We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service”
Review of The Moth & Lantern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moth & Lantern
Ranked #4 of 10 Retford B&B and Inns
formby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Have stayed at this establishment twice in past and I was not disappointed third time round.

I stayed for 2 nights with my 14 year old son the weekend between Christmas and New year. We were made to feel most welcome and the open real fires provided a delightful warmth after a long journey. The hosts Jay and Lyn were friendly and attentive. We had a lovely home cooked meal of Veg Lasagne (for me) and roast turkey and chips for the 14 year old. The meal was delicious. There were a few locals in who made us feel very welcome. They played pool with my son and kept him entertained both nights. The rooms were clean and tidy, the beds very comfortable and with a new addition of flat screen TVs with full freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities. It was very cold both nights but the electric heaters in both rooms were extremely warm. Breakfast was as much or as little as we wanted, cooked to order fresh and tasty.

For the price this B&B is great value for money I have stayed 3 times now and will always use this place when visiting my relatives in the area. I would recommend the Moth and Lantern to anyone who is on a tight budget and needs a comfy bed and good home cooked food for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: The rooms are in a separate annex away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
11
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Notts,U.K.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went with a Groupon voucher. For what we paid it was excellent value - lovely fillet steak cooked as we asked served with proper chips! Only thing that was a let down was the poor (included) bottle of wine - I would have been happy to pay to upgrade to something better if offered as an option.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

we stayed in the guest house for just one night, very basic and very clean, the guest rooms are seperate from the pub so no noise. the food in the pub is very plentiful , hot and all cooked to order . fresh home cooked chips , they do not come from the freezer they are real peeled potatos , yes you have to wait for the meal to be cooked from scratch. it is well worth the wait. towels and bedding are all very clean and smell really nice. would recomend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My Wife and I would never had known this little gem existed without us getting a meal deal through Wowcher.
The deal was a mixed grill and a bottle of wine for two, the couple next to us had a Groupon deal for steak, dessert and a bottle of wine.
It was so nice to visit a pub that had all the characteristics of 'your local' as apposed to the familiar chain pubs.
To be honest from the outside looking in we were expecting everyone to stare at us as we weren't local but as soon as we entered the bar we were introduced to Rambo, one of the customer's springer spaniels and immediately felt welcome.
The bar maid asked us if we wanted any drinks in addition to our wine and shown us to our table.
In no time at all our mixed grills arrived and tasted delicious, after our meal we joined in with the locals pub quiz, an off the cuff general knowledge and learnt quite a bit about scaffolding and other obscure topics.
Even though the reason for visiting this pub was because of a meal deal, we will definitely be going again as a full paying customer.
We would recommend this pub for a traditional 'home cooked' meal with a friendly local pub atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

You know what, it's not perfect but we can live with that! It's unpretentious and the owners couldn't be more accommodating if they tried. Unlike some of the negative people we don't go to places to inspect the toilets and creep around on top of the wardrobe looking for rubbish to write and pull places down. It's clean and tidy and the food is hot, edible and plentiful and all served with a smile. We went in a group and spent the evening laughing and giggling and all enjoyed it immensely so what more do you want? If your looking for bistro then go to a bistro but if your looking for affordable then this will do just fine. We will certainly go back. Top marks mr and mrs landlord

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
retford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Whilst we didn't stop at the Moth & Lantern we called in there for a meal, the food was good home cooking made to order, we had 3 courses all of which were well presented & plentiful, we enjoyed our night so much we are booked in again before Xmas & again in the New Year

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank arsenaljim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford Notts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had an excellent night here Sat 14th. The hog roast was excellent value for money the chips were to die for. Really large portions. Then to top it off we were offered a free desert.
Nothing was too much trouble for the landlord and lady.
We were entertained by a talented local band Blueprint who played blues rock through the night.
Recomend you give it a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_Retford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Retford hotels
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
The Lawns Guest House
The Lawns Guest House
#2 of 10 in Retford
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Elms Hotel
Elms Hotel
#9 of 10 in Retford
192 reviews
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Number Four
#6 of 10 in Retford
21 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Barns Country Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moth & Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moth & Lantern

Property: The Moth & Lantern
Address: Town Street, Retford DN22 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Retford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moth and Lantern is a quiet country pub and restaurant with a detached 8 bedroom guest house. All bedrooms are en-suite. Just 15 minutes east of Retford and 5 minutes from Sundown Childrens Adventure Land.Free parking, free Wi-FI in the pub/restaurant.Sky Sports available in the pub. Freeview (70+channels) available in guest house bedrooms. All food is homemade and represents excellent value for money. Accommodation costs are quoted without breakfast and start from £20.00 per person per night. Breakfast is £6.00 extra per night per person. We are a family run establishment and always make sure our guests are made and feel welcome. We pride ourselves on good quality services at value prices. We regret that pets are not allowed to stay in our Guesthouse ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing