We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Abalona B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abalona B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Dendermonde B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The location itself may seem a bit weird: on a side street in a small village with really nothing in particular around, but this is really a 5 star B&B:
- Room spacious & clean, huge bathroom
- Great view to the wineyards (on the "luxe" rooms)
- FANTASTIC breakfast: fresh orange juice, oven-fresh bread, pastry, good ham .. you name it
- Free internet, huge "mini" bar, in the relaxing lounge
- and the host Inge did her best to make our stay enjoyable

Really, an unforgetable stay for a relaxying weekend

Tip for runners: turn left, go to the river turn left again, follow the path at the shore and enjoy the fantastic scenery

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very modern, quiet, B&B. Hear the nearby horses whinny or the cows moo! But you don't have to smell them! Friendly bi-lingual owner was very accomodating when arrived earlier than expected.
Breakfast includes fantastic just squeezed OJ, breads, fruits, egg, etc. Coffee and tea at your leisure.
Rooms are large, very well appointed in a modern style. HUGE bathroom with walk in shower AND soaking tub., Some rooms and great room overlook a just-planted small vineyard.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the back yard/vineyard. Downstairs room facing vineyard has a nice walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was one of the most comfortable B & B 's I have stayed in, the owner was very friendly and helpful the breakfast a work of art and the gardens a delight to enjoy. Access into Dendermonde was easy either by cycle or car with lots of restaurants around the main square. The area is very easy for cycling.

Room Tip: The two rooms with balconies overlooking the garden superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendywoos2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

What a great surprise! Friendly family, Beautifull decorated and brandnew rooms with airco etc, royal breakfast with freshly pressed juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, delights, fresh bread and croisants!!! Amazing and a must visit!!
Absolutely a 5 star B&B accomodation!! We will be back!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank MillianMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

When we booked this B&B, we thought it was close to Antwerpen, but ended up a long way out. Its located in a rural area outside Dendermonde, which lies sort of centrally to Antwerpen, Brussels, and Gent.

From the outside it didn't look anything special. But inside the design is very modern & stylish. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Downstairs there was a lovely sitting area and inside + outside breakfast eating room. There is a fridge with a great selection of Belgian beers at great prices and all you do is tick the sheet to show what you've used.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Only a 5 minute drive to the centre of Dendermonde itself, which has a lovely square with nice old buildings where we had a fantastic meal at the Den Ooievaar restaurant. Also recommend a visit to the St Alexius Begijnhof, which is off the Brusselse Straat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beatnink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have stayed here twice now - both for 3 nights on business in Zele. The whole place is very relaxing with plenty of space and privacy in stylish, quiet surroundings. The reception area has a wonderful fridge full of Belgian beers (very competitively priced) complete with matching glasses for each one, free tea and coffee making facilities, a comfy sofa area with large cable TV and computer access with free wi-fi. There is plenty of local tourist information and maps.
The breakfast tables lead out to a spacious patio with Koi Carp pond and an attractive little vineyard. The breakfast itself is, in my opinion, perfect. A small glass of exotic fruit salad, one of fruit yoghurt and a boiled egg, along with a mini pastry treat. There is also plenty of bread, ham and cheese along with other spreads and cereals to fill up on - all fresh and tasty.
Bedrooms 1,4 and 5 are the best with large windows and patio areas. I have not seen the other rooms. The decor is modern and stylish. The bathroom is beautiful with a wonderful deep bath, walk in shower and lovely Spa collection toiletries. There were house slippers and bath robes too and big soft towels. The Queen sized bed was soft but firm enough not to leave me with back ache. I slept very well. Plenty of lighting options - a big black out curtain and double glazed patio doors (essential if you don't want to be woken by the dawn chorus of cockerels). The air-con worked ok but the room was still a little warm so I slept with window open - thankfully there was a mosquito screen. There was also an i-Pod radio dock and the selection of cable TV channels was large enough for casual evening viewing in any language.
I could not find fault with the place even if I wanted to. It is immaculately clean and very well run by Inga who was friendly but unimposing. If you are in the area for business or pleasure, and have your own transportation, I would recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: 4&5 have private patios overlooking the garden and are spacious. 1 is similar but with sofa area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RS_strasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dendermonde
2.2 mi away
Domein De Lusthof
Domein De Lusthof
#7 of 12 in Dendermonde
2 reviews
4.2 mi away
B&B Casa Cava
B&B Casa Cava
#3 of 12 in Dendermonde
7 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 116 in Ghent
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dendernachten
Dendernachten
#2 of 12 in Dendermonde
14 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cosy Cottage
Cosy Cottage
#1 of 4 in Dendermonde
16 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
De Noorderwind
#9 of 12 in Dendermonde
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abalona B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalona B&B

Address: Koebosstraat 60A, Dendermonde 9200, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Dendermonde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dendermonde
Price Range: £107 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalona B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalona is a brand new luxury Bed and Breakfast and is situated only a few kilometers from the historical city of Dendermonde. It is centrally located between Ghent, Antwerp and Brussels, so the ideal gateway to visit these and many other cities. The B&B only opened in 2011 and it consists of 7 tastefully decorated guestrooms, all with King size beds, digital television, WiFi, individual Airco/heating, sitting area,..... There is also a beautiful lounge area and a private garden where you can enjoy a selection of drinks. So a great place to work or relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abalona B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing