We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visit the Drakensberg Sun resort frequently.
It maintains a very high standard and evidence of continuous improvement show active and involved management.
Great for a family holiday.
Plenty of outdoor activities that meet everyone's need.
Great food.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

My sister and I did a 3 night weekend at the resort. The location is excellent and it's an easy drive from Jhb. We had a room on the top floor with amazing views. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and adequate information provided on activities at hotel and in the area. The activities in the resort are family/group focused. The canopy tour is a short walk from the hotel - which we booked and enjoyed thoroughly. You can go on a guided hike or hike on your own (we hiked on our own and the route was well marked). The restaurant offered a good variety of food. We had a relaxing time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My Husband, our 4 month old daughter and myself went away for the past long weekend to the Drakensberg Sun Resort. It was our first holiday with our daughter and really was a special one. Check in was quick and simple, one issue is that there is no lift, so we had to cart the pram up and down to the 4th floor each time we wanted to go somewhere. The Executive Suite was absolutely fantastic and well worth the climb each time. It was very spacious with a lounge, dining room, guest bathroom and large bedroom and en suite and a walk in cupboard. We also had a nice balcony which over looked the pool and had a great view of the mountains. Was great to go outside and have a look at the stars, was truly amazing. The room also had fantastic coffee and wine, which was great. Our daughter was catered for as well and was provided with a camper cot, compactum and bath as well as toys, which i thought was a great touch. The food in the restaurant was ok, a normal buffet meal can be expected. The lunches were not bad at all, however the service is very slow, which i did eventually complain about, 30 mins just to order drinks... There is lots to see and do and you can't get bored. On check out, we had to double check our bill as there were a few errors on it which had to be subtracted. Was a really great getaway and i would like to return when our daughter is older to enjoy all the activities available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br0kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As a family we enjoyed our stay, will definitely go back. A beautiful and relaxing place to stay as a family. My children loved it and they wanted to stay longer. Refreshing, tranquil wealthy visiting






  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 440Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Drakensberg Sun is a treat for both adults and children. The setting is spectacular and the Hotel itself is clean, unpretentious and inviting, with fireplaces for the winter and a beautiful wooden deck for the summer. The staff can’t do enough to make their guests feel welcome, and one feels relaxed as soon as you walk into their foyer. Breakfast and dinner were included in our rate and the food was delicious and catered for all dietary requirements. Having two small kids was no extra work for us as there was more than enough for the kiddies to do in terms of playground equipment, a kids club as well as all day activities put on by the hotel. The walks are mapped out beautifully and there are various levels to choose from. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to visit the Drakensberg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audreyfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The best service possible, great food, friendly staff, top entertainment,gorgeous resort. The best kiddies entertainment in the world. I love it, love it , love it!!!!!! The staff are so humble and always willing to help. The food is always tasty and lots of variety. The kids are always busy doing fun activities and winning many awesome prizes. The staff are simply the best. The managers are so friendly and warm and always have a smile on their faces. the accommodate you with no fuss at all. the rooms are spacious and plentifull teas,coffees and tasty biscuits. I love it so stress free and relaxing and more so the kids are never bored they always kept occupied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Prasham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great holiday, many free activities for residents which made it one of the best drakensburg trips i've been on. friendly staff.
just one suggestion... for big groups, reservations should be allowed at the dining area, we had a group of 15, were told it was first come first serve and were not able to book for our group together.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank sohanainderjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
944 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
591 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
61 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#6 of 16 in Winterton
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: £140 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing