We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay of Palms Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Over all the apartment was clean but old and would benefit from a face lift. Stayed in a studio apartment. Very basic with small bathroom. The studio apartment was upstairs which made it difficult with a pram. The staff at the front desk were neither friendly nor unfriendly. They paid almost no attention to us.
There are a number of metal plates on the walkway around the pool that make a terrible noise as people walk over them.
Location is a 30 min by car to surfers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnaallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel (if you can call it a hotel) is near a shopping Mall and the airpoirt, but far for walking to the beach, you will need a car

There is NO room service, this means no towels changed, no bed made, no bathroom cleaned and no soap and shampoo
Also you will need to remove the trash when you leave... and clean the dishes and cups (or you will be charged for it...) Almost a hostel...

The room itself was lot of space and there are some community areas with laundry, pool, barbecue,...

The reception closes very early at 5:00PM

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViLaruccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in a beautiful one bedroom apartment over looking the lagoon and were very impressed with our hotel choice. The apartments are very new, with completely new fittings and top of the range furnishings. We had only one problem which was one the one day I decided to cook we found that we were about the first people to have used the kitchen and the stove top and oven kept cutting out. We rang management and the person who came said that they would get this looked at asap, so I would imagine that this may be rectified by now. I had no intentions of cooking other than that one day so it didn't really bother me. The pool got the childrens tick of approval and I loved the views we had. I would request staying in the newer rooms where we were as its a far lovelier view, with tables and chairs down on the waters edge so you can enjoy your meal at sunset if you like. Definitely value for money. There is a shopping centre within walking distance for food supplies but we were unable to find any restaurants in close walking distance. We were mainly intending on using the hotel as a base for 'doing the theme parks' and found that it was more than adequate with all parks just 30 minutes drive away. You do the hustle and bustle of the parks, then return home to the empty swimming pool to relax!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topdeck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Lets face it, Australia isn't cheap! We were suprised to get such an amazing little place for such a good price $60 per night (based on a week stay) gets you a nice big double bed (and a single bed) in a modern studio apartment with kitchenette, en suite bathroom, large plasma TV, cable TV and air con. It's actually more like $40 per night if you choose to stay for a month or more.

There is a lovely swimming pool with a decent spa (hot) and there are outdoor BBQ facilites. Wi-Fi is expensive, but that doesn't matter because the library is virtually next door and has free wi-fi even for visitors. It's useful having a mall right next door, because there is a supermarket, a cheap alcohol shop and a fresh fruit/grocer so you can make use of the kitchenette.

Elanora isn't spectacular, but the hotel is only 15 mins walk from Palm beach and Carrumbin, which are two of the nicer beaches on the strip (they're all very nice on the gold coast!)

If you want lively, then pay more and go to surfers paradise (not for me thanks!!) otherwise stay here and rent a car with the money you save, then you can go wherever you like!!

Would certainly stay again!!

Room Tip: one with a kitchenette is only $5 more per night, and this upgrade includes air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This place punches above its weight in the value department. Have stayed there on two different occasions. Room was nice and roomy, the pool was very refreshing. They save money on the servicing and reception hours (only buisness hours - they use a key safe for after hours) but this is no problem. The rooms have a small kitchenette including a microwave although not much space to do your own meal prepn.
Site is a little further south than the main touristy places but this is on problem. Still great value for money

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jastogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Let me speak a short story, when we first day to Australia, my wife lost her handbag on a bus transition station (Pacific Fair), all of our cash and credit card in it. You could imagine how depress we are. We go back to Bay of Palms Resort and told a nice lady on reception. Our English is not good, the staff of the resort contacted the Security of the shopping center, Bus company losts&found center, and police office.
2nd day, Police received the handbag, some nice guy picked it and handed it to security of shopping center, and then shopping center handed it to police. The staff of resort keep contacting with all above organization, and they knew the good news. At meantime, we stay at nearby beach till very late. a gentleman of Resort looked for us everywhere, finally, he found us and told us the good results, and he told me he could drive us to police to get the property back and then drive us back to resort. we really really feel warm.

We got back our handbag and everything in it. What a great country! How great people here!
I also want to say my deep thanks for these guys:
- The nice person who picked the handbag and handed it to security
- A cleaner of Pacific Fair, he help us check recycle bins of the area one by one
- Information center staff, they help us record details and contact to Bus company
- Australian Police, they handle everything professional

In coming days, the staff of Bay of Palms help us rent car, show us path of theme parks, etc.
BTW, the SPA and swimming pool is great, my child love it so much.

I love Australia, I love Bay of Palms! If I go to gold coast again, I still stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank testdep N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenage children) spent a wonderful 2 weeks at this very comfortable and affordable resort. For people wanting brand new modern furnishings and surroundings you will be bitterly disappointed. If you looking for somewhere to relax after a busy day seeing the sights of the Gold Coast and surrounds, then come on down.

Ian and Anne are wonderful hosts who accommodate all and sundry who come through their doors. There is a fantastic pool, heated spa, FREE BBQ's, a lake to go fishing and very clean and tidy surroundings.

Bay of Palms is literally next door to the Pines shopping centre that has Coles, Woolworths, Target, Maccas, KFC and Pizza Hut, plus a plethora of specialty shops. The M1 highway is 3 minutes away which takes you north to all the theme parks, which by the way, makes them only 30 minutes away from the room.

The beach is only a 5 minute drive and Surfers Paradise is just 20 minutes up the Pacific Hwy. The place is just so well situated for a family. A tip for an evening meal, Palm Beach Surf Club just can't be beaten for quality and value.

All in all we had a wonderful time and will be back again and again..

Room Tip: Family of four? Go for adjoining rooms that face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APeckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elanora
9.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,768 reviews
7.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
529 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,995 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Palms Resort

Address: Coolgardie St, Elanora, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Elanora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Price Range: £41 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Bay of Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Palms Hotel
Bay Of Palms Resort Gold Coast/Elanora, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing