We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ardmore Guest Farm(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lilac Lodge(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Drakensview Self Catering(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tugela River Lodge(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Drakensberg Bush Lodge(Winterton)(Great Value!)
US$36
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cayley Lodge(Winterton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveller rating
548
323
134
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
323
134
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue grottotsogo suncanopy tourhorse ridingkids entertainmentheated pooldining areawhole familygreat holidayhiking trailsthe ground floortroutall agesworld classfamily holidayself cateringlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My fiance and I went to this hotel for a midweek break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The rooms are somewhat old fashioned and a refurbishment would take the hotel to excellent level. Having said that the service was wonderful and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The food was varied and tasty, with a range of meat, fish and vegetarian options each day.

The canopy tour that can be walked to across the dam wall is well worth it and is a truely unique way to see the landscape. Check at the reception for your discount voucher too.

We also went horseriding, which is again walking distance from the hotel and a great way to see the beautiful area. The hotel is fantastically placed with mountain views and hikes past waterfalls and through forests on the side of the mountain.

The spa is also definitely worth a visit, a massage was the perfect way to finish off our week at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingsim004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

After the 5.5hr from Johannesberg is was wonderful to 'discover' this resort. The reception was really friendly and we received plenty of help to move into our self catering apartment giving wonderful views of the Drakensberg.

In the morning we awoke to bird song and lush green lawns. We had considered to do the self catering element but after sampling the hotels sumptious buffet dinner which included beef, lamb, fresh fish, curries and chicken, not to forget to mention the vast assortments of deserts self catering was positively out!

There is plenty to do on and around this resort apart from the Bingo! Including swiiming, bird watching, hiking, falconry displays, horseback riding, canoeing and the Tree Canopy Tour. The latter a truly exhilarating experience hurtling over a 65m deep canyon with the longest of the 12 runs at 179m in length. For those otherwise concerned parents, young children are well catered by the provision of an excellent and safe playgound.

The nearest township is Winterton some 30 km from the resort. Visitors will find a very small interesting museum that offers an insight of the Anglo-Boer war. Also there a newly opened boutique shop/restaurant 'the Pig and Plough' which does a light lunch. After which it is then but a short drive to the Spioenkop Nature Reserve where you will easily find Zebra, Giraffe, Springbok and very few other tourists unlike some other larger game parks.

The Drakensberg Sun GPS coordinates are S 29 00.26 E 29 27.48

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Servicised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I just don't get what this hotel is trying to achieve. On the one hand it is a classy, fantastically located resort with wonderful, friendly staff and excellent food. On the other hand, it seems to be trying to be Butlins ("Hi-dee-hi" anyone?). I see from other reviews that most people like the quiz and bingo at the pool evey lunchtime, so I don't want to seem grumpy by saying that I don't, but at least it only lasted an hour. However, at all other times truly horrible muzak, played very loudly, dominated both the pool area and the public areas of the hotel. A mix of gospel, country & western, and Elton John anyone? But the real trick is that different tracks were playing in the hotel and at the pool so that if you sat on the - otherwise gorgeous - varanda, they competed strongly with each other. It's such a shame that the location's natural soundtrack was completely drowned out - away from the hotel there was loud birdsong, the sound of the river in the valley, and the breeze in the trees - perfect! The other problem is ventilation in the rooms - and monkeys, I guess. We stayed in the hotel, where the rooms have only one large sliding door and no windows. Almost all the time we were in the room, monkeys patrolled the small balcony so it was impossible to have the door open more than a crack. We found the monkeys quite menacing. And at night we had to have the door closed completely for security, but the very old and extremely noisy airconditioner was a nightmare. It was the type that goes on and off repeatedly, and with a horrible crashing noise each time - my husband said it sounded like a bag of spanners - I think he was being too nice. And it was not that we had a faultly aircon - we could hear each time the units in the rooms either side of us went on and off. It's such a shame that the nice beds and super linen didn't offer a good night's sleep because we had to choose between a very stuffy room or one that sounded like an airport runway. If ever a manager had made him or herself known to us, we would have happily voiced our concerns - and tried to be constructive. As it is, I think we will try the Champagne Castle hotel up the road next time - fewer facilities and activities (but less than half the price), but no muzac and rooms with windows that will allow airflow at night while remaining secure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

What a great hotel. The location is splendid with lots to do. Horseriding, golf, swimming and awesome hikes. Large rooms with good food and wine. Maybe a little bit too resort-like (think cruise ship in the mountains) with lots of children and organized activities like a daily quiz and bingo, but thats what this warm and cozy hotel is all about. The gardens are beautiful.

Had terrible weather while we were there but was never bored. Ate lots and read for hours.

The massage area on the patio is a bit odd and the screaming children's area in the restaurant is a complete bummer!

I loved staying here. Great outdoor activities and sights! Very freindly staff!

Hotel is extremely geared to an eco-friendly stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wikusdutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed for a week with 2 kids under 5 years old.
We stayed in a self catering unit which was great. The view is gorgeous and the facilities are extensive including 2 lovely swimming pools with kids sections, gym, canoes, fishing, squash, hikes, horses, etc . It rained the whole week which spoiled some of the outdoor opportunities. Nevertheless we had great fun catching frogs, going horse riding, going on the boat ride, playing games in the games room and checking out local attractions. The hotel also had a free lending library, and helpful staff service.
One criticism was the lack of windows. There are only sliding doors which we could not leav open due to the monkeys and the rain. There are aircon units but the room still got a bit stuffy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank holidaymom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews