We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So unique, that it's a must for anyone to visit Serifos only for this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

These rooms/residences are renovated old miners residences. They are so unique that it makes your stay in this hotel amazing. They have the old window and door frames, and some other elements inside and outside the rooms. The whole property has been renovated but keeps that old residences charm.

The bed area of our 1 room residence was on the ground floor along with the bathroom and the siting/dining area on the 1st floor. The balcony/terrace has an incredible view that you just can't get enough of. It can get a little hot in the summer, but it is tolerable inside in the shade. They will install fans by next year, but we didn't really need them. (no a/c since this is an eco-hotel)

As for the dining/breakfast I will simply say that we were amazed by the simple yet delicious recipes the chef's made each day. One memorable was a salad that had lentils/octopus/avocado/tomatoes. Also breakfast was incredible.

To recommend this hotel is the least I can do, since for the 3 days I stayed there we only went for a couple of hours to the Chora just to sightsee a bit and then quickly returned to our room. All our meals were there and all our beach visits on the beach in front of the hotel. The relaxation we enjoyed cannot be compared and we didn't want to leave at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegoldenfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Διευθυντής at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.
Hope to see you return soon.

Safe travels.

Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

My family of four spent 12 days at a family residence last August. The room was huge, more than 90 sq.m, and steps from the beautiful beach, that was probably the best on the island. The location was ideal, very tranquil and not far from Livadi or Chora. The residences were in traditional style and the total experience made you feel that you are a guest to a local house. All the idea was "back to basics". So, do not expect luxury. The decoration was simple island style. Mattresses, bathroom toiletries and bathrobes were exceptional. Daybeds in the outer space of the residence and on the beach were very comfortable and ideal for a sweet dream under the sun. The one and only common area in the complex was the reception-beachbar-restaurant, where delicious breakfast, drinks, snacks and dinner was served. Chef used local ingredients and was always willing to make special things for you. The staff generally were very welcoming and helpful, although not all of them seemed to be experienced enough or excited with their job. Special thanks to Stella for her very warm treatment during our stay and Vasilis for the tasteful food he always prepared for us. If we come back? We have already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCEAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for the detailed 10/10 review.
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was seamless.
We look forward to welcoming you next year.
Safe travels
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We booked a house for 4 for a week starting on Sunday the 4th of August. When we arrived the Coco-Mat representative told us that there was an overbooking issue and our house for 4 people was simply not available. The only house available was a double one. As compensation they offered another accommodation not with Coco-Mat; a flat in Chora. The standard of the flat in Chora was completely different: no breakfast, toilet not working properly, cleaning services almost missing and more importantly was far away from our friends in Vaghia. The location was also not comparable, on top of a hill rather the on the beach. We have also been promised to find a solution in the following days, but despite spending a lot of time discussing with the Coco-Mat staff, it was pretty clear that there was no willingness to help us. Last but not least, when was the time to pay we were charged full price!! Honestly offensive. We are all extremely disappointed about the treatment we received but even more by the staff attitude and by the offensive economic treatment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Gianpaolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to express how sorry we feel for not being able to exceed your expectations and your stay with us was not as favourite as expected.
Following your review we would like to add some details in order to demonstrate that there was indeed a mistake with your original booking with our Hotel. Due to the fact that you faced this kind of problem we offered an one-bedroom residence in the premisese and another house in the region of Chora which was able to accommodate up to 4 persons. Recognizing the difficulty of the distance, our Hotel car was covering, upon your request, all your transfers and it was also providing breakfast and use of the facilities of the residences. Upon your departure, you settled the bill with the amount of the original reservation even if the Hotel had an additional cost of 1,200 Euros approximately for the reservation of the house in Chora.
In any case, we tried to do our best to ease the situation for you and we apologized personally many times throughout your week stay. Once again, we would like to offer you our apologies for any kind of inconvenience that was caused unintentionally.


Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

A piece of paradise in Serifos. You never think that the actual hotel will live up the pictures you see online. This place is AMAZINGLY picturesque. From the time you walk in, you know you're in for a once in a lifetime experience. The rooms are flawless; a clean, fresh little oasis with everything you would ever need on your vacation. The bar/cafe a perfect accent to your own little wonderland.
From the first minute Stella made herself available at all times. She was more than hospitable, showing us the little intricacies and amenities that went along with our stay. All the staff was friendly, polite, and always willing to lend a helping hand or give a good recommendation for beaches, dinner, whatever.
Make sure to use the room service facility and have some ouzo or wine and a snack and enjoy the sunset on your balcony. It's truly a magnificent experience! It is really a shame that the place was fully booked and we could not extend our stay for few more days. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H00kipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

It is great to hear that you had a lifetime experience during your stay in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos. We are so grateful for the positive and authentic words of yours. Also, the fact that you name our staff, friendly and polite is so encouraging because we are trying to do our best each and every moment.
We will be very happy to see you again next year in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos for a relaxing and rejuvenating stay.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We did not know what to expect because going to a new hotel is always a gamble. During our visit at Coco-mat Serifos we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are fantastic with top view to Vagia beach and the mattresses out of this world . Our dinner cooked by Vasilis simply delicious, not a fancy restaurant by any means but eating such a meal at the beach bar at night is a wonderful experience. Are stay was made even better by the professional, friendly and warm staff(particularly Stella). Also Andreas was always ready and willing to fulfill our every need. We will definitely be back next year. Ask for the rooms on the lower row as the have the best views of them all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onr0ute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We are so pleased to hear from you that you were positively surprised
during your stay in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos. This encourages our friendly staff
to continue doing its best, each and every day. Also, the fact that your stay was a wonderful experience is strengthening us because the beauty of simplicity is one of our main goals.
We will be very happy to see you again next year for a resting and rejuvenating stay.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Coco-mat Eco Residences is a perfect place if you want to relax by the sea. We enjoyed every minute we spent there. Many thanks to Stella and the other members of the staff who took care of us and made our stay at Coco-mat an unforgettable experience. The rooms are spacious and the beds the most comfortable ones we have found in any hotel we have been to in Greece or abroad. The restaurant serves exquisitely tasting food. But above all again it is the amazing location and the wonderful people that run this hotel that make it wonderfully unique.

Room Tip: Choose room number 5 which has a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaLeventi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Madam,

We are grateful for the kindness and the positiveness which characterizes your review. Also, it was great to hear that your stay in COCO-MAT Eco Residences Serifos was an unforgettable experience. Our friendly staff always tries to do its best.
We are hoping to see you again back soon for another relaxing and rejuvenating stay.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

due to the residence position, in front of vagia beach, have a wonderfull vew
expecially during brekfast time in the open bar facing the sea with a lot of fresh greek food and babolous omelette by chef Tio.
the bed was the maximum comfort (they produce mattress)

Room Tip: the better rooms have the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dritt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco-Mat S, Manager at Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the location and the hotel breakfast.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagia
3.7 mi away
Rizes Hotel
Rizes Hotel
#4 of 9 in Livadi
103 reviews
3.5 mi away
Studios Amfitriti
Studios Amfitriti
#1 of 9 in Livadi
308 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alexandros-Vassilia
Alexandros-Vassilia
#3 of 9 in Livadi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Petali Village Hotel
Petali Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Apollonia
208 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coralli Camping
Coralli Camping
#8 of 9 in Livadi
125 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maroussa's Apartments
Maroussa's Apartments
#1 of 21 in Serifos
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos

Address: Vagia Beach, Vagia 840 05, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Serifos > Vagia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Vagia
Price Range: £194 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the infinite charm of the Aegean Sea, Serifos the "iron island" of the Cyclades stands out, in its unique way and beauty, enchanting the visitors at first sight.Coco - Mat Eco Residences have been built with respect to the Island's culture and architecture, a traditional complex set on Vagia beach, the most beautiful on island which since 2000 is one of the beaches Natura. The traditional residences overlook the sea and the hotel's beautiful gardens. The Beach bar with its cozy seating areas is ideal for your late afternoon drinks and snacks and will relax your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coco-Mat Eco Residences Serifos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing