We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real warmness of Greece”
Review of Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Virginia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vathy
Certificate of Excellence
Selcuk, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The real warmness of Greece”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I have been traveling in Greece for 10 days, I ve stayed in several places but Virginia Hotel experience was simply unforgettable. This cute hotel run by a cute family. Everybody is helpful and their sincere smiling face is hard to forget. Fotini speaks like 5 languages fluently, it s obvious that she loves her job , and she is trying to do her best for her guests. I was shocked when I heard her speaking Turkish. She is very fluent and knows expressions and idioms.Her sister is also very helpful and energetic. Teacher Georghia is the greatest teacher I met. If you ask her one simple question, she will give you whole information, and she will give you best tips. The hotel is very clean, rooms are well equiped , stuff is simply perfect. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gokhanofephesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    18
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
41
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

For the best experience in lovely Samos,probably the best address.Feeling like my own house,from the very beginning till end.in the heart of the city,but in a very silent green valley surrounded by silent environment,

Room Tip: very warm welcome and a real house experience in Samos.Samos'ta sıcak bir ev
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mincebornova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was a splurge for us but Hotel Virginia is a lovely, family-run hotel with very nice rooms, a beautiful lobby and breakfast room, very good breakfasts and views of the harbour from our very own balcony. As a family of 4 on a 3-month tour of Europe we try to get family rooms to save money and don't usually stay in the kind of hotels that have a pool on the roof, though our children were very thrilled with this bonus (even if in early April the water was almost too cold even for them!) We had this hotel arranged for us by our pension owner at our previous stop and thought we'd be paying the family room rate for our accommodations but ended up paying for 2 rooms at that same rate, so rather hit us in the wallet - but perhaps it's a testament to the loveliness of the hotel and the very nice owners that we didn't feel completely resentful when we found out the cost was double what we'd expected! If you aren't a budget traveller and want a lovely small family-run hotel in Samos town, I can fully recommend the Hotel Virginia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula3-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotels location Just like a eagle aerie ,top on Vathi ,you can watch beautiful sunset over Aegean coasts,After tight sleep ,we surprised that beautiful breakfast of Virginia's special jams,and homemade delicious lemonade,with fully open buffet. This family runs Hotel quiet,clean,with reasonable prices, As warm as Sweet Home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRINGEPHESUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Virginia was our base for a walking holiday. It is situated in the lower part of the old town of Vathi, which is a 10-15 minute uphill walk from Samos Town. It is a family run hotel, and everyone connected with it was welcoming and helpful and eager to please. Our room had a small balcony and overlooked the street, but some higher rooms faced the sea and would, presumably, have been quieter. The room was clean and comfortable, but rather cramped, and it was difficult to access the wardrobe, which was located near the door. The shower worked well and towels were changed daily. Air conditioning was available at 5 euro per day. There was no room safe, but a safety deposit box near reception could be rented for 15 euro per week. I thought this was rather expensive. There was a small rooftop pool and a few loungers, and a bar terrace which looked out towards the port.
All in all we enjoyed our stay here, but breakfast was disappointing. We got a bit tired of yoghurt and home made jam. Bread was not the freshest, and although croissant appeared from time to time, you had to be quick to get one ; and despite eating early, we only found fresh fruit on one occasion. We bought fruit and pastries from the nearby shops.

Room Tip: The hotel is built on a number of different levels. Some rooms on the seaward side are situated be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Room spacious enough for cases and hanging up clothes. Bed really comfortable, but heat made deep sleep difficult for me as aircons are generally too noisy so preferred to sleep with window and shutters open. Bathroom with shower reasonable size. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Public areas very clean and home-like atmosphere with nice plants around a terrace.
Rooftop pool with sunbeds on small terrace with view over Samos rooftops and harbour in distance was esp. nice early evenings.

Room Tip: View from our room 2 floors below main reception and bar area was mainly of rooftops and a speck of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clhnearBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We returned from our holiday a week ago and stayed at Virginia hotel in Samos. First of all, we don't have anything negative to say about the hotel. Room was really nice, tidy and they were cleaned daily. Hotel is in good location in Vathi, only a few minutes walk to the seafront. Hotel's breakfast was really good including lovely greek youghurt, delicious coffee and croissants etc. From the pool you can see amazing sunsets. The nicest thing in the hotel was the staff! They were so so friendly and helpful. They did everything to answer our questions and we also got the best restaurant recommendations from them. So don't hesitate to ask help from the staff! It really was a pleasure to stay there. One of the best hotels we've ever been to :)

C&M

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camikroko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathy
3.2 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.1 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#7 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Hotel

Property: Virginia Hotel
Address: 39 Vlamaris, Vathy 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Vathy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Vathy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run boutique hotel with modern comfortable rooms, swimming pool on the roof, panoramic sea views, free WiFi, elevator, free parking, bar & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel sámos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing