We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping in the Cells!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge Vilvoorde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge Vilvoorde
Ranked #1 of 3 Vilvoorde B&B and Inns
Burford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sleeping in the Cells!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a very unusual hotel. It is a former prison and alot of the original features are still intact. It has been transformed into a very comfortable business hotel with easy access to the commercial area. It is very quiet with pristine rooms which are absoultely perfect for the business traveller. Excellent bathroom with everything you could wish for. The rooms in the newly renovated area are particularly good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiechck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    66
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
6
42
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed for a night, what a great building.
Very interesting and quirky place to stay.
Room very modern and super quiet considering the location.
Brilliant night's sleep, free WiFi, decent breakfast with great coffee (always a plus point).
Liked the way the history of the building was stitched into the modern aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We just spent one night there. The building is 300 years old, was a penitentiary then an army barracks, then was transformed into an hotel. Some parts of the original buildings are still being worked on. The room was small, beds were comfortable, staff were pleasant and breakfast was varied and of good quality. The price was ok, considering the small size of the standard room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mojave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Lodge is a former workhouse, converted into a comfortable hotel and an experience, therefore!
From the outside you can still see some of the "cell" windows and, on my first visit, my room told me that as an inmate your window would only be 10cm x 30cm or the like. Needless to say, the hotel rooms are not so restricted, although they may feature wall decoration to simulate the workhouse feel.
However, the rooms are comfortable and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel, which is always a bonus. Breakfast is included and perfectly satisfactory. It is worth noting, however, that breakfast is about all the hotel offers in the way of catering, apart from some simple bar food, but the centre of town is an easy walk (unless it is raining!) and has plenty to offer.
I like this hotel - it is full of character and quirky; the staff are friendly and helpful and, whilst I may not have much choice in where I stay when in Vilvoorde, I believe there are worse places that this!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I like this hotel. It is not spectaular, but it is not trying to be. It does the basics very well, and was convenient for me as I needed both the airport, and also to drive from Brussels to Luxembourg. The breakfast was nice, the rooms were clean and spacious, the WiFi was free and worked well. Overall, a good effort for a 3 star hotel. The building itslef is interesting - a converted prison! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and bar prices were very reasonable. Vilvoorde itself is a quiet and pretty uninteresting place - best described as harmless! If you have a car, I can recommend visiting a nearby town called Mechelen which is about 20 minutes drive. It is a lovely city with great places to eat. Far better than utterly dreadful city of Brussels!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBoyTKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Was there on a work trip for one night. Where to start, if you have the option of staying somewhere else, stay somewhere else. The staff were friendly and there was an average continental breakfast but ohh the lodge. It was black paint everywhere, quotes written on the walls about prison life which added to the feeling of being in an asylum. The windows were small and the shower in the bedroom was separated by a partition. The walls were also incredible thin, I could hear the people in the next room breathing let alone snoring! All in all not a place I would like to visit in my free time or to try and sleep before a stressful day of work.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have stayed in many places in Brussels over the years so I thought that I would try this place. Interesting. Now it is far from brussels, but close to the airport. So if you are looking to tour Brussels, have lots of choice of places to eat and go out drinking - then this is not the establishment for you

It was still being set up so gym did not exist. It was big and dark, slightly cold.

The room was enormous and well equipped. There was an industrial aspect to the design (welcome to Brussels)

There was a modest breakfast and the staff were very friendly.

There were a few restaurants - one on the Canal that was nice and one Italian one in the town

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilvoorde
0.6 mi away
Campanile Brussels Vilvoorde
2.8 mi away
Novotel Brussels Airport
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
NH Brussels Airport
NH Brussels Airport
#2 of 12 in Diegem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
2.8 mi away
Van der Valk Brussels Airport
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Vilvoorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Vilvoorde

Property: The Lodge Vilvoorde
Address: Rondeweg 3, Vilvoorde 1800, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Vilvoorde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vilvoorde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Vilvoorde 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Lodge Vilvoorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing