We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super getaway to the Drakensberg”
Review of Acorn Cottages

Acorn Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn Cottages
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super getaway to the Drakensberg”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed mid week for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful location and convenience of this idyllic spot in the Drakensberg. Just off the R600, its position is ideal for sightseeing the Champagne Valley as well as into the Cathedral Peak region. There is also a very pretty garden for relaxing! Nikki, the owner is more than helpful in visitor assistance and directions to nearby 'must-see' places. Our room was more than adequate for self-catering needs with parking right outside the entrance to the apartment. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: we stayed in the self-catering Gallery Suite. There is also a cottage which is self catering which l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We wanted something cosy and close to the mountains, and that was just the place. Nikki, the owner, was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. We had the garden suite, it was nicely decorated, very comfortable and perfectly clean. The garden is big with a nice rock pool. The breakfast was huge and delicious, and we could prepare our own braii. To sum up, we had a very nice stay, close to the mountains or any facilities. We would definitely recommend this place to everybody. Thank you for the great stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieB_PatrickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Hi Guys,
We needed a mid week break, so sought out a quiet, small b&b.
Acorn cottages was just the ticket.
Niki the owners was really helpful.
The rooms were clean and tidy.
The weather was not the greatest but didn't make our stay any less enjoyable.
Would recommend this establishment if you are looking for a quiet break away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

What a delight! Great rooms with very good value for money, comfy beds and bathrooms with bath and shower. The gardens are huge, with many trees (pecan nuts), great view of the mountains, no traffic, lots of stars at night and a refreshing rock pool. This owner run b&b is my paradise in the Drakensberg Mountains and our next visit will be not long from now.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricaAdventureSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Acorn Cottages is conveniently, if a bit remotely located in the Champagne Valley outside Winterton. The owner Nikki provides detailed information on how to reach the cottage and is also very helpful in suggesting activities in the area.

From the cottages, easy drives are possible to the Champagne Castle Hotel grounds, which offers great views into the Drakensberg mountains, and to the nearby location for the Drakensberg Boys' Choir School and their presentations, but inquire for performance times. Another interesting drive takes you to the Giants Castle with a short hike and then a guided walk to caves with original San bushmen paintings.

The cottage itself is comfortable, attractively set on a higher ground with views into the surrounting landscape and mountains. Nikki serves a good breakfast with cereals, yoghurt, eggs and bacon, fruits, toast and jams. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
7.6 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
878 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
578 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ardmore Guest Farm
Ardmore Guest Farm
#1 of 8 in Winterton
269 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#4 of 17 in Winterton
99 reviews
4.0 mi away
Inkosana Lodge
Inkosana Lodge
#2 of 6 in Cathkin Park
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Cottages

Property: Acorn Cottages
Address: Champagne Valley, Winterton, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Winterton
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing