We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardmore Guest Farm
Ranked #1 of 8 Winterton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The place is in a magical part of the Drakensburg, the home cooked food is delicious and has the best soup. The chalets are spacious and have a rustic feel with the antique furniture. The only complaint I had was that the chalets were not cleaned well and the bedding needs to be replaced as it is a bit worn. It is very good value for money and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank ElroydBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

After a long journey we finally arrived at Ardmore and got friendly welcomed by Sue. She showed us our bungalow and guided us to the dining room since we arrived just on time for dinner. Dinner is a 4 course home cooked meal (buffet). Breakfast was a la carte where you could choose from egg, tomato, bacon and sausages.

We got the bungalow and according to a guest it was quite spacious compared to theirs. They do have some nice lodges for larger families which contains of two floors and a breathtaking view is included.
Our bungalow had a small lounge area with two sofas were you could sit and relax. If you are looking for a 5* accomodation, this wont be the place to be. We were quite annoyed by the flies in the room and especially in the morning they start buzzing around your head. A mosquito net would have definitely given us a better night sleep. One more thing, was that one window didnt have curtains and for light sleepers this can wake you up early in the morning.
The people were very friendly and helpful with tips were to go. We did the Drakensberg canopy tour, which was very fun to do.

Overall, stay was ok and relaxing. They have a lot of activities for childern ranging from swimming pool to pool tables.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Single woman travelling alone can come here with no hesitation. It is safe. You can freely
roam around on the farm. The cottages are spacious. The food is good. The staff friendly.
Lots to do in the surrounding area. You will need your own transport. The Berg is beautiful
any time of year.

Room Tip: Avoid the budget bungalow. The other cottages are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is our first stay and won't be our last. We had a fabulous time staying in Zebra Cottage at the Ardmore. All the staff were helpful but special mention must go to Esme and Paul. The food was excellent and you get breakfast and dinner for a super value price! Thank you to all!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This guest house has the ideal location for exploring the Drakensbergen.
We stayed in a garden view cottage and when showed we were suprised about the size. The cottage was enormous. (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and in the middle a living room). But they only put just one travel company in the cottage.

The farm looked nice but a bit under kept. Everything looked dated. The bathroom was nice, especially the Jacuzzi in it. But the shower was not high enough. I had to bow my had to get under it. I think they definitely have to address all their cottages and graduatly update them to a higher standard, without loosing the authenticity of the place. The beds were good, but we didn't like the blankets. They still used a woolen type of blanket with sheet and this just doesn't feel very hygienic.

when you book you always get a complementary dinner and breakfast. The dinner was very good and starts with a soup, followed by a salad. After the salad there is a buffet with different choices every day and at the end you can choose from a small dessert buffet and drink a cup of coffee or tea in the tearoom or garden.

They try to let the different travel companies mix as much as possible, but they will not force you to mingle. This creates a very relaxing and friendly atmosphere.

We think they offer a good price-value hotel.

Room Tip: We talked with one of the guest staying in the smaller rondavels and they told us that they are real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimEvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When we arrived and I saw our house (two storey accommodation for the two of us, I thought it was lovely. The 'house' would have slept six comfortably with two bathrooms. Open fire..

We were there when the temperature reached over 34 degrees so found it very hot, would love to be there when the open fire in the bedroom and the open plan lounge, it must be stunning.

The food was lovely both evening meal (wine with meal if you wanted) and breakfast with plenty of choice. The owner and host made you feel very welcome. Nothing too much trouble.

The views were stunning and the hospitality was great

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christa1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I have been going to Ardmore Guest Farm for more than a decade. Every time we drive into the grounds there’s a wonderful sense of peace – and anticipation, knowing we’re in for a truly enjoyable stay. It’s pure tranquil Berg, with the bonus of our charming and attentive hosts Paul and Sue Ross. The accommodation is very comfortable without losing the country ‘feel’. There are smaller rooms at lesser prices but we always request one of the roomy two storey cottages with a lounge and fireplace and magnificent views. The food has never disappointed, great home cooking, hearty breakfasts and complimentary wine with dinner (four courses) in the stunning Yellowwood dining room. There are gregarious dogs to take you for walks, pet pigs and horses that graze on your doorstep. Some of our fondest memories were made at Ardmore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
5.2 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
942 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
60 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
5.2 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#6 of 16 in Winterton
108 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lilac Lodge
Lilac Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winterton
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Guest Farm

Address: | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winterton
Price Range: £58 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardmore Guest Farm is situated in the heart of the scenic Champagne Valley in the central Drakensberg mountain range. Here you can enjoy stunning views of the three highest peaks in South Africa - Mafadi (highest peak at 3450m), Injisuti Dome (3410m) and the majestic Champagne Castle (3377m) which are all situated within the World Heritage site. We are surrounded by breathtaking views and fantastic opportunities for hiking and exploring the local area. We also have our won Ardmore Museum and art gallery, and the African Loom weaving centre for those who are interested in local crafts and artwork. We provide comfortable farm style accommodation, with dinner and breakfast included. We have a total of 18 units, situated either in a traditional thatch rondawel or in one of our beautiful mountain facing cottages or garden rooms. All rooms are en-suite with private fireplaces and free firewood. Wake up to a traditional farmhouse breakfast (full English) overlooking Ardmore's extensive gardens. Relax in our pub with a cold drink before joining us for a relaxed four course lantern lit dinner with complimentary wine served in our yellow wood dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ardmore Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Guest Farm Hotel Winterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing