We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sooo Good!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The north facing view from the verandah of the orchard and Tallebudgera Creek
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
The north facing view from the verandah of the orchard and Tallebudgera Creek
Well-equipped kitchen
Main Bedroom which opens out on to the verandah and has river views.
Main Bedroom which opens out on to the verandah and has river views.
Your morning view from the master bedroom
The second bedroom, with queen bed, romantic mosquito net and old fashioned lamps.
Antique caste iron beds make for comfortable old-fashioned sleeping arrangements in the twin room
Your home away from home
Sunset on the Verandah
Our beautiful lake
One of our cuddly Koalas
Some of our exotic tropical fruit
One our our homemade cakes
Lush gardens and surroundings to enjoy
No shortage of eggs from our happy, free-range hens!
The perfect patch to meditate
An abundance of fresh fruit, grown right here
One of our beautiful Poincianna
Mud crab from the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Elanora, Gold Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rosemary...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sooo Good!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in June 2015

Such a surprising hidden little bit of the countryside just a few minutes drive from the beach.
Brilliant host - so generous and welcoming. Always there if we needed her - eg fora tour of the exotic fruit orchard. Ducks, geese, chooks and the most beautiful tropical garden.
The house is a characterful Queenslander plus a beautiful built-on bath house . The best place ive stayed in Oz. I think.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you Rosemary for posting such a lovely review about us! We so enjoyed having you stay and hope one day you may be back. Justy xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Us three couples have been going away together for long weekends for years, and all of us said this house, and Justy's kind generosity was just the best. We'd actually all just like to move in ( pity about having to get back to our jobs).
Firstly it is beautiful - the orchard setting and the lovely house, the nearby walks and all the animals - geese, chooks, horses and more. The house is so well equipped,especially with all you could want to cook up a storm. And there we found: a fresh homemade cake, new laid eggs and tropical fruits we couldn't even name.
It's amazing that this little slice of heaven can be 10 minutes drive from Currumbin Beach and 5 minutes from supermarkets and more.
Hope we get back soon. Thanks a million Justy
Oh, and don't forget the massages - brilliant ☀️

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniquely welcoming and generous experience
Liked least: We all got a bit lost finding the Bend of the River driveway sign
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BatwomanR...
Southport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Queenslander in Paradise”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bend of the River features a beautifully maintained old Queenslander set in acres of exotic fruit trees and tropical trees.
We welcomed friends and family to join us each day of our stay (3 nights). With a serious cooks kitchen, we produced long lunches on the veranda (pouring with rain or we would have eaten in the stunning garden under the weeping fig).
The very cute variety of chooks, bantams and irrepressible Guinea fowl made us smile. The peacock and hen, produced 3 pea chicks the day we arrived, a rare treat!
Practically, the Pines shopping Centre is less than 4Km away, the local shops, a couple of hundred metres. I had to buy eggs, I could not cook the beautiful baby blue ones laid by the fluffy bantams!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a real home.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Most enjoyable guests who made great use of our well equipped kitchen. Delicious home-cooking smells wafting out of the homestead all weekend with guests enjoying long lunches on the verandah. These guests welcome back any time - but we do encourage them to eat the eggs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLLeung
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for getaway”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bend of the River is definitely an ideal place for getaway. Instead of staying in a service apartment facing the beach, we chose to stay in Bend of the River throughout our stay in Gold Coast for five nights. It turns out to be a wise choice. My 4 years old daughter will never forget how she was warmly greeted by peacocks, chooks, and geese every morning. She always felt excited to collect eggs in the morning and helped out to cook the breakfast. We enjoy the beautiful garden in front of the house. Having a walk visiting the tropical fruit trees or down to the river, or having breakfast or late afternoon tea outdoors is so relaxing.
The interior is nicely decorated. We could read, play piano and cook in there. My daughter forgot about ipad or computer during the stay coz there were a lot of interesting things to do.
It’s so kind that Jerry and Justy are willing to share this beautiful house. It’s our first visit there and will certainly not the last time. Also thanks Geoff for taking care of us during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey S
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Hospitality above and Beyond!”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Greeted with homemade cake, jam and dip, Justy goes above and beyond in the hospitality stakes. A weekend stay with teenagers, for the purpose of a senior filming assessment, this property offered the perfect rustic charm with fireplace, piano, varied antiques, artwork and abundant reading material. The majestic tree with flying fox and swing were also a hit - not just with the teenagers but my Hubby as well. Fresh free range eggs, provided by the resident chickens, made breakfast taste all that much better. Add to this the numerous 'different' tropical fruits straight from the trees that we able to experience for the first time - all makes for an unforgettable weekend. Justy and family have a wonderful property and we are so lucky they are willing to share it with the rest of the world. Thank You Justy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality provided by Justy
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieCMe...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Aaaah!”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I was warmly greeted by Justy who was as hospitable as the house was welcoming.
Just two days/nights commenced the unwinding of my mind and body, which was the purpose of this short break. The verandah vistas, the park-like garden, both the resident and visiting birds, the local walks and a cycle to the beach worked to break the tension patterns my body had to accept as a daily norm. My mind and body, reluctant at first to let go of its ordered regime, was serenaded by the surrounding rhythms of nature and the calming views of the river. With thanks also to Geoff for his generous time.
I'm hoping to return for another visit with Mum.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything.
Liked least: the geeses' pairing communication
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frangipan...
Sydney, Austra
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic escape with timeless charm”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I spent four nights at Bend of the River for a short break with girlfriends. We all adored it. The host, Justy, made us warmly welcome: there was even a freshly baked cake which we devoured. The house offers wonderfully relaxing places to loll, chat, read a book, sip a cocktail, spy a peacock or admire the sunset. The well- equipped kitchen meant that self-catering was an easy option, though there are good restaurants nearby.
We found a lot to charm and delight us on the property: the antics of the chickens (and isn't it a rare treat to poach a truly fresh egg?), the orchard of exotic fruit (who knew there was such a thing as a rollinea?) the agisted horses and a splendid array of birdlife. We did tear ourselves away from the farm long enough to have a dip in the ocean and to explore some of the boutiques in nearby Burleigh Heads, but we felt very happy just to relax and relish Bend of the River. The beds were comfortable and made up with crisp linen, and it was handy to have full laundry facilities too.
I'll certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity
Liked least: The rooster's early crowing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing