We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Champagne Sports Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We recently held our annual sales conference at Champagne Sports Resort and I was bitterly disappointed with the Hotel Accommodation. The hotel rooms are in desperate need of a revamp. The bathrooms are old and grotty. The showers are "kiddie" size and the taps are broken. Adding to this I found two insect mounds on the curtains, which should have been picked up by the cleaners. My room in particular had a damp smell. It is definately not worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faaiza4382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Great resort with a lot of family activities at the resort (swimming pools, bicycle hire, pool, tennis ,put-put course and 18 hole golf course) or in the immediate area (horse riding, fishing, tree top canopy tours and various hiking routes). In addition breakfast and dinner buffets kept the tummies full after a fulfilled day.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room or if possible try and book a chalet via RCI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DyzellSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We recently stayed at Champagne Sports Resort with a total of three families, and it was the perfect place for us. Located in the beautiful Drakensberg, it offers pretty much something for everyone and all ages - a pool in a nice setting, multiple tennis courts, a gym with squash courts, table tennis (though rackets always a shortage so bring your own), a live band on one of the nights, kids' playground with trampoline, teenager's room. Even poolside bingo (which got to be a bit annoying, to be honest, for the bingo-non-enthusiast). The food was served buffet style and was invariably very good. I'm a bit of a croissant snob, and I have to say the croissants at the breakfast buffet were some of the best I've had, topping those at much more upscale hotels. Champagne Sports is a great value for the money and an excellent destination for family travel. The rooms were spacious and additional kids were easily accommodated with extra beds, ready upon moving in (a feat we seem to accomplish rarely in most other places, always having to ask and prod multiple times for that third bed). If there is one complaint, it is that we had to drive to Champagne Castle for a day's hike, as there don't seem to be many hiking trails starting directly from the hotel.

Room Tip: The family rooms are designed for 4-person families but it's easy to add extra beds, essentially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Great hotel - I was there for a conference for a day (my choice as my colleagues were there for 2 days). It's such a pity that the resort is a 4.5 hour drive from Joburg, as the setting is beautful and the room I stayed in was large, very modern and very well appointed. I have issues with most hotels and the number (or lack thereof) plug points. No problems here. Also the bathroom is ridiculously large and has a separate shower from the bath (always a winner for me).

So.. the concerns?? Very few, but:

- the gym REALLY need to be looked at. Given that this is a resort it is not well appointed at all. There were no sweat towels available, the water was not chilled and the facility is not air-conditioned. I was terribly disappointed in this aspect of the resort
- the wifi seriously needs to be looked at. The coverage is patchy at best and does not extend to all conference rooms. For me that is a SEVERE deficiency. Given I was there for business I needed to stay connected and in contact and this proved very challenging. Also, when using the wifi it was pretty slow and not what I would have expected from this level of facility/resort
- service levels from staff are poor. The staff are apathetic and hard to pin down. At lunch today it took a waiter nearly 20 minutes to deliver a series of drinks to my party of five. This really is terrible service.

It is such a pity that these, for me, critical aspects of the facility have been overlooked. Had they been in place I would have rated the resort 4/5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

In wonderful Dragensberg.in KZN South Africa.Villas beautiful.Lovely views.serviced every day.Golf course fantastic.Well worth the travel.Lovely walks in berg.Bird life unbelievable.Nearby rapture retreat.Cycling and running on road or off road very scenic.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariPietermaritzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent a week at the Champagne Sports resort in a time share chalet.
The location is absolutely spectacular - mountains.
The golf course is amazing - challenging...
Halfway house excellent.
We attended a Quizz night in the pub which was great fun.
Restuarant in the hotel at a special evening for Time shares. The food was excellent and the service superb. The restuarant is huge so my only suggestion would be if they could close off part of it to make it more ambient. However they do a lot of conferences in the hotel so that might not be easy.
Overall experience was excellent.
Lots to do other than golf - we ate at a local restuarant at the crossroads complex - Thokoso or something... which was excellent as well. The bird show is excellent, never got to see the Drakensburg boys choir - ran out of time. Nice little meander as well for a bit of country shopping.
The chalets are not super modern - probably redone about 10 years ago. But they are comfortable and have everything you need.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockeysouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

A beautiful venue with wonderful walks, stunning scenery and good family place to go. Unfortunately I hate beds that are stuck together as a king size. Also the walls between each apartment in the new section are very thin- you can hear your next door neighbour! Having said that the bar is a warm cosy place with an excellent hostess who makes one feel welcome and is the epitome of an excellent employee. Large lounge is also available for watching the rugby and massive dining room with huge spread of food of excellent quality. Spa pricing is too high... I've been to many. Also teach staff a little about wine- they have no idea about pouring, types of wine or what to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotalottodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
4.6 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
960 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#4 of 5 in Winterton
593 reviews
2.9 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
63 reviews
20.4 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champagne Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champagne Sports Resort

Address: Central Drakensberg | Private Bag X9, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: £74 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Champagne Sports Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Champagne Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing