We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
141
66
30
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
66
30
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake lugano san mamete overlooking the lake first floor italian lakes lovely hotel tiny village pasta idyllic location beautiful garden hidden gem breathtaking views across the road attentive service the water's edge easy access weather permitting
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

So nice, I was initially reluctant to tell others about it!
One of the very few hotels directly on the lake (most have the road separating hotel from the lake), this is a quality traditional Italian hotel.
The tiny village of San Mamete has now been bypassed for through traffic by a tunnel, so its single narrow main road is now so quiet you can amble up and down the middle of the road most of the time. The hotel benefits from this is being even quieter. This is NOT a place for partying or wild behaviour.
With a sun deck and restaurant right on the lake, you can lie in your lounger under an umbrella and flop straight into the lake for a cool off, then climb back for a snooze. The restaurant is equally delightful set by the water and shaded by trees and overhead plants. Breakfast, lunch or dinner are such a delight. The waiters are charming, but still with proper Italian formality.
The rooms are air conditioned and pleasant without being luxurious and all have balconies overlooking the lake – just a delight to wake up to such a view.
The staff are so helpful – one day I could not find a parking place in the little village, so the receptionist told me to leave my car at the door and the keys with her, and later in the day she had found me a space and moved the car for me – no effort is too much.
The hotel is neither small nor huge, every guest is known to the staff and management of the establishment is watch over carefully by the elderly yet firm owners.

Room Tip: Suggest room 103. Large shaded balcony with table and chairs overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this family run small hotel on lake Lugano. We were greeted by friendly staff and the owners, then were shown to our beautiful room over looking the lake and panoramic views of the surrounding mountains. Dinner was served nightly in the garden with the most amazing wait staff...fun, friendly, professional. Dinner we delicious. Breakfast was a large assortment of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, meats, cheeses, bread, hardboiled eggs, and baked goods, coffee, and juice. The hotel has a beautiful garden, and a small dock to lay in the sun, or jump in the lake for a swim. Across the street from the hotel are various lengths of hiking trails to explore the churches and villages above. What a wonderful, relaxing beautiful place to spend a few nights and days. The only downside is the walls seem a little thin and you can hear noises from the rooms beside you.
We loved our stay and hope to return soon!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Excellent service with the Manager dressed immaculately arriving around 6 in the morning to oversea the days operation and service for the hotel. It was like stepping back to earlier times where you felt waited on and the hotel running smoothly. The rooms had balcony's with a view of Lake Lugano with Osteno visible across the lake. Some rooms would not be able to be used by Wheelchair access, their is a lift available for some floors. Rooms on the waterfront have large balcony's with lake views.

Breakfast was one of my favourite meal with the smell of fresh baked Croissants wafting through the halls on the way to breakfast. The restaurant was well patronised with beautiful meals. The waiters are amazing.

Located on Lake Lugano with a swimming platform and local boats to other locations on the lake, stop at the wharf. Local Bars are only across the road which needs to be crossed very carefully as cars and buses come through between narrow roads and buildings. Also a great cloths shop and a Church high above the hotel.

Visiting other local areas with a boat trip over to Osteno with no negatives for this location.

Room Tip: "1st floor with lift for wheelchairs and Lake side Balcony on other floors"
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Amazing!!!
Once in a life time experience(coming from a very busy city-London).
The perfect place to escape for a relaxing holiday in the middle of the nature.
A very old hotel(1910)but in good condition,don't be picky-it's not a posh hotel of 5 stars,but the first impression is WOW!You will have all the necessary conditions for a boutique hotel.
Very clean,a very good location-10 km to the centre of Lugano(you need your own car).Silence,good food,mountains and a good company.
Go for it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We simply loved our stay here. Location, food and staff are unique. The view is magnificent. Bed could be better but is easily forgotten and forgiven when you wake up and look out of your window. Brilliant!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank nlnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews