We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the Drakensberg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Ranked #2 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a great guesthouse to stay at, within an hour's drive of many hiking routes. My room was clean and well appointed, and also spacious. The breakfast was excellent and you will generally be very well looked after here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich-e-Mental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed over for two nights. Great decision. The location gave us the freedom to explore the Central Drakensberg and provided us with a great retreat at the end of each day. We had one of the King rooms near the park with the Buck. Just a heads up here ..... one of the resident dogs tends to chase the buck, barking incessantly, so scrap any idea of an afternoon nap!!!

We stayed in for Dinner on day 1 .... excellent 3 course meal and good value for money. The honesty bar is reasonably priced and the hosts are very helpful with enquiries. I'd go back .... pretty easily actually.

Room Tip: No. 14 "Joy".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I only stayed for a night on our way back to Johannesburg from the Southern Drakensbergs, but it was a very pleasant stay. the main building and the common grounds in the property are truly beautiful - they really make you feel relaxed.
We stayed in the round room, which had a rustic charm feel to it and was very clean. If you're a showerer, just note that this room only has a tub (super nice for the cold weather) with a hand shower, but it's hard to shower standing up - we didn't mind much. The only thing that could have made it better is to get toiletries (we didn't even get a bar of soap!), which we expected given the price. It might have been just an oversight and we didn't ask, as we only showered there once.
We did not have dinner there (they offer a 3 course menu every night) but it smelled yum. We did get their dessert (they were super flexible in providing it even though we asked for it late) and it was delicious.
It all feels very safe, as it is gated and has parking right outside the rooms and the service was very good without being overwhelming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a beautiful & clean guest house with fantastic staff who are so friendly and helpful! It is centrally located and both the hut and suite de luxe rooms were everything we expected! Thank you for an awesome stay!!!


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for our first four nights in a three-centre holiday and loved it. This was in a large part due to the warmth and hospitality of the lovely Brian and Rosanne, for whom nothing was too much trouble, but the surroundings were great as well. We were there for some not-too-strenuous walks around the Drakensberg mountains, which are an easy 45 minute drive from Winterton.

We had the Ethnic Moments room which had a large bedroom with a very comfortable bed, bathroom with a spacious shower and sufficient hanging and shelf space. Our hot water never ran short despite the electricity-saving measures. There was satellite TV in the room and tea and coffee making equipment. One minor irritation – no plug socket near a mirror, which made hair drying a bit difficult. The bedroom and bathroom were separated by a curtain rather than a door – it didn’t bother us but might be a bit disconcerting for some. There’s no safe in the room but Rozanne kindly put our valuables in the hotel safe.

Breakfasts were very good – all the usual cereals, toast, fruit etc plus freshly-cooked hot food if you want it. Rosanne and Brian also cook dinners to order most nights and although they describe themselves as enthusiastic amateurs, we thought all the dinners were good. There’s not a lot of choice for food elsewhere in Winterton or nearby – there’s one pub-type restaurant in the village which does food like pizzas and a place called the Black Scabbard about three miles away, which was closed for no apparent reason on the night we tried to go there (which is why we ended up at the pub place).

The gardens are pleasant, with sun loungers near a plunge pool. Inside, there is a comfortable lounge with TV and an honesty bar where you can help yourself to beer, wines, spirits and soft drinks and write down what you’ve had.

There is such a really homely, relaxed atmosphere about the place, from the honesty bar to the friendly cats and dogs – and we very much enjoyed our wide-ranging chat with our hosts about South African politics, economics, cricket and other important topics. Even the small things that went slightly wrong (curtain coming off the rail, toilet flush a bit intermittent) were overridden by the charm of the place and its hosts (by the way, we were offered a different room because of the toilet flush but declined as we liked the room we had). If we ever go to Winterton again we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneandIan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The service and food was excellent. The 'Hut' was private and in a peaceful surrounding. The owners were very friendly and helpful.
When we booked through RoomsForAfrica, the difference between B & B and self-catering accommodation was not clear, and the tariff was not clear.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The lodge is in a very attractive setting and Brian and Roseanne were very welcoming. We originally booked for 2 nights, but regrettably at short-notice we had to change our plans to stay for just one, which they kindly agreed to without hesitation. We wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds are delightful with friendly dogs, cats and a small menagerie. Although not luxurious, the room we had was large and well equipped with shady parking right out-side the room. It was outstanding value for money. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks from the honesty bar in the lovely lounge. The only slight (but very minor) down side was that wi-fi wasn't available in the room, but it worked perfectly well from the patio. We took the option of the home-cooked set three-course dinner, which was nicely presented and very tasty (R180 pp). Full breakfast was also a treat. Very well located for exploring the Drakensberg and a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DFKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterton hotels
18.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
942 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
591 reviews
16.2 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
12.1 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#5 of 16 in Winterton
108 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ardmore Guest Farm
Ardmore Guest Farm
#1 of 8 in Winterton
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage

Address: 2 km from Winterton | R600 towards Ladysmith, Winterton, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best B&B X The Berg! Ultimate in peace and tranquility with abundant birdlife! We offer comfortable stays in our 4 stylish rooms with a touch of luxury and space, or book into one of our Thatched Rondavels for a real African experience with a fireplace, or try a cottage for a small family of 4 with selfcatering options, where you can do your own barbeque or some cooking if you are tired of eating out! We also do wholesome home cooking dinners on request and on pre arrangement only. Enjoy our paradise like establishment with lovely garden, small dam for leisure canoeing and fishing, sparkling rock pool to cool down and have a lazy afternoon in the sun after a active day in the Berg! We are close to all berg resorts and activities/amenities for you to explore and to experience! Free WI-FI!Children 3-11 pay only 50% of adult rate. Your Leisure is our Pleasure!! An experience not to be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing