We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay of Palms Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment in early August for several days. This was the second time we have stayed here.

The location is great - nice quiet location with some apartments overlooking the lagoon and some facing onto the sunlit courtyard with swimming pool and BBQ area. Our apartment faced over the lagoon.

Reception staff are excellent - we didn't visit the on-site bar or the restaurant - we simply did not have time.

Our one bedroom apartment had everything we needed. Large leather lounge and an easy chair, flat screen TV, fully equipped kitchen with plenty of cupboard space, a large dining table that will seat 6 people, small but useable bathroom (shower, toilet vanity basin) and a double bed with side tables and wardrobe with hanging space and shelves - extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe as well as a small heater and a vacuum cleaner. If you want extra towels (only one per person in the apartment) there is a small charge ... same for toilet paper etc.

The apartment was very clean and we didn't want for anything. We bought food at the local mall - just a few minutes walk - and walked over to the Sports Club on at least one night for a really nice meal.

WiFi charges are around $10 p/day or $20 p/week so if you are staying for say 3 days, better to buy a package for a week rather than per day.


Access to the Pacific Motorway is easy as is the beach just a few minutes away. there's plenty of parking on site too as well as a laundry ($3 per wash and $3 per dry + detergent).

The price is very reasonable for what you get which is space and freedom to make your own meals if you like.

The adjoining rooms were filled with guests and only on one night did we hear the people next door but it was not a problem.

We'd definitely recommend our friends to stay here and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You can ask for ground floor or if you don't mind stairs, an apartment on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bay of Palms. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay for the second time and hope to see you again next time you are coming to the wonderful Gold Coast. Ann Michelon Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    28
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
48
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I were so shocked to discover that the rooms were interconnecting. Normally this is not a problem in other hotels as there are two doors. However, here there is 1 door and you can have a conversation with the guests in the adjoining room, hear their tv program and when you turn your lights out there is a rectangle of light shining right in your face as you lay in bed .Unfortunately no one could help us and the owners of the resort did not call us as promised by the site manager. Once we contacted them they were extremely unhelpful and told us you get what you pay for. We pointed out that the website did not mention interconnecting rooms and we were told they were not hiding it. Well if it's not stated then I'd say you are hiding it! You may also like to know that the hotel has permanent and semi permanent residents. It appears that it is some type of emergency housing accomodation - also not stated on their website.
All in all a horrible experience where we felt our safety was jepordised and not taken seriously. We did not stay in our room but were still charged for it.

Room Tip: Rooms are noisy, we were told to move to a room were the interconnecting room was not let out. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes all of our units do have interconnecting doors. This allows us to use the units as both 1 bedroom apartments and studio rooms in the non holiday times and 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments in the holiday times. You will find many resorts on the Gold Coast with the same building structure eg; Twin Towns - Meriton - Over busy times we do have the need to use both sides of the unit at the same time and yes some times there is a slight transfer of noise. All interconnecting doors are solid doors and are securely locked so as people can not enter into other guests rooms. We do understand that some people do have an privacy issue with this situation however we can not change the way the building has been constructed some 25 years ago and we work hard on ensuring every one has a peaceful and enjoyable stay. Please let me state at no stage did I say you get what you pay for and we DO NOT do emergency housing however we do have 3 units that Owners do live in, I do not see how this would be of any concern to any one looking to book a holiday on the Gold Coast as once again this is common for some owners to purchase a unit in a resort to live in and not holiday let. Your comment about not staying in your room but you were still charged for it do's not mention the fact that you did continue to stay in the resort in your friends unit and you were not charged for that. I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us but I hope the above has cleared up the situation with the interconnecting doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend for a nearby Wedding and this resort was perfect for what we needed. For a cheap $89/night we weren't expecting too much however we were blown away with what we walked into. Friendly staff (and dog!), easy to access studio room (8A), clean and modern room, TV, couch, portable hot plate, very comfortable. The resort is located next to The Pines shopping centre (Woolworths, Kmart, cafes, BWS, etc) and is a short few minute drive from Currumbin, Palm Beach and approx 30min to Surfers Paradise. Only thing I needed was a hairdryer (forgot mine) but I survived without. We would definitely return to this resort and recommend it to anyone needing accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Very much for taking the time to review Bay of Palms - We are so happy to hear your expectations have been exceeded during your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again next time your are on the Gold Coast. Ann Michelon Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our group stayed at the Bay of Palms for 11 days. There were 55 of us! Ann & Ian were so accommodating & helpful! The majority of our group consisted of teenagers & it was the perfect place for us to stay. The rooms are comfortable & well equipped for even an extended stay. I personally stayed in a room with a view of the lake & it was nice to wake up every morning to that view. There are laundry facilities for the guests to use, a nice pool & hot tub area, a game room, a small bar, and a bbq area for guests to use. There is a shopping center VERY close & other attractions nearby. Ann & Ian were more that helpful when we had questions or needed help making arrangements for the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our little Resort - Both Ian and I were sad to see you you all go. We hope you all arrived back home safe and sound for your 4th of July Celebrations. We hope to see you again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalby, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My friend and I stayed in a studio room for our week's holiday. Our room was very well equipped for self catering, and very comfortable. It overlooked a beautiful lake which had a pathway along one side and came to a park playground area. This resort is in a quiet and peaceful area away the the noise and bustle of Surfers Paradise, but close enough to drive to. It is also close to a shopping centre. We booked the courtesy RSL bus and had dinner in the RSL (very enjoyable) and used the free drink vouchers we received when we checked in at Bay of Palms. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radarwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the tine to review our Resort. We look forward to seeing you some time again soon. Dont forget we do special prices for returnee guest. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Was the perfect place for us. Near the airport but far from surfer's paradise. Had rented a car so that was not an issue. Very friendly staff. Beautiful lakeside with benches and clean rooms. Honestly cannot think of a negative point. We took the one bedroom apartment for a week.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midhun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Bay of Palms. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you back some time again soon. Ann Michelon Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent 10 days at the bay of palms and we couldn't of been happier!! The room was fantastic with a living room area and kitchen with separate bedroom - the room looked over the lake and the view was incredible!! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable - couldn't fault it!! The pool area was fantastic. The resort is next to the shopping centre as well with everything you need!!!What made the stay at this hotel particularly special was the staff - they couldn't of done more to help us - I can't recommend enough!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the lake !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelon, Manager at Bay of Palms Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bay of Palms. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. - Wishing you all the best for your up coming wedding. Ann and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elanora
10.2 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
9.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
9.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
7.4 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Palms Resort

Property: Bay of Palms Resort
Address: Coolgardie St, Elanora, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Elanora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elanora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay of Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bay of Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Palms Hotel
Bay Of Palms Resort Gold Coast/Elanora, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing