We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Certificate of Excellence
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beds”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Went for a function and stayed a night. I have to say this was a very surprising place. The place was clean and tidy. We had a dinner at a function there and the food was outstanding. The breakfast was excellent and they had real sausages and not the chicken ones around nowadays. The location is great. There small house bar was good and sitting outside was a real treat. The beds were the worst part of the stay. The receptionist told us when people stay they either love them or hate them. I think a real improvement could be made here that all would love them not just some. Beds aside I thought it was clean tidy and a great venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pommiekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for you review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. The vast majority of beds in the hotel are new and are of a medium firmness. We don't get too many negative comments regarding the beds but if you can let me know your room number I will investigate. regards, Andrew. (a.lavin@westretfordhotel.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    162
    60
    26
    13
See reviews for
141
170
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

On a trip with Gourock Horticultural Society to the area, our stay at the West Retford Hotel for 5 nights was incredible, the food, the staff, the cleanliness were as I say Simply the Best more than all the rest. Far above it's 3 star rating, just perfect.
Congratulation Best Western, this will certainly make our group look at your hotels for other trips to other areas.

Room Tip: We were in the Annex, which suited us absolutely fine, all rooms look onto Garden areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review and nice comments. I'm pleased we exceeded your expectations. Hopefully your group will visit us again soon. regards, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

if looking for hotel in Retford, check the Best Western, lovely friendly hotel. All local staff with down to earth qualities. rooms are spacious, well equipped clean rooms and good bar and restaurant. all requests were no problem. Did have a problem though with internet but did not bother to report it although if I had stayed for more than one night I would have!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Speedbird001002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We travelled from Scotland to attend the Summer Ball at the hotel on 28 June and stayed for 7 nights on a bed and breakfast basis with the intention of dining the occasional evening in the bar/restaurant. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and gardens with no actual bedrooms in the main hotel which is not convenient if moving from bedroom to hotel in inclement weather. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard and the food was very enjoyable. The reception staff in particular were were friendly.
Our room was in the "cottages" and the only view was of the main street and not of the beautiful gardens. It was also very dark, even on a lovely summers day.
We had two evening meals in the bar area and served by a very pleasant young man who provided speedy and friendly service. The food was lovely, especially the chips!
On the last day of our stay the hotel was busy with a wedding and a bus party. We asked a waitress where to sit and and she told us she would bring a menu shortly. We waited 20 minutes on a menu and to have our order taken. The food then took an hour to be served. We did complain to the waitress and said it was because of the bus party. We were left feeling like second class residents and the time we had to wait was excessive. We did ask to speak to someone in charge and she did provide us with a complementary drink after we brought the time delay to her notice.
On the night of the ball the tables and room were set out beautifully and the food was lovely. We arrived at 19.10 and were ushered straight into the room as they said everyone was moving in now. The information did state a 19.30 start. Our first course did not arrive until 20.30 and the coffee was served at 22.10 when the entertainment started. The time we had to wait was ridiculous and even with complaining about the service it was stated it was delayed because people did not come in until 2030. The live entertainment then finished at 23.30 when a disco played till later. To call the entertainment a Ball was an exaggeration as it was more a Tribute Act evening with disco. The dance floor could only hold 7 couples with no room for proper ballroom dancing and there were 140 people there. Having attended other Balls in the area this Summer Ball did not meet the standard.
The last evening was also spoiled by the police having to be called due to a disturbance with the wedding guests. Not what you would expect at a hotel when you are on holiday.
We did enjoy our stay but I felt it only right to let you know what happened when we were there.

Room Tip: No rooms in main hotel and ask for room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
to the last day, indeed I'm pleased you were happy with your bedroom, cleanliness, the food and the staff. On your last day the hotel was extremely busy as you have stated which did cause longer than normal waits for some guests waiting for food. Thank you for your nice comments regarding the ball, the room did look lovely and I'm pleased you enjoyed the food. On the night of the ball several large tables were delayed which did have an effect on the scheduled timings. We do have a similar format each year with live entertainment followed by a disco etc which does seem to go down very well but I would be more than willing to listen to your feed back and what your particular expectations are for a ball. The dance floor is not huge but is capable of holding more than 7 couples and it's rare that everyone gets up at the same time. Unfortunately there was a small disturbance with the wedding party but as this was in a separate room it should not have affected you too much, things like this do happen from time to time in most venues that hold weddings and is obviously outside of our control as I'm sure you can appreciate.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to any further feedback which you may send to me directly at a.lavin@westretfordhotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

After 35 years in hotel management in establishments ranging from 2 to 5 star both here in the UK and in Europe I reckon to know a bit about Hotels but the West Retford has me beaten. Try as I may I cannot understand the three star rating. Everything from the size and appointment of the bedrooms and bathrooms to the 24 hour reception and availability of room service including the option of Continental " breakfast in bed" suggests 4 star. Throw in the overall cleanliness, the welcoming smile of everyone we met, the efficiency of the lounge coffee and sandwich service and so on and the West Retford screams 4 star. Oh and did I mention the beautifully kept gardens. We were on a visit to see friends in the area and so did not have the chance to judge dinner in the restaurant but we did enjoy a very enjoyable breakfast served in a friendly but efficient manner. We will be returning to Retford again and will certainly stay at the West Retford. Thank you all concerned.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. I can see that you travel a lot and have experienced a lot of hotels during this time. Therefore, your expectations are realistic for our rating. It's always nice to hear when we exceed this and that you will use us again in the future. We look forward to seeing again. regards, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My daughter has just celebrated her wedding at West Retford hotel the staff were extremely helpful ..Alice on the day was first class ..Elaine the wedding planner was great. Due to the kind weather on the day the whole ceremony took place outside and the setting was device xx all went well staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble ... i would not hesitate to recommend this ad a wedding package x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRHretford, General Manager at Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words about the venue and staff. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. regards, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retford
3.0 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Address: 24 North Road, Retford DN22 7XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Retford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 18th Century manor house set in over 5 acres of professionally landscaped gardens. Located in the historic market town of Retford, this traditional 63 bedroomed hotel is one of the best in the area.Relax in the comforts of The West Retford Hotel by enjoying a drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery Restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favourites and exciting new dishes.The hotel is ideally situated for business travellers or leisure guests with the A1 and M1 only a short drive away making it perfectly located to explore the local area or further afield.With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, with patio doors opening on to a large seating area and six other meeing rooms this hotel is the only choice.Whether it be for a business stay, conference, wedding, function or a leisurely break let us welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Retford
Worksop Best Western
Best Western Worksop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing