We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waffles”
Review of The Waffle Hut

The Waffle Hut
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great waffles”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great waffles, recommend if passing by. We traveled a short distance after being recommended by an advert in our hotel and where not disappointed. Allot of choice on the menu, didn't realise waffles can be served so many ways!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diveninja21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    106
    45
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly rustic ambiance”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Waffle hut was a favourite with various members of our group. The waffles were great and so was the coffee. For those who were watching their figures the Waffle hut offered various other choices including a shop where we could browse and purchase hand made craft items at reasonable prices. I am certainly enjoying my hand woven mats, candles and wrought iron items that I purchased to decorate my home. I will happily recommend a stop over at the Waffle hut for a waffle, a snack or all sorts of interesting hand made crafts to take home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fransiolemtru P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great place to stop.......”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We went on weekend, business was
buzzing with customers in and out non stop. We ordered vegetarian waffle & pancake, but the waffle not as crispy as we expected. However, the filling was great and service was very friendly as well. Definitely will stop again to try waffle with ice cream. ;-)

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so great anymore”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This used to be a must during any visit to the Berg. Not so much anymore. I was there on a Sunday morning and the staff was not the friendliest you can find. Although the food was still good, I'm not so sure that I will stop he again; maybe they have become a little complacent due to the large number of visitors.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jakumyir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stop for a Waffle”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I stopped here for a waffle during our honeymoon in the Drakensberg and were not disappointed! We've driven past this little gem many times before, but had always failed to stop for a waffle.... No more! My wife enjoyed their Amarula Fudge waffle, while I enjoyed the Adams Apple waffle. Both were delicious! We quickly decided that this will be a mandatory stop every time we drive past it :D A must stop for any waffle fan!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waffle Hut also viewed

Winterton, Drakensberg Region
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
 

Been to The Waffle Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing