We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Ranked #2 of 9 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had a lovely time at Winterton Country Lodge! Brian is very knowledgeable of their environment and had very good suggestions of where to go which we appreciated. The food was divine and our room lovely and spacious. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very nice and safe accommodation with parking lots. We took the honeymoon suite and the room was clean, big and had a seperate nice bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helped us where they could.I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Attila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A wonderful restfull, peacefull weekend. We were made to feel very welcome and your lounge, bar reception is warm and inviting. Rooms were delightful, - spacious, niely furnished and comfortable. A pity they are so close together. Food excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William & Phyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It is a perfect place to stay for visit the Central Berg. The owner is so friendly and the quiet reign! For all kind of travellers. Ask to Julita what do you want to do and she helps you in a right way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leonardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It's spacious, clean, serine, gorgeous and the service is just amazingly professional and friendly. I didn't like that they have kittens, because of my issues with cats although they were always away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nokuthula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was our second visit to Winterton Country Lodge,and we enjoyed our stay as much as the first time.The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable.as before we had the evening meal which was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning.The owners are very accommodating and pay attention to detail,the staff are also very pleasant .

The lodge is well located for the Drakensberg and also some of the battlefield sites.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank m02wadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend celebrating our wedding anniversary. The establishment is peaceful and tranquil and has a friendly mangement team that made us comfortable from the moment we entered the gates. Highly recommended for unwinding.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nalini N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
12.6 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#4 of 5 in Winterton
599 reviews
16.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
1,018 reviews
18.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
1.3 mi away
Lilac Lodge
Lilac Lodge
#3 of 9 in Winterton
83 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage

Address: 2 km from Winterton | R600 towards Ladysmith, Winterton, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best B&B X The Berg! Ultimate in peace and tranquility with abundant birdlife! We offer comfortable stays in our 4 stylish rooms with a touch of luxury and space, or book into one of our Thatched Rondavels for a real African experience with a fireplace, or try a cottage for a small family of 4 with selfcatering options, where you can do your own barbeque or some cooking if you are tired of eating out! We also do wholesome home cooking dinners on request and on pre arrangement only. Enjoy our paradise like establishment with lovely garden, small dam for leisure canoeing and fishing, sparkling rock pool to cool down and have a lazy afternoon in the sun after a active day in the Berg! We are close to all berg resorts and activities/amenities for you to explore and to experience! Free WI-FI!Children 3-11 pay only 50% of adult rate. Your Leisure is our Pleasure!! An experience not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing