We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prawns and chips to die for”

The Black Scabbard Portuguese Bistro
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Winterton
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prawns and chips to die for”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Do not be put off by the very basic venue. The food more than makes up for it. We had been recommended this place by a few locals, and finally got around to visiting. What a treat! The prawns were better than those I have tasted in top London restaurants. Large succulent prawns. The marinade was exquisite and generous. Each prawn had been carefully sliced down the back and deveined (I have often found this not done in restaurants and have had to pick out the black line myself) Ooh, and the chips. Fresh, home cooked, golden outside, soft fluffy tasty inside! This was all accompanied by a delicate fresh salad with lettuce as well as rocket leaves to add a peppery flavour, finely sliced onion, sliced cherry tomatoes - all tossed in a (very definitely) homemade vinaigrette.

Do not pass by. It doesn't look like much from the road, and even when you enter, but taste the food and you will forgive the rustic furniture (although I personally loved it). Views of the mountains exquisite!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    39
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Trinchado”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Black Scabbard came highly recommended from locals and friends who have visited the area, and we were not left disappointed! My wife and I stopped here for dinner on a Tuesday night, we were for the most part the only people in the restaurant. The owner, Paulo, was very friendly and accommodating and sat us next to a table by a warm crackling fire. After a tough decision, my wife and I decided on Trinchado and the Peri-Peri Chicken. Both meals were EXCELLENT! The Peri-Peri chicken was done exactly how it should be done, with it being not too spicey, but not too mild either, but the real winner was the Trinchado! Served in a spicy red-wine based sauce and served with home made fries and toasted bread, it was simply the best Trinchado I've ever eaten. I would highly recommend the Black Scabbard to anyone who is in the area, or would like to go for a lunch somewhere out of the way. It will be well worth your visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

What a refreshing change from all the crowded tourist-filled places in the Berg! Not very busy, but serving up good food at reasonable prices. I can recommend the espatadas. Quite peaceful enjoying a lunch outside with a great view of the Berg too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jakumyir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap, honest food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Portuguese chicken, decent prawns, brilliant steak egg and chips, excellent value for money. Wonderful views, and Paulo and Maria offer a warm welcome. It's not the most comfortable or upmarket of venues, with wooden chairs and benches (some chairs are better than others!), limited menu and wine list, but it is very reminiscent of the tascas and adegas we used to frequent when I lived in Portugal in the '70s and '80s. Maria makes the occasional special Portuguese dish - arroz de marisco (seafood rice) was generously stuffed with prawns, mussels and fish, and her prawn rissoles are crisp, creamy and full of prawn meat. She grows her own salad veg and herbs in the extensive gardens, and dresses them simply with good olive oil and wine vinegar. This is an excellent addition to the otherwise run-of-mill food offerings in Champagne Valley. Just don't expect fast service or haute cuisine. Sit back, relax, and enjoy. Oh, and they have live music from time to time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel was recommended to us and we went there one evening . Outside as it is in the countryside there were some Mosquitos and bugs so we moved inside. The food was excellent and the service was very good . The owner was also very friendly . Would definitely eat there again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Scabbard Portuguese Bistro also viewed

Winterton, Drakensberg Region
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 

Been to The Black Scabbard Portuguese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing