We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute fiasco!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolute fiasco!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We booked a house for 4 for a week starting on Sunday the 4th of August. When we arrived the Coco-Mat representative told us that there was an overbooking issue and our house for 4 people was simply not available. The only house available was a double one. As compensation they offered another accommodation not with Coco-Mat; a flat in Chora. The standard of the flat in Chora was completely different: no breakfast, toilet not working properly, cleaning services almost missing and more importantly was far away from our friends in Vaghia. The location was also not comparable, on top of a hill rather the on the beach. We have also been promised to find a solution in the following days, but despite spending a lot of time discussing with the Coco-Mat staff, it was pretty clear that there was no willingness to help us. Last but not least, when was the time to pay we were charged full price!! Honestly offensive. We are all extremely disappointed about the treatment we received but even more by the staff attitude and by the offensive economic treatment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Gianpaolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to express how sorry we feel for not being able to exceed your expectations and your stay with us was not as favourite as expected.
Following your review we would like to add some details in order to demonstrate that there was indeed a mistake with your original booking with our Hotel. Due to the fact that you faced this kind of problem we offered an one-bedroom residence in the premisese and another house in the region of Chora which was able to accommodate up to 4 persons. Recognizing the difficulty of the distance, our Hotel car was covering, upon your request, all your transfers and it was also providing breakfast and use of the facilities of the residences. Upon your departure, you settled the bill with the amount of the original reservation even if the Hotel had an additional cost of 1,200 Euros approximately for the reservation of the house in Chora.
In any case, we tried to do our best to ease the situation for you and we apologized personally many times throughout your week stay. Once again, we would like to offer you our apologies for any kind of inconvenience that was caused unintentionally.


Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    21
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
26
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A piece of paradise in Serifos. You never think that the actual hotel will live up the pictures you see online. This place is AMAZINGLY picturesque. From the time you walk in, you know you're in for a once in a lifetime experience. The rooms are flawless; a clean, fresh little oasis with everything you would ever need on your vacation. The bar/cafe a perfect accent to your own little wonderland.
From the first minute Stella made herself available at all times. She was more than hospitable, showing us the little intricacies and amenities that went along with our stay. All the staff was friendly, polite, and always willing to lend a helping hand or give a good recommendation for beaches, dinner, whatever.
Make sure to use the room service facility and have some ouzo or wine and a snack and enjoy the sunset on your balcony. It's truly a magnificent experience! It is really a shame that the place was fully booked and we could not extend our stay for few more days. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H00kipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

It is great to hear that you had a lifetime experience during your stay in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos. We are so grateful for the positive and authentic words of yours. Also, the fact that you name our staff, friendly and polite is so encouraging because we are trying to do our best each and every moment.
We will be very happy to see you again next year in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos for a relaxing and rejuvenating stay.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannina, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We did not know what to expect because going to a new hotel is always a gamble. During our visit at Coco-mat Serifos we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are fantastic with top view to Vagia beach and the mattresses out of this world . Our dinner cooked by Vasilis simply delicious, not a fancy restaurant by any means but eating such a meal at the beach bar at night is a wonderful experience. Are stay was made even better by the professional, friendly and warm staff(particularly Stella). Also Andreas was always ready and willing to fulfill our every need. We will definitely be back next year. Ask for the rooms on the lower row as the have the best views of them all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onr0ute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are so pleased to hear from you that you were positively surprised
during your stay in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos. This encourages our friendly staff
to continue doing its best, each and every day. Also, the fact that your stay was a wonderful experience is strengthening us because the beauty of simplicity is one of our main goals.
We will be very happy to see you again next year for a resting and rejuvenating stay.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Coco-mat Eco Residences is a perfect place if you want to relax by the sea. We enjoyed every minute we spent there. Many thanks to Stella and the other members of the staff who took care of us and made our stay at Coco-mat an unforgettable experience. The rooms are spacious and the beds the most comfortable ones we have found in any hotel we have been to in Greece or abroad. The restaurant serves exquisitely tasting food. But above all again it is the amazing location and the wonderful people that run this hotel that make it wonderfully unique.

Room Tip: Choose room number 5 which has a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaLeventi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Madam,

We are grateful for the kindness and the positiveness which characterizes your review. Also, it was great to hear that your stay in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos was an unforgettable experience. Our friendly staff always tries to do its best.
We are hoping to see you again back soon for another relaxing and rejuvenating stay.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

due to the residence position, in front of vagia beach, have a wonderfull vew
expecially during brekfast time in the open bar facing the sea with a lot of fresh greek food and babolous omelette by chef Tio.
the bed was the maximum comfort (they produce mattress)

Room Tip: the better rooms have the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dritt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the location and the hotel breakfast.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalandri, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed in the Coco Mate residences two weeks ago (July 2013). The hotel-small villas are very cosy, relaxing and peaceful. Situated in the Vagia beach, 6km away from the port and about 10km away from Chora. The whole block follows/respects the local architecture, the decoration is minimal but cosy, friendly and gorgeous, the bed's mattresses are from the company's top line products. There are even mattresses at the sunbeds at the beach in front of the residences. The service and the hotel's personnel was excellent and quite friendly/helpful. The hotel's menu had a few choices and a lot of detail was given to each one of the menu courses. Breakfast and dinner on that small dining terrace was a very pleasant experience. Overall these residences worth every cent that they cost. The relaxation and the sound of the sea/ waves (only sound we could hear) that they offer can not be easily found......Highly recommended for a relaxing type of holidays. We are definitely going to visit it again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

We were really happy to read that your stay was enjoyable.

We hope to see you soon on your next travels to Serifos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Staying at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos is an incredibly unique experience, unlike any experience one can have in a more "traditional" hotel or resort setting. It is a perfect combination of comfort (sleeping on a coco-mat mattress is like sleeping on a cloud), simplicity, and communion with Nature. Proof that Coco-Mat is a fantastic place to vacation even though it is a ways outside of the main port town where all the "action" is: our two children (18 & 16) loved it and were very sad to leave. The beautiful Vagia beach, the pristine sea, the wonderful food, and the cozy residence was all they needed. All the staff are wonderful and attentive, but a particular thank you goes to Nana for doing a fantastic job of keeping our place in order and for her big heart and kind nature. Stella is amazing and does a wonderful job of making sure everyone is content. Dionisis does an excellent job as well, with his patient and gentle manner.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel with its location and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagia
2.9 mi away
Alexandros-Vassilia
Alexandros-Vassilia
#2 of 9 in Livadi
134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rizes Hotel
Rizes Hotel
#4 of 9 in Livadi
84 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Asteri
Hotel Asteri
#5 of 9 in Livadi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kamares
92 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maroussa's Apartments
Maroussa's Apartments
#1 of 18 in Serifos
81 reviews
15.2 mi away
K4 Kythnos
K4 Kythnos
#1 of 16 in Kithnos
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos

Property: Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos
Address: Vagia Beach, Vagia 840 05, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Serifos > Vagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Vagia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the infinite charm of the Aegean Sea, Serifos the "iron island" of the Cyclades stands out, in its unique way and beauty, enchanting the visitors at first sight.Coco - Mat Eco Residences have been built with respect to the Island's culture and architecture, a traditional complex set on Vagia beach, the most beautiful on island which since 2000 is one of the beaches Natura. The traditional residences overlook the sea and the hotel's beautiful gardens. The Beach bar with its cozy seating areas is ideal for your late afternoon drinks and snacks and will relax your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing