We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Durban, South Africa
14
Reviewed 20 November 2005

We had booked at the timeshare/self catering chalet. The layout was totally awesome especially the kitchen/dining/lounge all open plan, thus creating a relaxing spacious environment. The bring and braai and bingo games etc. organised by the hotel the day after our arrival was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. The kids loved the open space while the parents (that's us) enjoyed the "mingling" with other people. Unfortunately due to rainy weather we were unable to go on hikes etc. Kids still enjoyed the pool and play area tremendously. Both my hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant based at the hotel especially since it served up some of the best fresh trout we have tasted. The fire burning both in the bar and restaurant was warm and romantic tooo.... Will definitely recommend to other people and would like to come again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
There are newer reviews for Drakensberg Sun Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 899 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Tongaat, KZN, South Africa
124
Reviewed 25 January 2005

Date 04-01-05
Reviewer : T.S.Moodley
I booked an holiday at the Drakensburg Sun for the 4th and 5th January 2005.I had specifically asked for a family room for my wife and two kids.
Imagine my dissappointed after travelling 600kms from Pongolla to realise that we were given a normal room. On complaining to the front desk I was informed that there were no family rooms available.They then sent up a foam mattress (room 121). Imagine paying R1295.00 a night to sleep on the floor.
Regards

24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2005

My wife and I stayed in one of the Chalets in Feb 2004. It is a beautiful resort in a very scenic location. There are a few walks that can be commenced from within the grounds of the resort. The walk to the Blue Grotto is lovely. You end up at a waterfall and a pool where you can go swimming. The resort has it own lake where you can canoe, there is a small pitch and putt course running through the grounds.

The food served at the breakfast buffet and the buffet carvery are of top quality as is the service through out the Drakensberg Sun.

We will be returning to this resort in 2005 because it is wonderful place to relax and rewind

22  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Heiko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steenhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bastiaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Una habitación que de a los jardines y las montañas.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaJosePeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
2.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
893 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
580 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
630 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#5 of 16 in Winterton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakensberg Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakensberg Sun Resort

Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range: £139 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakensberg Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drakensberg is one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations and it is little wonder why. Set in the breathtaking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, the Drakensberg Sun not only offers guests panoramic views of the region but some of the best resort facilities and amenities imaginable. If you’re interested in visiting the Drakensberg during your next holiday, the Drakensberg Sun resort is the accommodation offering for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Drakensberg Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Sun Lifestyle Hotel Winterton
Drakensberg Sun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing