We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay of Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay of Palms Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Stayed in one bedroom unit very clean and comfortable TV up to date and bedding great,had a prob with shower tiles fixed immediately .Managers very friendly and helpful the price is what we all look for, compared to larger complex at over $1400 for school holidays I paid half that. Leaving me with change for the Worlds, boy are they expensive when you get in.
Lovely pool, and lake area very well looked after. Thanks for a great relaxing holiday.Would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Do take the one bedroom with children bit more ro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzapies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

The service and hospitality was superb. The managers, Ian & Ann were awesome! Very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Excellent location to the Pines Shopping Center for our group of 38. Easy access to the highway for our games along the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast. A very well maintained property. Clean, well kept, and always seemed to be making more upgrades. By far and away, the best part of the Bay of Palms is the people, their freindly nature and a very quiet and restful place to stay. Can't wait to return in 2012!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaz59230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Surprisingly enjoyable stay. Good size studio room. Plenty of palm trees around add to the privacy. Located right behind Palms shopping centre where there are plenty of buses and food. Clean room, linen, pool. Room was just a little outdated, except for the new wood-look flooring which I thought was cool. We got a good rate of $89/night thru agoda. No hassles, everything worked fine, management were great. heaps of parking. There was no remote for the AC, but I'm sure it would have been provided if we asked... but i kinda liked the humidity for a change... the fan was good. Would stay again at cheap rate.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Been our favourite Gold Coast Accomodation since 1993, however, the place has deteriorated considerably since our first visit back in '93. Same old furniture, mouldy and stained shower, soiled blankets and just plain dirty. Cleaners should be replaced. I believe many of the units are privately owned, and as such, they should NOT be rented out. I would be extremely embarrassed if I were Manager of this complex. Facilities are great, staff great, location magnificent, room DISGRACE.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unclebilly59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

A wanted to find a cheap accommodation because I was traveling the world and didn't want to stay at a hostel. I found the Bay of Palms Resort and it is about a 10 minute ride from the airport. The hotel staff are very nice and they have a chalk board with some deals to the local attractions. They gave me a coupon to a wild life park from a cash register receipt, which gave half off, so that was nice. The resort really isn't a resort per se, it is mostly studios with a pool and bbq place.

The rooms are very run down, very old, and need some repair to get it back to a resort status. I was only at the resort when I had to sleep, so I didn't really jump in the pool or use the other facilities. The resort internet site stated it had wireless internet, which is true, but you have to pay for it. It was quite pricey for $8 for 1 hour. I recommend you go down to McDonald's at the shopping center and use their free Wifi. Another thing about this place is that it has no room servicing. They don't make up your room while you are away, so you have to clean the place yourself. They also require you to take out your trash when you check out and also wash the dishes, which is unheard of any place I've ever stayed at.

The city or the main areas such as Surfers Paradise is about an hour away by bus. I would highly recommend purchasing a Surfside bus pass at the airport counter. I got a bus pass for a couple of days and traveled to all the major sites. One problem is that it is an hour away by bus and most of major attractions are on that side of the city.
The closest bus stop is the shopping center "The Pines." It is about 5 minute walk to the bus stop and catch the 706 to Paradise Point. It will take you on the main road to the city. The buses are every 30 minutes for the city. In the evening it will be harder to get back to the hotel with the bus because they are less frequent from the city. The Pines is a small shopping mall with K-mart, Coles supermarket, and some fast food restaurants.

On a side note, I think some people who are on government assistance stay at this place because of the price. There was a door in my room which was locked, but it leads you to the room next door, which is another room. I could hear noise from that room and in that room lived a young family and they seem to live there and never left the room. They were at times noisy and they were drinking outside their room hanging out. I think they were of Polynesian decent, so they were big guys, they were friendly though. Another thing to consider when staying here.



Overall if you are on a tight budget and don't mind the condition of your room and you are a little bit far from the town, then this is a good choice. I wouldn't highly recommend this place. It gave it a thumbs up even though it was only Ok.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank Kotonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Just been back a second time and will be booking again soon love it

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brisishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I stayed two nights in a studio with a child. It was good value for a short stay, the most affordable accomodation on the gold coast apart from backpacker accommodation. I would not stay in a studio for a longer or fancy holiday as it is quite basic ie no kitchen, little privacy and no comfortable chairs, but for a few nights and when doing lots of outdoor activities it was definitely a good pick. The studio we stayed in was at the back and therefore quiet, though a bit of a walk from the shady car park. The staff was friendly and helpfull when present and could easily be contacted when reception was closed. Good access to beautiful Currumbin, 5 mins by car. Area near resort has little atmosphere but sufficient shops etc. Pool and spa were good/clean but deserted (July) and lacking showers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visitor064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elanora
9.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,671 reviews
7.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
498 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,884 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Palms Resort

Address: Coolgardie St, Elanora, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Elanora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Price Range: £42 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bay of Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Palms Hotel
Bay Of Palms Resort Gold Coast/Elanora, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing