explore the Blue Flag beach of Ramsgate - YOU MUST VISIT THE WAFFLE HOUSE!!!

Room Tip: I ahve stayed in most fo the rooms, and they are all equally as spacious, clean and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just go - enjoy the ocean views and the great hospitality. Useful location to explore the local beaches, golf courses, Oribi Gorge and its adventures - or just stay at home and relax. Wonderful breakfasts and great hospitality. Indulge!

Room Tip: Try at get the front rooms if you want an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootingdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

From the start Rene the owner was fantastic, the right amount of guidance and reserve to still allow you your space.
My room was the sea facing balcony and it is simply heaven. Waking up each morning to the view is a real treat and the room was more than adequate. It is about 2 min drive to the blue flag beach. Within 5 minutes you are at the beach front on foot and there is the ramsgate ramble to enjoy. The breakfast was great and I would definitely stay here again. Only suggestion is to provide tea/coffee facilities in each room rather than only available in the downstairs bar area. Highly recommend the stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.0 mi away
Lennox Guest House
Lennox Guest House
#4 of 14 in Dundee
48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beachcomber Bay
Beachcomber Bay
#2 of 25 in Margate
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Motel
Beach Motel
#1 of 5 in Ramsgate
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Margate Sands
Margate Sands
#2 of 6 in Margate
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramsgate Guest House
Ramsgate Guest House
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
13 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Shores
The Shores
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailana Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailana Beach Lodge

Property: Wailana Beach Lodge
Address: 436 Ashmead Drive, Ramsgate 4285, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wailana Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive, Swiss owned luxury Guest Lodge with fabulous views over the Indian Ocean. 200 meters from the sand, surf and rock pools. Miles of palm fringed golden sandy beaches are dotted with shallow fresh water lagoons. The warm Indian Ocean playground of dolphins and nursery to whales. Spectacular floral displays from indigenous vegetation support countless birds and wildlife. Most of all enjoy a climate of long warm days and balmy nights. The ideal weekend getaway or base to explore the area. The house is set in a lush sub-tropical garden. Laze around our sparkling pool or enjoy afternoon tea on the pool deck or sundowner drinks at the indoor-outdoor bar. Our emphasis is on a “take it easy“ environment. The spacious lounge opens on to an extensive terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean, where a sumptuous full South African style or vegetarian breakfast is served Al Fresco. We offer you a choice of five unique, individually designed bedrooms all with en suite facilities and private sundecks,king or queen size beds, ceiling fans and safe. The sea facing Master bedroom: With a king size bed, shower / bath, large balcony with a breaker view. The sea facing Captains Cabin bedroom: With a queen size bed, shower, balcony with a breaker view. The sea facing Oriental room: With a queen size bed, shower and own patio. The garden facing Treetops room: With a queen size bed, shower / bath and balcony. The garden facing Plantation room: With a king size bed, shower / bath and own patio. Help yourself to Tea and coffee at our bar, free of charge. We can also provide a laundry service. We have secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wailana Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing