We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Trip @ Virgin Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Virgin Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Laiya
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Entrance Fee: Php850 per person for a day trip with buffet lunch is worth it.

Pro/s:
1. I love their food, may be pricey for some guests but it was worth it. Carbonara & Club House for Php250 each.
2. Not crowded.
3. Friendly staff.
4. Clean rest rooms
5. Parking Space

Con/s:
1. The Beach is not that pretty and too salty.
2. No swimming n the beach after 5PM.

Room Tip: Bring sunblock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Empress1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

I went there with my girlfriend last November 2010 and we had a hell of a trip. The place was enormously great, I'm hands down to that. But what we didn't like was the following:

1. Nipa huts has no door locks - Since it was a november, we were the ONLY guest in that place. We were so paranoid during the night because someone might enter our room commit a crime.
2. One of the kitchen staff there was friendly - he was too friendly. he talks about a lot of things and I thought we have made a new friend there. On the day we went back home, my girlfriend told me that the staff tried to touch her hand.. She didnt tell me at all because she was afraid that I do something crazy with that staff! And he is not the only one who attemted that, their so called "Beach boys staff" are also perverts. They looked at my girl as if they were undressing her. Not recommended for the good looking girls.
3. staffs are not friendly and not accomodating.

Overall, I was not happy during that time. On our second day, we tried to roam around batangas and found out that acuatico was nearby. We checked the place and OMG, it was so nice!!! so we returned back to Virgin and told the frontdesk that we will not be spending the night there anymore. We went back to acuatico and we had a hell of a fun!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

me and my friends went here last 31 October 2010. We arrived around 8AM.. we informed the staff that we'll check the area first before making any payment, they were very courteous enough to allow us and showed us the directions.. we decided to spend the rest of the day in this resort.. so we went back to office and pay P1230 for the dining parasols, since it was only a day tour though we were planning to spend an overnight.

To be honest it is a good beach, clean and has the longest and widest beach in the area of Laiya. shower areas are clean.. there's only a couple of bad comments:

1. the staff were so rude and most of them are bad mannered. please note that we already made a full payment and we still have a changed.. they claim they have the longest beach shore, its true, so we were strolling along the shore and staffs approached us and told us we are not allowed in that area, it is only for the guest who checked-in overnight, and they told us to just stay where the day trip area is!! a segregation for overnight and day trip guests within one resort.. we told them that we paid full and we a are also entitled to the amenities of the resort.. the staff said it is their policy, fine.. we told him we'll leave in awhile, he did not listen and even called some of the staffs. We told them we'll leave and they don't need to guard us or stand behind us as if we were prisoners.. well its alright with us if that is their policy but we courteous enough to the guest.. remember if its not for us, they wont have any salary.. mind them, it is not written in their house rules/guidelines that guests who avail of their day tour can only stay in their respective areas.. whilst the guest who checked-in for overnight can go anywhere within the resort.

2. around mid day, one of the staff came out with an air gun.. he was aiming to one of the dogs. according to them they are using air gun to wander off dogs and cats in their resort.. we inform their office about this and they could not comment on this. i am a dog lover and using air gun to drift aways dogs is very wrong and illegal. i will report this to the authorities.. too bad we did not take a photograph while they were shooting the dogs.

overall it was a good resort but the staffs are so rude and bad mannered.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank okidoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The Beach Rooms were excellent and the resort was very clean and nice!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielJDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

First of all, let me begin by saying that I have never bothered to review for the netizens of this world. But because i personally benefitted so much from the contribution of others in finding this excellent resort, I guess the least I could do is pay back by contributing our share of experience :)

Virgin Beach Resort is the PERFECT beach vacation for our family. Of course, no one place perfectly fits the need of everyone. So what is of primordial importance is to know what you want, and look for the fit. Our criteria were as follows:

1) nice, quiet beach (not noisy and activity-filled)
2) easily accessible from Manila (no need to fly, good road condition)
3) good-quality sand (not necessarily as white or powdery as Boracay's, but not grayish or too coarse to walk on barefoot)
4) ideally, beachfront accommodation
5) cottages (not hotels/villas/cement-structures)
6) well-appointed rooms (spacious & clean, including toilet)
7) well-prepared and tasty food (definitely not planning to cook on a vacation!)
8) professional staff, good service

Well, I have to say that Virgin Beach Resort not only meets, but even exceeds some of the above criteria! On the first point, for example, the beachfront was so wide that it is at least 10x wider that its neighboring resorts! (We made this discovery during our boat-ride to Coral Garden for snorkeling.)Stated differently, if you join up the beachfront of the next 10 neighboring resorts, it is probably still shorter than Virgin Beach's! What this implies is that this resort gives you an overwhelming sense of space, exclusivity, and privacy. Even if the place were to teem with guests, one would not feel crowded or cramped because of its sprawling property. Also, each unit of accommodation is a prime beachfront location! The whole place is very clean and well-maintained. The staff is constantly raking the place for fallen leaves on the ground, and netting out trash from the sea and shore. White sandy beach, clear blue water,... it's perfect!

Re the rooms, we stayed in an aircon casitas (#3) which can accommodate max of 6 pax. The room is spacious, with 2 queen-sized beds, and enough floor area to lay out another 2 single mattresses. The construct and furnitures are all of good-quality materials. The beds, for example, are made of solid wood so that they are so heavy to push when we had them joined side-by-side! The mattresses are firm. The wooden blinds block out sunlight totally and keep the aircon room cool even during high noon. The toilet is a most pleasant surprise: so spacious, modern, clean, and fitted with a rainshower head. Each room is provided with an emergency light and fire extinguisher. Is it a wonder that I rated it as not only meeting expectations but exceeding them as well?

Re food, when there are more guests, a buffet line is prepared; when less, a set meal with 3 choices for main entree. The choices and quality are ok, though not a "rave" point. Most Manilenos would probably find it pricey. An area of improvement is on the kids' menu: it is exactly the same as adults' sans the salad (for lunch and dinner) and beverage (for breakfast) Adults have coffee for breakfast; kids only have water. Milk or hot choco are to the guest's account on top of set-meal fee.

Still on areas for improvement, management need to procure new life-vests. Kayaks are there for free use (for overnight guests), but there are only 2 tattered life-vests available! Another reason why it is important to have life-vests is because the characteristic of the beach is such that water level rises almost to 5 feet just a few from shore (probably 6-10 feet away). Parents with small children would feel safer if their kids don on life-vests when at the beach. Another suggestion: it would be good to provide free flowing coffee and tea for overnight guests who just want to laze around and watch the day go by. P50/cup is kind of pricey.

Having given an overall glossy report of the resort, let me issue a balancing word: this place is NOT for people who are looking for a lot of fun-filled activities. There is no swimming pool, no game room, no sports facilities (e.g., basketball court, pingpong table, volleyball net, etc.), no TV & cable! There is virtually nothing to do at night... except perhaps a nice open-air massage in one of the bed parasols while the sea billows and the wind blows... Our kids played their board game in one of the bed parasols, too, while
enjoying the view of an almost full moon silhouetted against the wispy clouds.

Finally, one last point before I end this review: a comparison with a nearby, new resort called Acuatico. We decided to drop in at the Acuatico (just a few resorts away) before we headed home since we heard so much about it. It has a breathtaking infinity pool that gives the illusion of the cool-blue pool water merging into the aqua-blue beach water (probably the reason for its name), similar in concept to that of Punta Fuego, also in Batangas. Surrounding the pool are the villas which boast of big LCD TV screen and cable. Quite nice and impressive. However, having come from Virgin Beach Resort, we can't help but feel cramped because the space is so much smaller than the former - probably just one-tenth the size of Virgin Beach Resort. The beachfront is so small that turning your head slightly to the right and left means looking at the neighbors' beachfront! A quick survey among family members reveal that Virgin Beach Resort won the votes from us! But then again, different strokes for different folks. So at the end of the day, one needs to go back to the earlier point mentioned: know what you want, and look for the fit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wholesomefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

I am not surprised that this is featured as a wedding venue in one of the local movies that was shown recently. Though we went here for the beach and some relaxation, we found out that this is also a nice beach wedding venue. (Another plus for Catholics: The resort has a chapel that guests can hear anticipated mass on Saturday evening)

Quite pricey but you get what you pay for - unobstrusive view of the beach, good service, privacy and quite time. We only intended to do a day trip but when we got there, we fell in love with the place decided to be adventurous and stayed on the beach cabana overnight.

Downside of staying at the cabana is we didn't have our own toilet but this is negligible if you enjoy going to bed and waking up with the sound of the waves. It's like pitching a tent on the beach, but you have the luxury of pillows and a foam mattress.

Will definitely come back to try out sailing at this resort. Too bad we didn't have enough time to do it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

From booking in their Makati office to the resort proper in Batangas, the service just sucks big time! It takes ages and ages of following up with no response before they finally email you back, mind you they never call back even if you keep asking for return call or even text. The people in the resort do not know what customer service means. They will just let you wait for hours, without a single smile on any of those faces. They are arrogant and unaccomodating. Will turn down your request after they have led you on to thinking that your booking is all well, no problem. After ages of follow ups, they will send you a message that they cannot accomodate you without mentioning a single reason at all. So inconsiderate and improper. I swear these people in Virgin Beach Resort do not deserve to work in this kind of business which is all about proper customer service. Since 2007 until 2010, their culture did not change. It just sucks. Try to find blogs and testimonials in the net and find out how 9 out of 10 times, people encounter a bad experience with this resort. Not to mention, they are OVERPRICED!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank uniQa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laiya
55.0 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
198 reviews
34.2 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Luz Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Laiya
410 reviews
1.9 mi away
Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin Beach Resort

Address: Laiya, San Juan, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > San Juan > Laiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Laiya
Price Range: £67 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway for guests who want to experience a more relaxed, and stress free vacation. Situated in Laiya, San Juan, Batangas, our property boasts of having the longest shoreline among all of the resorts along that stretch. With more than a kilometer of pristine white sand beach, the resort features only oceanfront guest accommodations.At Virgin Beach Resort, we offer guests a sense of privacy and serenity. Our resort is designed to provide a comfortable abode to business and leisure travelers with its excellent facilities and service.Our well-trained staff ensures a pleasant and unforgettable stay. From the reservations staff at our Makati office, to our resort staff in Batangas, guests are always welcomed with warm smiles and excellent service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Virgin Beach Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing