We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Viljandi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Viljandi
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel itself is a bit rundown,however the rooms are clean and reasonably quiet. Wifi was supposed to be available in the room,however it didn't work in ours. Our room could not be locked from the outside.
The staff were a little unwelcoming and the restaurant was closed for a function.Breakfast was good.
The high point is Viljandi itself.Go to the Tourist info and get a map of the town walk.It really is
a charming town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HollyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the outside, Grand Hotel Viljandi looks a bit worn. However, the rooms - although a bit small - have all the features you need. One exception is that the hotel is not air conditioned so you are forced to choose between an open window or closed drapes to prevent you from waking with the very early summer sunrise. There is one quirk worth mentioning. Upon leaving, the room door does not seem to lock automatically. I found I needed to insert my key card to lock it. Finally, we thought the breakfast buffet was nothing to brag about. On the plus side, the hotel is on the fringe of old town and, therefore, very conveniently located to Viljandi's tourist sites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

For the beginning I have to say something about the ratings I gave. If I give 4 stars, then it is really good. 5 stars means, that it can´t be better. But in most cases there is always something to improve. So my 4 stars is actually almost like maximum.

But the hotel was actually really good. I was surprised. I was excpecting a good hotel, but I got more. Hotel is clean, rooms nice and cozy. And they are rather good in size too.

Breakfast was good. Even sushi was on the table! Different hams and cheese, porridge, egs and beans and all other regular stuff.

We had our morning sauna after breakfast. You have to order it in the evening. But it seems, like most people don´t, we got the sauna heated up just for us. There is a big jacuzzi, steam sauna and finnish sauna. But for the morning sauna they heat up only finnish. And the jacuzzy was empty too. But sauna was good and hot and I liked it.

Viljandi itself looks nice. there are many places to eat and have a drink. And the prices are ok too. And as the town is rather small (at least the tourist area), you can walk it through by foot.

This hotel and Viljandi is a nice "package" for a weekend! We spent two nights. Maybe one more should be optimal, but two nights are ok too...

Room Tip: If you prefere more quiet room, then courtyard. There is a nightclub by the hotel and on weekends it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tarx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed the night in this hotel because all the B&B places were booked up. The staff were really friendly and the room was very clean. The bed was really comfortable. But what made this hotel stand out from the rest was that inside it was modern with an excellent restaurant with the sort of menu you would expect in a large city. Great town, great hotel and well worth a visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KaiandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Grand Hotel appaers to be an old fashioned hotel on the outside, but once inside it is very fine hotel with modern facilities. Spaceous rooms, quiet and with the necessaries. The restaurant is good for one or two nights, but the menu is too limited for frequant dinners. The hall is ideal for quiet cup of tea or coffee with excellent cakes on hand.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guts43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

September in Estonia was not too cold, and it was possible to spend a weekend in Viljandi and the neighboring area. Nature is very beautiful and peaceful, and the city as well. Right in the center of town, we stayed at the Grand Hotel Viljandi: the pre-war building has been renovated, the rooms are not very spacious but they are comfortable and clean, the small suite with a whirlpool bath especially. The hotel is very quiet and the staff was friendly. The breakfast is good and plentiful. Here.. the sleep will not disturbed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eestijoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our Estonian road trip took us to Viljandi and after reading reviews here we booked this hotel. We got a room in the 4th floor, it was spacious with a good bathroom and a very good shower. The breakfast was exceptionally good even with sushi (have to say we didn't go with that ;) and all other stuff that belong to a good European hotel breakfast.

Overall service, room, location, breakfast and everything in this hotel was very good and the value was outstanding.

Room Tip: Upper floors are ok. Traffic isn't a problem and a hotel can not blamed if there are birds makin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viljandi hotels
0.7 mi away
Peetrimoisa Villa Viljandi Spa Hotell
0.4 mi away
Centrum Hotel Viljandi
Centrum Hotel Viljandi
#7 of 12 in Viljandi
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Ingeri
Hostel Ingeri
#1 of 9 in Viljandi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Kaare Guesthouse
Kaare Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Viljandi
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aasa Kulalistemaja
Aasa Kulalistemaja
#1 of 12 in Viljandi
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Felixi Maja
#8 of 12 in Viljandi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Viljandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Viljandi

Address: Tartu 29, Viljandi 71004, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Viljandi County > Viljandi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Viljandi
Price Range: £56 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Viljandi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Viljandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing