We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Laiya
Reviewed 23 June 2014

this is the second time that we went to this place. The first time it was so impressive , the food , the ambiance and the service. But now its totally the opposite. We came here for a short getaway and it was very disappointing. They sent us the menu a week before our booking and we were all excited about the menu but to our surprise it did not meet our expectations. I think the resort is being mismanaged. Before, we can go to the terrace of our ocean view rooms but now they permanently closed it. The swimming pool is murky. Check in is very inefficient.We waited for 1 hr for us to check in , when we got our key card we excitedly went to our room but to our horror the room has not been made up. The towels, the bed, the trash of the previous guest were all over the place. I called the attention of the housekeeper and they apologize about it. On the menu that they sent it includes baby back ribs but it was not baby back ribs, it was liempo and they used baby back ribs sauce. The fish fillet was terrible. It was coated by too much flour. We enjoyed the place because of the people we were with but not the resort. I wont recommend Estrella anymore. Even if its for free. The place definitely lost its charm. There are better resorts around Laiya.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JD0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

The rooms are regular looking; nothing special there but you may want to have a room that is overlooking the ocean for a better view. The pool is big, nice, and clean. Only downside is its food. For a hotel this big and pretty, you would expect some good tasting food but no. Their breakfast buffet is the worst I ever had. Order right out from their menu you'll see pricey items and when it gets served, you won't be happy with the taste.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonewolfshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

had a time to stay here with some friends and I can say that this is one of the good resort in Laiya.

Room:
-clean and comfortable. Spacious enough for our group. Water pressure is quite low.

Food:
- a major turn off. Some are very salty and some are very bland.

Pool:
- huge pool but the edges are quite rough but still a good thing especially during low tide.



Beach:
- child friendly.


Staff:
- very attentive and nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were swindled when we paid 1,500 Php per head for a company day trip. The food served to us was tasteless, of poor quality, and rationed in small amounts. The shower facilities are not enough to accommodate all the people they accepted a booking from. The restaurant indoor and outdoor staff do not know how to serve properly. They check their cellphones while they work. The place looks good in photos. But don't be fooled. You will waste your money here.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mingawtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Resort is secluded so dont expect to party at night. There are only 2 resorts on this beach and this is the better resort. Rooms are ok, just dont forget to ask for a room thats facing the beach. Food is limited and ok, only 1 resto within the resort. Theres a bar near the pool in case you'd like to have bottle or two. Theres a 3'-5' infinity pool and a kiddie pool on the side. Be careful on the pool sides though, its layared with pebbles so its a bit rough for the skin and swimwear. Its a good place to relax and have ammenities for team buildings or company getaways. Beach is kid-friendly. 50m from the shore and water is just waist deep. Nice to do morning beach walks when its low tide. Plenty of crabs on early mornings, small fishes for the rest of the day. All in all, its a good resort to relax with the family or friends.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank jainoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last December 2013 for my birthday celebration.

LOCATION: We've been to Laiya several times and always happy to be there.

RESORT: It was okay. The place is big. As in huge! The people are very nice and accommodating. The place is very very nice.

POOL. The pool is big but I noticed that it's kinda rough. Got bruises and also my kids. I think they should check on the tiles and make it smooth. Just saying.

ROOM. It's clean, big, and the cr is nice too. Sad becaus we can't open the balcony it would've been amazing view. Still a thumbs up.

FOOD. Hmmmm....It was okay but expensive.

Overall: 3/5

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank imnoturordinarygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The architecture is nice, the rooms in the main building are quite impressive as well - fluffy pillows, strong A/C, the comfort room is amazing.

Food is great, bulalo and bicol express are must-tries in the menu.

the beachfront is impressive too.

Pool is nice too, though the flooring is rough, a small rough play and you'll end up with some scratches.

Room Tip: if you are a pool person, get the gazebos. wake up and jump right in.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeleron_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laiya
56.7 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Laiya
407 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sabangan Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.2 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
420 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Luz Beach Resort & Spa
39.4 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort

Address: Laiya, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > San Juan > Laiya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Laiya
Price Range: £107 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrellas De Mendoza Playa Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing