We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Drakensberg”
Review of Acorn Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acorn Cottages
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My fiancée to be and I took a road trip through Clarens, the Drakensburg and the South Coast and had a pleasant stay at Acorn cottages for 2 or 3 nights in April.

We arrived whilst Herman was out, but a phone call later and we were directed to our room, which was adjoined to the main house. The room was adequate whilst not luxurious, but had the basic necessities.

To use as a base to explore the area, it is superb, being in close proximity to probably the most stunning part of the Berg, Cathkin Valley, even if the views of the mountains are slightly distant.

Breakfast was superb and plentiful served by the staff in the morning.

Herman is very knowledgeable on hiking and directed us to some of the hikes around Monks Cowl area and lent us a book on the different options. The short (4/5 hour "Sphinx" route was most enjoyable and stunning. Well recommended as a short day outing.)

Whilst compared to places outside of the Drakensberg it may seem quite expensive (for basic accommodation), I think that it is comparable to other BnB's in the area. If I were again looking for a simple, honest base from which to explore the area then I'd consider Acorn Cottages again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinW_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

The view of the mountain is blocked by trees,which was so disappointing, as I was hosting someone who had not been to the berg! We stayed in the Francolin cottage. parking and security good.
The place is clean, bedrooms have nice beds, and for self catering it is good value..if you do not need the view!
The host is friendly and on call.

Room Tip: Hotels are quite expensive in the area, so if you are a group and dont care about the view, no swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ENaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very disappointed with our stay here for the weekend in Barn Owl cottage. There was an extremely bad smell in the kitchen area, presumably a dead mouse trapped between the zinc cladding and internal wall. When we complained to the owner gave us the option of moving to the garden suite but that was so damp and musty we decided to stick it out for the second night as we were leaving very early the next day. While I understand that the dead creature was in some way out of the owner's hands, I do feel he should have offered us at least a partial refund for the inconvenience, but he was disinterested.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

For the price we are paying (R840 for two people per night), this place is disappointing. There are so many spiders and bugs around (found a spider on my bed), even those menacing-looking, orange - and - black ones with stingers...The bed is of low quality (backpackers beds are way more comfy) and the place is narrow and small. We stayed at the guinea fowl room.
The only plus point is its optimal location to access walks to monk's cowl.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leong_Stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here with my wife and in-laws. The new owners were pleasant and keen to please. It was a good value and cozy cottage - but nothing fancy - and made for a great family time. (Stayed in Francolin cottage.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We planned a self catering extended weekend with a view of the mountains. We were given the garden suite - no view except of trees. The room was tiny - no place to adequately store clothes. Part of kitchen was really in the bedroom! It was like sleeping in a large caravan. We were also plagued by flies in our room due presumably to the proximity of local farm animals.
Breakfast was a basic offering. While we stayed in high season we felt the price was high considering what we got. We also left a day early and while it was policy not to refund in high season - no offer was made to accomodate us and no interest shown in why we were leaving early.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Deligthful hostess who is very knowledgeable about the area. Nikki rang us to make sure we had directions and recommended a restaurant to visit on our way in and signposting is very good.

The herb garden is an interesting feature and the house was designed by Nikki.

We changed our itinerary to return for a further two nights after visitiing the Southern Drakensburg so it must have been good.

The breakfast in the garden under the tree looking across the farm was excellent. Lovely dog and cats.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterton hotels
7.6 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Drakensview Self Catering
Drakensview Self Catering
#10 of 17 in Winterton
9 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lilac Lodge
Lilac Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winterton
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
589 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
2.7 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#5 of 17 in Winterton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Cottages

Address: Champagne Valley, Winterton, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Winterton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 4 self catering units located in the heart of the central Drakensberg. Pet friendly to small breed dogs, we also have a rock pool and a small fitness center for the guests. All the cottages are equipped for self catering including a fridge , stove /mini oven , kettle, toaster, pots and pans, crockery and cutlery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing