We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed for two nights B&B in early Feb 14. Good location for self drivers. Owner is very kind and responsive. Breakfast is superb. Rooms are functional but lack the personal care and touch that we found in other places of similar price tag.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MichaelSSela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We found ourselves running late and driving through Winterton at 8pm on our way to the berg, and decided to stop for the night. We were thrilled to find a room available at Swallows Nest and had a lovely relaxing night, delicious breakfast and were ready to continue our drive in the morning in a much better mood! I wish we were able to stay longer and explore the town!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Unlike most European guests I encountered here, who seemed to stay one night only in their insane quests to see as much of South Africa as possible from the inside of their cars, I stayed 4 nights and it was a very smart choice. Winterton makes an ideal base for accessing most parts of the Drakensberg so I would definitely recommend this B&B for hikers. The staff at Swallow's Nest are very friendly, and the breakfasts are good. One real bonus here is that, if you want, you can have a home-cooked dinner in the evening at any time to suit you. The food is typically South African and is utterly delicious and way better than what you can get in the local pub (not that the pub food is poor). If you've been out on a strenuous hike and can't be bothered to move yourself after your shower, this is really convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our wedding night was made so special by the Swallows Nest who put in so much effort to make everything perfect for us. From the petals on our bed to the wine and glasses and little chocolates left for us, no detail was overlooked.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jody & Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for just one night en route back from Durban to Joburg. It's a lovely, friendly stopover away from the highway. The room was pretty basic (but great value). The service was excellent - very personal and welcoming - and we have a superb breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A warm welcome, a very well appointed room, clean and warm with a very comfortable bed. We enjoyed a delicious supper and a great breakfast, making for an enjoyable break in the journey from the coast to Johannesburg. The only thing we missed was a bath to ooze away the tensions of riding a motorcycle with cracked ribs!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tdbosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much and the food was delicious. Nice rooms and a very lovely lady. She helped us with everythink. We were also allowed to use her computer. Good place to stay if you are travling fromDurban-joburg.


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
18.0 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
910 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
583 reviews
1.5 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Inkosana Lodge
Inkosana Lodge
#2 of 6 in Cathkin Park
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lilac Lodge
Lilac Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winterton
76 reviews
11.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#6 of 16 in Winterton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cnr Bergview Drive & Springfield Road, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: £37 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallow's Nest B&B is set in an acre of beautiful garden surrounds, situated in Winterton (KZN), a small village which lies in the foothills of the Central Drakensberg. We offer 8 comfortable en-suite bedrooms (twin/double/family). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing