We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joberg2C” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
“Joberg2C”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Swallow's Nest was ideally situated directly opposite the sports field for the Joberg2C race which made it easier for us wives to visit our husbands. The accommodation was clean, neat and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely go back.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
35
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

we like the location, the yard, the lodge, the service, the tasty breakfast, the scenery outside......you could see the sunrise and beautiful golden sunlight once you get up early and go out, cross the road, everything is excellent

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scarlett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beautiful Easter,
We stayed there for 4 nights and spent our Easter. Very good location in Winterton with delicious breakfast and perfect service. Excellent access to Drakensberg and after long day hiking you can rest in amazing garden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luknaroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights.The room was very comfortable, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. We had a lovely dinner cooked for us on the first day of our stay. Great location for exploring the Drakensbergs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Swallows nest is an older B7B and therefore could do with some renovation. Nevertheless we had a good night sleep and a good breakfast.
Breakfast wishes need to be filled in on a form at arrival. Wifi only at the restaurant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We staid two nights in Winterton. The people of the Hotel were very friendly and helpfull. They had an excellent breakfest.

From the hotel you can reach different parts of the Drakensberge within 1 hour.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was our second stay. Convenient, comfortable, food is excellent- tasty and big portions- best mushroom sauce I have ever tasted, hospitable patrons, lovely relaxing gardens, private rooms.
E Raw,
Ethembeni Caterer

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Esme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winterton hotels
11.5 mi away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
17.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
15.3 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
4.6 mi away
Drakensberg Bush Lodge
Drakensberg Bush Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cnr Bergview Drive & Springfield Road (R74), Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallow's Nest B&B is set in an acre of beautiful garden surrounds, situated in Winterton (KZN), a small village which lies in the foothills of the Central Drakensberg. We offer 8 comfortable en-suite bedrooms (twin/double/family). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Swallow's Nest Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing