We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had our wedding here on Saturday 21st June 2014. All the staff were exceptional, especially Simon and Gary who looked after us for the day and night and also Fran who smiled all day which makes such a difference. All the staff could not do enough for us. The 4 course meal, evening buffet and champagne breakfast the next day were amazing and could not be faulted. The Shelly Suite where we had our wedding was perfect and air Conditioned which helped as it was a warm day. The red carpet and drinks on arrival were lovely and all the staff were very attentive and professional. The West Retford had set the room up lovely too. Our bridal suite was amazing with a lovely view of the gardens. I would definitely recommend the hotel. The only downfall from this was when we were planning our wedding we dealt with Elaine who wasn't all that helpful when we were trying to organise somewhere for our band to get changed- her comments were "why should she provide somewhere for them to get changed when she wasn't making any money out of it" which made us feel very uneasy at the time. Despite this everyone else we dealt with were brilliant and when our band phoned to make arrangements they did end up sorting it out.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louthyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you thoroughly enjoyed you special day. I do apologise if you felt Elaine was unhelpful, I have spoken with her and she explained to me that all she was trying to say is that she could not offer the band a bedroom to get changed in due to the fact that we were nearly full. However we did manage to give them access to a function room on the evening, regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have just returned from my third business stay at this hotel which is set away from the road in delightful grounds. All of the staff are polite, friendly, attentive and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. All of the meals I had were of a very high quality but you might have to wait a little longer because they are all freshly prepared. The Orangery restaurant is light and airy and is a very nice environment in which to eat. On the weekend I stayed there were weddings taking place on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday but despite the staff being busy with the wedding party they still made time and offered the usual high quality service to other guests. Although I was there for business I can see that the location of the hotel in the pretty market town of Retford would make it a good base for touring. This is a jewel of a hotel with very reasonable room rates. I look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review and for your positive comments. I'm pleased the level of hospitality offered to you met your expectations and we look forward to accommodating you in the new future, regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed last Saturday evening due to we attended a wedding in the local area. This hotel is in a great location of the town center and easy walk in and out of the town. The hotel was clean and deco was lovely, the actual rooms are in a different block to the main hotel, which was good due to a large wedding was taking place, no noise. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on the food, but the bar area was busy and friendly staff. If I was in the area again I would stay here. The main hotel from the bits I saw looked in good condition, restored to a high standard. Very large car park and easy access back to the A1.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had our wedding here 30th March 2014 most of the staff were nice and very helpful was lovely having the wedding outside however got to having pictures in the garden there was dirty glasses all over the walls photographer was having to work round them also the make up artist that came with the package turned up 2 hours late had 10 mins to get my dress on and out the door staff seemed to nit have her number??? Had to get it from someone else breakfast the next day was worse found a hair on my mushrooms sent it back she did apologise and get me a fresh one but for the price of the rooms and food you would think the food would have been a lot better if I was to have my day again I wouldn't of picked here I'm afraid

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gem8t7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review and your positive comments. I'm sorry certain aspects of your day were not as you expected. We do have dedicated staff on hand collecting empty glasses throughout the day as guests can leave them in the most unexpected places.

I'm afraid we don't have any control over the make-up lady as this is arranged through a local company, the bride would normally arrange timings etc directly with her. Her number is on your paperwork that you will have received.

I have spoken to the chef who informed me it wasn't a hair bit actually from the mushroom itself, however I'm pleased that this was changed immediately for you.

regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Recently returned from my son`s wedding which was held in its entirety at this venue.
To begin,we were fortunate enough to have lovely weather which, enabled the service to be held in the finely manicured gardens.Music for the occasion was provided via cd burnt by yours truly and played on the hotels boom box system which worked surprisingly well!! The only gripe one could have with regard to the service is that, there was no amplification to the lady registrars voice which meant that many people could not hear the vows being taken.The afternoon was spent dining in a beautifully decorated restaurant which would later become the venue for the evening reception with disco and buffet. This had the advantage of having its own bar for use in the evening thereby allowing other residents the use of the hotel bar which you could also escape to should you felt that way inclined!! The food provided on both occasions was very good, particularly, the profiteroles in the afternoon which, were more like footballs,and the potato skins in the evening were very tasty!
The room we were allocated was in the annexe and was light and airy and exceptionally clean.It also had a lovely view over the garden to where the scene of the wedding had taken place. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a combination of buffet and waitress service,the smoked haddock and poached egg was quality!!
During our stay all members of staff were polite and cheery and did their utmost to ensure this special day was just that and, should you be looking for a venue for such an event, I have no hesitation in recommending the West Retford. Well done to all concerned!

Room Tip: Room thirty has a nice garden view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRMAGPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review, it appears everyone did have a fantastic day. I will make sure all the staff are aware of your comments. As you are aware the registrars are appointed by the local council and will not use a microphone. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Rooms we're ok, kept clean and tidy by house keeping.
Girls at reception friendly and helpful.
Ideal location for Retford.
Breakfast staff were very nice especially Glynn and Olivia. Will be returning soon...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
regards, Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Rooms are clean and tidy. Friendly staff. The breakfast was very good and available from 06:30, so good when working in the area. Plenty of car parking space and has a barrier for extra security. Good access to town centre. Some good restaurants locally.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair_WR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retford
3.0 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
13.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

Address: 24 North Road, Retford DN22 7XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Price Range: £54 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Retford
Worksop Best Western
Best Western Worksop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing