We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Virginia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vathy
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Amazingly helpfull staff! Will do everything to answer your questions. Even calling friends if they don't know the answer.

This is one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in! Nice! Rooms are cleaned daily. Breakfast is simple and at 6€, somewhat expencive. There is a bakery selling big sandwiches with ham and cheese for 1€ each 300 meters down the road. - much better! There is also a posibility to eat at the hotelrestaurant in the evening. One dish is served each day and is posted on the wall. We didn't try the dinnerservice.

Location is mediocre with 700 meters ~ 10 minutes walk to the citycenter.

Some of the rooms are close to a noisy road, but since this a residentialstreet it is mostly quiet at night and if you are here in the summer you will have the doors closed and the aircondition on - it's in every room. 5€ per day - only operational with the magnetic key in the switch.

Nice, small, top-floor, non heated pool with good view of the city with a bar I think is open during the summer.

Unfortunately the rooms are infested with bedbugs. All three of us had bites all over with the characteristic "breakfast, lunch and dinner" markings. Other guests also had the very itching "mosquito bites", There were no biting insects at the time.

We did not examine the beds since we didn't know the exact cause of the markings untill we got home. Our 5 year old daugter slept in an unfolded sleepingchair. She got 10 bites, much less than us adults.

Room Tip: The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from the city center. The hotel has parkingspace at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jon Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at the Virginia Hotel for 2 weeks in a studio flat with small kitchenette and balcony.
Services are the same as those of the hotel: rooms are daily cleaned and the towels changed every day. The service and cleanliness are accurate.
The hotel is cute and is positioned just a few minutes walk from the center of the town of Samos. The staff are very courteous and helpful.
However, I must report that the studio is not much bigger than a hotel room so the kitchen (just an electric cooker, an American coffee maker and dishes for two people) is useful for preparing a breakfast and some coffee, but it's not good for uses more intensive.
Finally, I report that the one-room flat on the ground floor is too much attached to neighboring properties and you cannot see anything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kopitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two weeks in August. The hotel is nice, clean, comfortable and the staff helpful. The lady who cleans the rooms is a lovely English lady really nice. There is also a small swimming pool on the third floor but we have not used (the sea is so great and better than the pool). The hotel is' close to the center that can be reached with a short walk for 5 minutes, in a quiet and away from the bustling harbor. The only thing I would mention is the choice of the floor of the room: try to get one on the upper floors, as well as the best view, but the room will be more beautiful (on the ground floor there is more humidity and we had to leave the closet a little 'open to remove the smell of damp). We had chosen a studio with kitchenette but we found out later that it was just a hot plate and a sink, while in the other apartments there was a real kitchen. But these small mistakes not prevented us from being really good for the whole stay. Convenient parking in the back for the bike. One other note were the cute cats, being on the ground floor, every morning they had breakfast with us (the island is full of cats in search of food and cuddles)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tokio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

A nice and clean hotel,staff was great. Very helpful,told us everything about the island.rooms were big and were cleaned every day.location was good,a 7 minute walk from town hall and 15 from the.port.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nkaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here recently as a group of 12 on an independent walking holiday.Our room had a wonderful sea view and we would have been able to enjoy beautiful sunsets but we were always out at that time!The room was well-equipped if rather small and was very well-maintained. Other rooms were larger but lacked the wonderful view.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the pool was a bonus after a long, hot walk.
Breakfast was of a good standard but it would have been nice to have had some variety - water melon and scrambled egg every day got rather boring.
The prices in the bar were quite high and this prevented our buying many drinks there as they were cheaper in town, even on the harbour front.We were also charged 5 euros a day for the air-con and this was unexpected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor but expect to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I stayed a week at Virginia hotel, from june 23 to june 30. And we loved it!
Virginia hotel is a small family runned hotel with about 30 rooms and is located a short walk from the town centre. We lived in room 109 and had a wonderful view over Samos town, the sea and the sunset. The hotel was always nice and clean. All people in the staff are very friendly and helpful and took good care of us. We loved Georgia´s cooking, especially the fish, calamari and the good homemade icecream.
The breakfast was a buffet of good quality and served nicely. Some times we had dinner at a restaurant in Samos town called "Steps". Very good food and low prices.
We had some nice evenings in good company together with Lena, Jonas, Helena and Georgia. If we are back to Samos we will for sure book this hotel.
Virginia hotel, We love you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a123ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Virginia for a week in June this summer via Thomsons and had a really lovely time.Our room was excellent with a balcony and good bathroom (towels changed daily) and the service was very friendly and all staff were extremely helpful and keen to make our stay (our first) in Samos enjoyable.The rooftop pool and terrace was amazing with views over the town and bay of Samos...we enjoyed the great views and a super sunset with a glass (or 2) of wine.The walk down to the town was easy and we found 3 or 4 different routes and the walk back was fine.We were picked up on our arrival and taken back on our departure from and to the coach pick up on the seafront by a member of the family which was all part of the attentive but unobtrusive service.Lovely breakfasts and we ate in the hotel a couple of nights .

We used the local bus service to visit several other resorts and beaches nearby and this was quite cheap and somewhat entertaining to mix in with the local people.

Plenty of bars,tavernas and restaurants in Samos Town ...we particularly liked the Garden Restaurant and the Kouros Restaurant which both had excellent service, good menus and were very resonably priced.

Thank you again to all staff and members of the family at the Virginia Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DefaEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathy
1.7 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
191 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Emily Hotel
Emily Hotel
#3 of 14 in Vathy
55 reviews
5 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#18 of 20 in Kokkari
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Hotel

Address: 39 Vlamaris, Vathy 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Vathy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vathy
Price Range: £46 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel with modern comfortable rooms, swimming pool on the roof, panoramic sea views, free WiFi, elevator, free parking, bar & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel sámos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing