We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is the second time I have visited the West Retford Hotel, (the first time I visited was in the summer and stayed over night with friends), this time it was for a family birthday. We ate in the new Orangery which is modern, trendy but still has a feel of tradition to it. The food was excellent, everyone in our party(12) enjoyed what they had ordered. I can not praise the staff who were working that day enough, even though the restaurant was busy we still received excellent service from them and they also brought out a cake with candles for my family member who's birthday it was. Overall we had a very good experience and would highly recommend this hotel and its restaurant. Members of our party who had not visited before said they would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holimoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments, it's always nice to know we've done a good job especially at this time of year when the hotel does become busier.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Andrew Lavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    153
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
137
160
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Quite possibly the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to book into. The first impressions are great but sadly that is where it ends. The neo-Georgian block to the side housed our room which looked ok to begin with but then the following issues presented. 1) Quite possibly the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. The mattress had no 'give' to it and was horribly hard. 2) The walls seem to be made of paper and we got to listen to the wildebeest in the next room all night. 3) The plumbing is erratic. One second it's a lovely hot shower, the next you are scalded followed by frozen. Lastly 4) the position of the towel rail next to the toilet meant you either burnt your leg when you sat on the toilet or you had to assume a jaunty angle whilst seated which isn't terribly comfortable or practical. On check-out the young girl on reception asked if we’d had a good stay so I politely informed her that the bed was quite possibly the most uncomfortable bed I have every slept on. Her reaction wasn’t what I was expecting. No apology, no suggestion that she would raise this to hotel management, nothing except one comment ‘Oh, in what way?’ When I explained that the bed was hard and had no ‘give’ she stopped talking and the remainder of the check-out took place in silence. If the room and the staff at the West Retford are indicative of all Best Westerns I will never stay at one again. Disappointing room and very poor customer service. I’ve had far better from Travelodge/Premier Inn.

And before I forget, we received 2 phone calls from the hotel in the 2 weeks prior to our booking to confirm we were still planning to stay. The last call occurred on the day of check-in and we were fortunate / unfortunate to get a room. A friend who had booked in to the same hotel for the night was told on arrival that they had no room for her and she had to go somewhere else. Would a reputable hotel chain do this? Probably not.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not in the 'block'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awful_h0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments of which we did try and help you with during your stay.

I have checked the bedroom in which you stayed and the mattress itself is in very good condition due it it being less than 6 months old. When new beds are purchased we use a specialist hotel manufacturer and we always choose medium firmness as we have found that this is what most of our guests prefer. Moving you to another room would not have solved the problem. If you have a particularly soft/memory foam mattress at home then yes our beds are firmer than this.

As in most hotels it is possible to hear guests in adjoining rooms at times, most of our guests understand this and are respectful of other guests.

I was not aware you had a problem with your shower and I shall have our maintenance team investigate this issue.

We do have some new staff on reception and I shall look into further training where required.

When the hotel is full it is common practice to contact guests to ensure that they are still coming due to the fact that sometimes we do have double bookings and occasionally guests have to extend their stay due to unfortunate personal reasons. I'm so sorry the phone calls were an inconvenience to you.

regards, Andrew Lavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We visited the West Retford last Friday for dinner, and ate in their new Orangery.
What a great new addition to the hotel.
Equally the meal was excellant, as was the service of the Restuarant Staff.
Our compliments to the West Retford Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We visited the new Orangery at The West Retford Hotel for my 40 something birthday last night and I'd say its a must for anyone wanting a fabulous meal in beautiful surroundings. The food was top notch and the staff very attentive. Can't wait to go back during the day for a girls lunch to really see the beauty of The Orangery.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently got married in the grounds of the West Retford under the Pagoda. The whole day was amazing from start to finish, the help and support we were given before the day and during the day lead to a stress free and wonderfully enjoyable occasion. The staff are fantastic and very welcoming and were always ready to help. My new husband and I are local and we often go in just for a coffee or a meal. The hotel itself is a beautiful building and the grounds are superb, the rooms are very clean and well equipped. We stayed in the bridal suite and enjoyed our champagne and strawberries as part of our celebratory breakfast. We had a very nice meal for our reception and nothing was to much trouble, the vegetarians, lactose intolerant people and the diabetic were all very well catered for to. Everyone who came to the hotel for our wedding said it was the best they had ever been to. We will certainly be recommending the hotel to everyone and we look forward to planning future events here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have stayed at this beautiful hotel on several occasions and even had our wedding reception here on 2005.

We find their special offers and in particular their value weekend and all-inclusive family weekend deals real value for money.

The reception and restaurant/bar staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful.

Their in-house restaurant is a must for an evening meal whether it be a romantic meal for 2 or a family sit down. They are very accommodating for little diners and our 5 year old thoroughly enjoys herself when we stay.
The grounds are wonderful when the weather is warmer and sitting out with a drink while the kids run themselves ragged before bed is wonderful to watch.

The rooms are well furnished, comfortable and provide a good selection of tea/coffee and biscuits as well as toiletries in the bathroom.

The only downside is the walk to the rooms through the car park, especially when it is raining, but this is a small inconvenience.

A highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have visited the West Retford Hotel on many occasions over the years for Weddings, Christmas party's, Live entertainment venues and Valentines meals and have always thoroughly enjoyed the food and encountered a great atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff.

Our most recent visit was to celebrate a family members 40th Birthday. From our original enquiry about menu choice, venue and hotel room availability, we were thoroughly impresssed with the level of professional service and information we received from the hotel staff.

We ate in the new extension to the hotel, The Orangery, which is spacious, modern and beautifully decorated with it's own bar. The menu cateres for all tastes, with a wide choice of starters, mains and desserts, with excellent presentation and taste. Our main waiter for the evening Simon, provided excellent professional service with a smile. all 14 guests thoroughly enjoyed their meals and commented on the beautiful design and decor of The Orangery.

The Birthday guests stayed overnight in the hotel and found their room beautifully furnished and decorated and enjoyed breakfast service to their room.

The West Retford Hotel is an assett to Retford with it's stunning building and gardens. We will not hesitate to highly recommend it to family and friends from near and far for future celebrations.

Thank you to all members of staff who made our celebratory evening special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retford
3.0 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Clumber Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Address: 24 North Road, Retford DN22 7XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Retford
Worksop Best Western
Best Western Worksop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing