We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good hospitality”
Review of Emily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emily Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Vathy
 
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice location and good hospitality”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Located very near from the port within severalminutes on foot. Room is clean and comfortable for staying. Hotel Staff were very kind.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazafsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
12
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Emily Hotel was a real home from home for us while in Samos. The owner was exceptionally friendly and we were made to feel very welcome indeed. The hotel itself is kept in pristine clean condition and the rooms, while basic, are perfectly comfortable. The breakfast is a real treat and it's easy to relax during the afternoons either in the small shaded courtyard or on the sunny balcony. The hotel is located about 5mins walk uphill directly from the part of the port where the ferries dock. It is a perfect location from which to explore both the town and it's surrounds. And about 15mins walk out of town from the dock takes you to a lovely little pebble beach which is great for a swim. Whenever we're next back in Samos (and we definitely will go back) we'll be heading straight to Emily without even checking anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is very well situated in Vathi (near the port). The atmosphere and warm hospitality of the owner make you feel like "home away from home." Clean and comfortable guest rooms. Good breakfast. Excellent help from the owner on attractions and transportation. The hotel is within walking distance to the port, night life spots, a variety of restaurants, and a pleasant seaside walk. Not exposed to noise.

Samos is a very beautiful istand with great beaches. Make sure to spend a few days and rent a car to have a better access to great corners of this beautiful island.

Room Tip: The rooms with the terrace are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here for a couple of days. Besides a little trouble finding the proprietor in the beginning (it was low season), we had a great time. The room was clean and very functional with a small balcony overlooking the street. The room included a fridge, which was nice for keeping drinks and water. The breakfast was filling -- eggs, juice, coffee, meats, cheeses, vegetables, cake, cereal -- and varied from day to day, which was nice.

The proprietor was extremely helpful. When we needed a car, she called the rental agency and then walked us to the site. She made sure we were well taken care of by the agency. The hotel's restaurant recommendations were also good. Unlike some places we stayed in Greece, I had the feeling that they wanted us to enjoy our time on Samos and were not just trying to get our money and send us on our way.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gl0balvagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Emily and Harry are great hosts for tourists and guests. Both speak English well and are very helpful.

I arrived frazzled and Harry brought me a complimentary drink. Harry had to do some shopping and he dropped me off at the Samos Wine Museum. When I had an early departure time, Emily got up early to make breakfast just for me.

I'm not saying they can do this all the time but it does show what kind of people they are.

The location is good, just a short walk to the harbor. The rooms are comfortable and well-priced.

Don't think you can go wrong here.

David

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My wife, adult daughter and I stayed at Emily Hotel for one night having taken the ferry from Kusadesi Turkey and stopping in Samos before traveling on to Athens. The hotel is very conveniently located close to the ferry area. Take a right as you get off the ferry, turn right, go past Hotel Samos and turn left. The hotel is located couple of minutes up hill. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Very convenient small hotel with very good service. The owners will suggest places to go and see. We rented a car for the brief time we were there (25-40 euro for the day) and this let us explore the island, see the Tunnel, the ruins and place where Pythegoras was from. Our only complaint was the air-conditioner never worked.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westernmasstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I arrived here last night and was looking for a room locally. The owner could not be bothered to show me a room, he just sent me up to the room. He wanteed 55 euros/night (for a single room) which is a ridiculous price for this standard of accommodation in low season. No wonder the hotel was deserted.

On asking the owner if he would lower the price (as I had been offered lower elsewhere), he simply said any lower and he would rather close the hotel.

Whilst I am very understanding that there are overheads, this kind of attitude, especially when Greek tourism is suffering so much, is unacceptable.

I walked 30 seconds down the road to a much friendly hotel called Hotel Helen. The owner was very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. And her first price was 25 euros per night which was offered without me asking for anything cheap. Thank goodness for owners like this that can see Greece needs to stay competative.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vathy
0.7 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vathy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aeolis Hotel
Aeolis Hotel
#2 of 14 in Vathy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#4 of 14 in Vathy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Hotel

Property: Emily Hotel
Address: 11Is 11Is Noemvriou, Vathy 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Vathy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Vathy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Emily Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and HRS so you can book your Emily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Hotel sámos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing