We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

As a family we enjoyed our stay, will definitely go back. A beautiful and relaxing place to stay as a family. My children loved it and they wanted to stay longer. Refreshing, tranquil wealthy visiting






  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 440Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    245
    111
    23
    22
See reviews for
447
218
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Drakensberg Sun is a treat for both adults and children. The setting is spectacular and the Hotel itself is clean, unpretentious and inviting, with fireplaces for the winter and a beautiful wooden deck for the summer. The staff can’t do enough to make their guests feel welcome, and one feels relaxed as soon as you walk into their foyer. Breakfast and dinner were included in our rate and the food was delicious and catered for all dietary requirements. Having two small kids was no extra work for us as there was more than enough for the kiddies to do in terms of playground equipment, a kids club as well as all day activities put on by the hotel. The walks are mapped out beautifully and there are various levels to choose from. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit the Drakensberg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audreyfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The best service possible, great food, friendly staff, top entertainment,gorgeous resort. The best kiddies entertainment in the world. I love it, love it , love it!!!!!! The staff are so humble and always willing to help. The food is always tasty and lots of variety. The kids are always busy doing fun activities and winning many awesome prizes. The staff are simply the best. The managers are so friendly and warm and always have a smile on their faces. the accommodate you with no fuss at all. the rooms are spacious and plentifull teas,coffees and tasty biscuits. I love it so stress free and relaxing and more so the kids are never bored they always kept occupied.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Prasham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great holiday, many free activities for residents which made it one of the best drakensburg trips i've been on. friendly staff.
just one suggestion... for big groups, reservations should be allowed at the dining area, we had a group of 15, were told it was first come first serve and were not able to book for our group together.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank sohanainderjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Exceptionally friendly staff made this breakaway a pleasure from the moment I made the first booking call until the last moment when we left.

The Drakensberg surroundings are arguably one of the most picturesque settings anyone could ask for and this hotel does the surroundings justice. Well maintained gardens, clean crisp bedrooms etc. makes me want to come back as soon as possible.

The buffet dinner and breakfast offered lots to eat - not necessarily top-chef dishes, but decent, tasty food and wide enough choice to suit everyone's taste.

Our stay was short, but it is clear that the activities and entertainment options at the hotel and close surroundings can certainly justify a much longer stay.

The free (I know many venues that would charge a fee for this) "sunset cruise" on the small dam is one of the touches that made me feel welcome as a guest, and made me feel "spoiled and not just tolerated".

I am highly impressed with Drakensberg Sun, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would absolutely recommend this hotel as a holiday destination to anyone.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view - I liked the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is an excellent Hotel to stay.
we enjoyed our stay and will defenitely visit the Hotel again.
i will recommend this Hotel for everybody that want to go and relax in the Drakensberg. lovely places.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

There is a activity for everyone in the family: Swimming, Bingo, playing outside chess, snakes and ladders, hiking trails, playground, horse riding, pony rides, boat trips on dam. Very entertaining!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Property: Drakensberg Sun Resort
Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing