We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Convenient location, clean and a good breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Commerce

Hotel Le Commerce
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Commerce
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Modane
Al Khobar
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean and a good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel is right opposite the railway station which is very convenient. The hotel itself is quite old but the rooms have been modernised and are very pleasant. Rooms are quite smart and very modern. There is a lift and the bar downstairs is pleasant. Wi-Fi was free and worked effectively. Breakfast was very pleasant and the owner couldn't do enough to help. You check in at the bar next door to the hotel. It looked like the best hotel in this part of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
13
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stopped in Modane en route to Italy. It is a simple little town amidst the amazing mountains of the French Alpes. The road to it was full of fabulous long tunnels and twisty roads (which were great fun on a motorbike!). The hotel is directly opposite the train station on the main high street. The room was small, basic and clean. It had everything we needed, with a bar downstairs. It was rather noisy during the night as our bedroom faced the high street. The breakfast was basic, not the best quality of food, but ok.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

The location is good directly opposite Modine station. Room was good, recently refurbished with very comfortable bed. Bathroom had a very nice shower and was sparkling clean. We checked in at the cafe next door. Rooms have electronic entry as does the front entrance. There was nobody at the front desk at 9 PM but the electronic entry worked and everything felt secure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here as part of a group on a Haute Alpes cycle ride and after an 80 mile ride that day from Bourg St Maurice we were somewhat tired on arrival.

I must admit I was expecting a typical French town bar/hotel - you know a bit quirky and old fashioned. How wrong could I have been - the bar was bright and modern and the rooms were very well appointed looking like they had been refurbished recently. The bathroom was superb with a magnificent power shower which I just didn't want to come out of !

Breakfast was good quality standard continental style with plenty of choice.

As mentioned the bar was pleasant and had an amazing ceiling design - well worth a look.

Recommended, I'd stay there again just for the shower!

Room Tip: We were on the front which was OK as long as you kept the windows shut as there was a main road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_pingel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modane
14.2 mi away
Hotel Chez Toi
Hotel Chez Toi
#2 of 3 in Oulx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#2 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Club du Soleil Valfrejus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel les Mottets
Hotel les Mottets
#2 of 2 in Aussois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chalet della Guida
Chalet della Guida
#6 of 23 in Bardonecchia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence la Turra
Residence la Turra
#4 of 4 in Valfrejus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Commerce

Property: Hotel Le Commerce
Address: 20 Place Sommeiller, 73500, Modane, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Modane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Modane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing