We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view - geared toward families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed three nights at the Sun and found the location and the hotel absolutely beautiful. The view from the rooms is stunning and the lobby/dining area has a wonderful mountain feel. Although the families did not hinder or bother us during our stay, I'd just like to point out that it is very family friendly and if that is not your scene, I would look to book elsewhere. We very much enjoyed our stay but took note for next time. The food was delicious and plenty of it as we booked in for breakfast and dinner. The staff was helpful in giving information about activities and hikes in the area. (complimentary limited wifi each day)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KriBauer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

the drakensburg sun is a beautiful place, was happy with the food and the staff, the rooms just need more attention as under the beds if filthy, the cuboards need some paining and the bathroom can be cleaned better as there was wee all over toilet that had dried


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank burness12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

HI,

We had a good stay, the food was really good,

service was great by all except reception, when checking in they provide you with no information on what hotel has, or directions to room, dinner times etc, you have to ask for all this - You better research before you get there so you know what to do at the hotel. (just a tip)

Also hotel is really old and needs a upgrade, like lifts, card access to rooms, WiFi, in room bar, . they also need to Maintain what there is , eg in the games rooms the equipment looks so old and bad i wouldn't even take it home for free the table tennis bats only one side still has "some" padding left, the table is damaged , almost all the TV games are out of order, the kids activities outside are rusted.

They advertise on the website free 1gB wifi to rewards guest but when at the hotel i was told this is not available at the hotel "sorry"

Also advertised is a list of activities to do, but what they fail to mention is that they are only available during peak times, and some are not available the rest of the year,

Also advertised on their website is activities you would think the hotel is providing but when you there you have to do all the bookings and payments with a third party and the hotel provides no help at all, so WHY have this on their site like its something you can book or do with them,.

However, the food was great , big selection in the buffet, and the staff and housekeeping (except Nomsa at Reception) was very helpful,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pranels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was very impressed with the service offered. I paid senior citizen rates and felt that I got excellent value. Good food, friendly staff and pleasant surroundings all made for a comfortable stay. I noticed that families too were welcome and the children all seemed to be having fun.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank maryann_akerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have just returned and I must compliment the hotel on the following:
Service was world class especially from the chefs in the dining room.
Hotel, although recently revamped was spotless inside and outside.
location is one of the best in the berg.
We found nothing to complain about, just had a relaxing time. There is so much to do around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradleyVJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here. Very relaxing stay, but with plenty of activities! Perfect place for a family vacation. Very impressed by the friendliness of the staff (except the guy at the canoes). Grounds are beautifully maintained with a lovely pool, mashie golf course, bowling green and a lake with free canoes and twice daily boat trip. Food was excellent. Had the most amazing fresh trout prepared in front of me. My wife enjoyed an amazing massage at the spa. Also beautiful walking trails in the Berg. Only negative is that the hotel corridors and rooms are neat and clean but looks slightly worn. Drakensberg Canopy Tours within walking distance and most definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stay at Drakensberg Sun annually. We have always enjoyed the facilities and food. Relaxing getaway and enjoy the fact that you can park your car off for your entire stay and enjoy. What dissapointed me this time was the food. The buffet was so dissapointing from all our previous visits. Food was repeated daily. Spoke to the waiters and they informed us that the head chef had changed. There was no creativity in the food and no pride taken by the chefs serving the hot foods to you. My family family asked me to please not book at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maloshni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
910 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
583 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
644 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#6 of 16 in Winterton
105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gooderson Monks Cowl Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: £150 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing