We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$394
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
546
322
134
36
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
322
134
36
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue grottotsogo suncanopy tourhorse ridingkids entertainmentheated pooldining areawhole familygreat holidayhiking trailsthe ground floortroutall agesworld classfamily holidayself cateringlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a fantastic two days, great hotel, great service, nice food, great location and view. Good location to use as a base for visiting the Drakensberg. The setting is fantastic, the fires burning in the hotel public rooms creates a romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank vwjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great stay,nice helpful staff and found some really good mountain bike routes close by. Get a weekly ticket at the resort down at the air strip.They (Jakes) also gave directions for extended rides.
Oh...did I mention those mountains and the hikes and canopy tours and horse riding and scooter downhill rides.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevetrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely resort with lots to do in and around the area. Food was great, comfortable beds and soft, crisp duvets were a treat. Fiendly and helpful staff who made us feel welcome throughout our short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Warren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Beautiful surroundings, great food with a variety of choices, Numerous activities to keep kids as well as parents busy.
The rooms have been tastefully modernised and are great. The service is good, and we will deffinately be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We are staying here for the second time and we love the place. We love it because of its tranquility, the views and the hiking trails. I think every room here has a view of the beautiful Drakensburg mountains. What we love the most are the hiking trails - the best! This time they have also made an effort to make them safer and more manageable for the elderly. We loved them even before then. We went on a hiking trail everyday of our stay here and we stayed for a week. The hotel itself is well kept, cozy and very welcoming. I love the fire places especially at this time of the year when it is a bit nippy. The rooms are big and very comfortable. In general this resort is a reliable place to book into because one will not be disappointed. The only thing I would improve is the cooking/food - it becomes a little boring after three days and since there is no other restaurant one has to keep going back to the same. I love the Friday buffet the most because sushi was included.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kgethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews