We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adventures in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The north facing view from the verandah of the orchard and Tallebudgera Creek
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
The north facing view from the verandah of the orchard and Tallebudgera Creek
Well-equipped kitchen
Main Bedroom which opens out on to the verandah and has river views.
Main Bedroom which opens out on to the verandah and has river views.
Your morning view from the master bedroom
The second bedroom, with queen bed, romantic mosquito net and old fashioned lamps.
Antique caste iron beds make for comfortable old-fashioned sleeping arrangements in the twin room
Your home away from home
Sunset on the Verandah
Our beautiful lake
One of our cuddly Koalas
Some of our exotic tropical fruit
One our our homemade cakes
Lush gardens and surroundings to enjoy
No shortage of eggs from our happy, free-range hens!
The perfect patch to meditate
An abundance of fresh fruit, grown right here
One of our beautiful Poincianna
Mud crab from the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Elanora, Gold Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
timr22015
North Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Adventures in Paradise”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in February 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful few days in this beautiful old style homestead & property, almost on the coast. The panorama from the house takes in the rare fruits orchard, the bend in the Tullebudgera River & the local farm birds, that include colorful peacocks, guinea fowl, chooks & geese.

A stay in this farm house is definitely recommended for the view, peaceful serenity & proximity to the beaches.

The hostess is Justy & she gives 100% of herself to ensure the guests enjoy their stay.

My wife & I didn't want to leave. A great time was had there & great value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela G
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This property is like the Garden of Eden. The orchard, the gardens and the location are amazing. The property is only 5 minutes from the coast, but once you are inside the gates you are in another world completely.
The house (an old style Queenslander) has a verandah
on 3 sides, is perched on the highest point of the property and offers an expansive and beautiful view over the orchard, the dam and the river. The bedrooms are very comfortable, and the house is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need.
The peacocks, ducks, chickens and geese are great entertainment and look very contented.
Justin, the proprietor was delightful, extremely helpful, and made us the most wonderful cocktails when we arrived. She also organised a wonderful massage, in a professional massage room attached to one of the smaller cottages. The service, and value for money were amazing.
We had a wonderful time, and I could not recommend this property more highly.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa C
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful, exotic and relaxing and 10 mins to a beautiful beach.”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in June 2014

We have stayed a number of times in this beautiful home. The kids love the peacocks, ducks and guinea fowl that wonder around. Collecting the chicken eggs was also an eye opener - no eggs do not grow in the cartons! The adults just enjoyed sitting on the veranda overlooking the exotic orchard. This was a lovely peaceful place where kids could be kids and we could still pop down for a swim everyday. The Gold Coast as it should be.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey P
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Such a beautiful hidden treasure. The accomodation has so much warmth, love and personal touches. Surrounded by tropical fruit trees, chickens, peacocks, herb gardens, bromeliad gardens, but still so close to the beautiful Gold Coast beaches.

I highly recommend staying in this farmstyle cottage as a couple or with the family. It's heaven on earth!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese N
1 review
“Truly remarkeble”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2014

my husband and i stayed there for a weekend and where greeted with the heavenly smell of backing
we swam every day and had lunch on the veranda watching geese, duck and peacocks parade by
Justy is the hostess with the mostess and it truly a home away from home where you can feel the nurturing take place as soon as you step onto the property
best weekend ever

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theshaws
huddersfield, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What I will always remember about 'Bend of the River'
1. A beautiful and peaceful place to relax that is minutes away from large shopping centres and endless beaches.
2. This is a rental that has actually been lived in. It has every piece of kitchen equipment that you could ever need. Want to carve a pumpkin or make some soup? - not a problem, there are knives and blenders aplenty. If you feel the need to bake, everything is there too.
3. Thinking that 'pegging out the washing' will never be this exotic again (surrounded by inquisitive peacocks and the male displaying at every opportunity.
4. That self catering does not have to be a chore. Having a young family I am usually doing the same things (cooking, cleaning, washing, ironing) but in a different house. Not at Bend of the River. With outdoor washing and ironing (accompanied by peacocks) and everything within easy reach, nothing felt like a chore. I actually did get a holiday!

What my children aged 7 and 10 will remember
1. Trick or Treating with the locals and eating mock pumpkin pie (arranged/made by Justy the owner)
2. The magical house and gardens filled with tame peacocks
3. The rope swing and mini zip wire attached to a huge tree straight out of a story book
4. Feeding the hens and collecting the eggs
5. Having a surprise horse ride on 'Dusty' (also arranged by Justy)
6. Being woken up at 7am on the last norning so we didn't miss the Mummy Koala and her baby that had strolled into the grounds.
7. Not needing my Ipad/Tablet or even being remotely interested in what's on TV

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie...
wanaka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing country house full of art, books and great views”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the well equipped kitchen, the fire, the lovely wide shady verandah with beautiful outlook, the exotic fruits that grow on the property, the cake and hand made loaf of bread on arrival, the art and books and the great location. Loved all of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, with a beautiful large garden and only 5 minutes from gorgeous beaches
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing