We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we like the location, the yard, the lodge, the service, the tasty breakfast, the scenery outside......you could see the sunrise and beautiful golden sunlight once you get up early and go out, cross the road, everything is excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scarlett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    36
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
38
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beautiful Easter,
We stayed there for 4 nights and spent our Easter. Very good location in Winterton with delicious breakfast and perfect service. Excellent access to Drakensberg and after long day hiking you can rest in amazing garden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luknaroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights.The room was very comfortable, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. We had a lovely dinner cooked for us on the first day of our stay. Great location for exploring the Drakensbergs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Swallows nest is an older B7B and therefore could do with some renovation. Nevertheless we had a good night sleep and a good breakfast.
Breakfast wishes need to be filled in on a form at arrival. Wifi only at the restaurant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We staid two nights in Winterton. The people of the Hotel were very friendly and helpfull. They had an excellent breakfest.

From the hotel you can reach different parts of the Drakensberge within 1 hour.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was our second stay. Convenient, comfortable, food is excellent- tasty and big portions- best mushroom sauce I have ever tasted, hospitable patrons, lovely relaxing gardens, private rooms.
E Raw,
Ethembeni Caterer

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Esme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed for two nights B&B in early Feb 14. Good location for self drivers. Owner is very kind and responsive. Breakfast is superb. Rooms are functional but lack the personal care and touch that we found in other places of similar price tag.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MichaelSSela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
18.0 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
861 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
572 reviews
15.3 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
11.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Winterton
94 reviews
14.5 mi away
Inkosana Lodge
Inkosana Lodge
#2 of 6 in Cathkin Park
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cnr Bergview Drive & Springfield Road, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallow's Nest B&B is set in an acre of beautiful garden surrounds, situated in Winterton (KZN), a small village which lies in the foothills of the Central Drakensberg. We offer 8 comfortable en-suite bedrooms (twin/double/family). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing