We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and Gloomy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge Vilvoorde
Ranked #1 of 3 Vilvoorde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dark and Gloomy”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Was there on a work trip for one night. Where to start, if you have the option of staying somewhere else, stay somewhere else. The staff were friendly and there was an average continental breakfast but ohh the lodge. It was black paint everywhere, quotes written on the walls about prison life which added to the feeling of being in an asylum. The windows were small and the shower in the bedroom was separated by a partition. The walls were also incredible thin, I could hear the people in the next room breathing let alone snoring! All in all not a place I would like to visit in my free time or to try and sleep before a stressful day of work.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    73
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
7
49
7
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have stayed in many places in Brussels over the years so I thought that I would try this place. Interesting. Now it is far from brussels, but close to the airport. So if you are looking to tour Brussels, have lots of choice of places to eat and go out drinking - then this is not the establishment for you

It was still being set up so gym did not exist. It was big and dark, slightly cold.

The room was enormous and well equipped. There was an industrial aspect to the design (welcome to Brussels)

There was a modest breakfast and the staff were very friendly.

There were a few restaurants - one on the Canal that was nice and one Italian one in the town

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This Hotel is located in a former correction house. he ceilings are high and I go quite a big room (room 302). I found all the features I expect for a 3 star, kind personnel, parking, bar and a fair breakfast. Located a bit out of Brussels in a very calm area. I really liked the atypical building that it is: the high ceilings, the wall bricks that are visible inside, the polished metal pillars...A good place if you travel for business in Vilvoorde or Zaventem. I will go back.

Room Tip: 302 was good ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAlbertoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

a good example of how the management try to upmarket their product with a nice look but forget to use quality products. Staff was friendly but not professional. Rooms are small, very very noisy, bathroom is basic. Breakfast is also basic... One can say that everything is very basic, whether it comes to services or quality of products. I paid 149 euro/night and this in my opinion about 50% too much. The only nice thing is the old building.

Room Tip: as far as I saw all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The hotel itselef even close to the city of Brussels is situated in a kind of park environement and so very quired, Arriving to the parking lot, the visitor gets the impression to check in in a prison, but as soon as you approach the entrance this impression changes completelly,
the very friendly entrance hall welcomes you and them homly feeling appears. the old historical building already seems to tell you stoties from former ages and on the columns of the entrence hall, the not always sympathical history is told in three languages to the guest - yes it used to be kind like a prison and the rooms the other day were not at all that confortable as they were during my stay - nice, bright and wide.
Try and I am sure you will not be disappointed from Bar, rooms and foot.

Room Tip: I would believe, that all rooms are quired, I would try to get one close to the bar area in ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight and although the granduer of the buildings and interior decorations are nicely done, the hotel misses basic services and profesionalism that would make it an outstanding hotel. For one, the reception told us that as of 11:00 PM the hotel's doors would be closed with ni staff on site. The bar also closed at the same time, there is no restaurent and the hotel rooms although clean and sizeable lacked basic amnities like an iron board and hair dryer. There was no guest services available in the morning because the only personnel on site were dealing with breakfast and check out.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were impressed with the look & feel of the hotel.
The pillows are not comfortable. Our room's ventilation did not work and reported it for the second evening. We were told to pay for an upgrade as if it was our fault that the ventilation did not work. After refusing to pay, we were given an upgrade to another room (which seemed identical to the initial room). The manager did not apologize for the issues from the initial room yet we were told about paying in extra and its not something that they would do, etc. The initial girl at reception was friendly and as for the other staff, they could learn to smile and greet when greeted by the guests. I doubt I will stay here again.

A tea/coffee facility in the rooms would be nice.
Short walk into the center of town. Parking is free.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffachapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilvoorde
0.6 mi away
Campanile Brussels Vilvoorde
3.9 mi away
Ibis Brussels Expo-Atomium
Ibis Brussels Expo-Atomium
#1 of 3 in Grimbergen
302 reviews
2.7 mi away
NH Brussels Airport
NH Brussels Airport
#2 of 12 in Diegem
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Brussels Airport
2.8 mi away
Novotel Brussels Airport
5.3 mi away
Housingbrussels
Housingbrussels
#1 of 8 in Schaerbeek
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Vilvoorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Vilvoorde

Property: The Lodge Vilvoorde
Address: Rondeweg 3, Vilvoorde 1800, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Vilvoorde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vilvoorde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Vilvoorde 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge Vilvoorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing