We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, perfect host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lawns Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Retford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham st annes
1 review
“Value for money, perfect host”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked the hotel with a view to attending a wedding. The owner offered to pick me up from the train station to bring me to the hotel and offered to take my friends and I to the wedding. Perfect manners and service. Recently renovated and signs that it is growing and improving. Recommended for a great value stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbinnie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
22
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

booked hotel for myself and friends for my wedding.the rooms are superb,clean,modern and great price with bottles of spring water included among other stuff.rod was a great host and even gave my guests a lift to my wedding.if carlsberg did hotels it would be called the lawns,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at The Lawns last night - what a delightful experience. It has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. So clean and fresh - very spacious rooms - very well equipped with a hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and lovely posh biscuits! The bed linen is crisp white cotton, very comfortable bed with lovely plush pillows and duvet. The bathroom is imaculate with a heated towel rail - fluffy white towels and so clean. A double shower cubicle with constant hot water. We were a bit sceptial, when it said about the communial kitchen - but it is a huge room with a large table and chairs in the centre, surrounded by lots of units and all mod cons, so you could quite easily go to the local Asda which is close by and make a meal. Everything was just perfect. Easy check in and out, with plenty of free parking. We would definintely go again. Highly recommend. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looch233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Rod, the friendly owner, could not do enough for us. We had the annex to ourselves and the bedrooms are spacious and well appointed. The communal kitchen is also well equipped. Would highly recommend this gem in Retford. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethG212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

After trying to book into the Elms at Retford, and finding it fully booked. We came across The Lawns Guest house, a beautiful period property, which is being renovated a two minute walk away from the Elms, where we were attending a charity function. What a find, and after staying at The elms before, found it compared well on price. Although not yet serving breakfast, as only opened since October, if the Breakfast is as well appointed as the room, we are in for a treat. Lovely spacious, very clean modern room, with complimentary toiletries, biscuits and water. The extra touch that makes you want to return. The owner met us, after he asked us to txt, as reception is not manned, this was not a problem, and he met us on arrival. Very pleasant and could not do enough to help. Spent a lovely night, had a good nights sleep, and will return again. Have already recommended to my sister who stays across in Retford often. Many thanks

Room Tip: A room at the rear for a peaceful night sleep.although I don't think you would have a problem wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at The Lawns for one night just after Christmas, to attend a wedding in the town. The owner could not have been more pleasant and accommodating, and enabled us to check-in earlier than the stipulated time which made in possible for us to change and get ready with no rush. We stayed in Rm 1, and were pleasantly surprised at how large the room is! It was scupulously clean and well appointed, and the ensuite shower room was also much larger than average and fitted out to a very high standard. The use of the kitchen (again, a large room with oven, microwave, washing/ironing equipment, toaster etc - and a farmhouse-style dining table and chairs) would be a bonus for anyone staying for more than a day or so: and the bedroom itself has tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The location of The Lawns is extremely convenient for the town, and easy to find if you're not familiar with the area. We would certainly use The Lawns again, and have no hesitation in recommending it to others

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at the Lawns for one night in November. The hotel is part of a lovely period building situated on the London Road in the market town of Retford. The owners plan to expand the number of rooms available in the near future and this is good news given the high standard of accommodation. I was allocated room 4 on the first floor and I was pleasantly surprised by the size and level of comfort. Fresh, neutral decor and high quality furnishings throughout. Room facilities included en-suite shower room, a large comfortable bed, desk, flat screen TV, kettle, hairdryer and lots of fresh towels. Complementary toiletries, tea, coffee and bottled water were included. The hotel is small at the moment so there's no in-house chef. There are, however, excellent shared self-catering facilities including a fridge, cooker, microwave in the guest kitchen.

Quality of sleep was excellent.

I pay for hotels out of my daily rate so value for money is important to me. I paid the full £58 for my stay and believe this to be fair for this standard of accommodation.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only a small number of rooms at the moment. The hotel is in an urban settin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retford
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
7.9 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns Guest House

Property: The Lawns Guest House
Address: 97 London Road, Retford DN22 7EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Retford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lawns Guest House is a beautiful Georgian building situated in the heart of Retford. Just minutes’ walk away from Retford Town Centre, Bus Station and Railway Station. All our rooms are En Suite & have 32" Free View Flat Screen TV's as Standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lawns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing