We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest at "The Nest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rest at "The Nest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

While we were in the Jo'burg area, we wanted to see the Drakensberg mountains.We had only 2 nights available, but the trip was well worth it. It is out of the way, in a quiet, peaceful area. The resort provides all meals, tasty and abundant. Sitting on the patio at night and watching the brilliance of the stars or sitting and just reading a good book was a great respite during our trip. It has been there many years, but we found it to be clean and comfortable, but the area was what does really sell it.

Room Tip: ask for a mountain view from your patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    225
    65
    24
    15
See reviews for
185
182
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Four of us booked this hotel for two nights when we were taking a walking tour of the Drakensberg Mountain area. The location is quite beautiful, especially if your room overlooks the Drakensberg Mountains as ours did. As far as we could ascertain the accommodation included all meals, but we only took breakfast and dinner as we were out all day. We arrived mid to late afternoon and were met by very friendly and attentive staff. Check in was quick and easy and there were plenty of staff on hand to direct us to the best parking area and take out luggage to our rooms
Dinner was a pretty much set five course affair. All of it was nourishing and served very promptly and cheese, biscuits and coffee were buffet style. We were encouraged to take part in games in the lounge after dinner, but declined this in favour of the nearby bar where the staff was great fun and very friendly
Our room was very basic. It was in a single floor building with about four or five rooms side by side. There was a door in at the front and another out at the back onto a small ‘stoop’ or patio. The patio furniture had seen better days so we took out chairs from the room when we wanted to sit outside. The room had three beds and was very spacious. The TV worked fine, but again like so many South African hotels there was no UK news channel. The bathroom was also large with a shower over the bath. We were warned that the hot water took ages to arrive and ten minutes would not be an over exaggeration
I could not believe it but a bell was rung at 8.00am to let everyone know that breakfast was served. Like dinner breakfast was a combination of buffet and waiter service, but again the food was wholesome but certainly not ostentatious.
There was also a perfectly fine WiFi Internet connection that was accessible in the reception area and the nearby lounge.
On the afternoon we arrived the hotel was quite, but the following day the hotel was filled with families and many children on some sort of team building event. If you wanted a quiet time in a remote location you would not have got it on this day. However we enjoyed seeing all these people having fun and it did not interfere in anyway with our enjoyment.
I believe that the owners were on site whilst we were there and they paid great attention to maintaining standards and ensuring everyone had a good time. I would not want to spend a week there but a couple of days as a base for walking, golf and sightseeing this hotel is superb. Not only would I recommend it I would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Drakensberg Mountains. Several do, but it appears many do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aceputter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duirban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Took my family early 2012 to this charming child friendly hotel-excellent food and service, tranquil surrounds, warm and friendly staff-all good no bad..we are booked for Easter again- loved it there
Pete Bell and fam

Room Tip: Get the double story mountian view units
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

we stopped off at the Nest and was due to stay 2 nights but we loved it so much that we stayed another night and had to drag ourselves away at lunch time as I did not want to drive at night
My son's 7 and 10 loved it as well and the youngest one burst into tears when we left
The staff and mangement were a delight as well as the lovley meals and we also had a real blast at the dinner dance on Sat eve

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay we will be back

Room Tip: berg view 61 lots do do in the valley as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We booked part of our Christmas holiday at the Nest based on the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. The Nest is situated in the most beautiful surroundings of the Central Drakensberg and is certainly a very peaceful place to spend a few days. The staff were all very friendly, the food was good, but not the usual "buffet" that you get at other resorts in the "Berg". Our children had been hoping to meet other children of similar age, but there seems to be a much "older" cliental that goes to The Nest. My son loves to join in on the "kiddies" activities, but the few that were advertised and that he tried to join, never happened? The rooms were adequate but I did not enjoy the steep spiral staircase to reach the upstairs bedroom, I'm not sure that an adult would enjoy having to use it too often. Overall a very relaxing few days, but perhaps a place more suited to couples without children?

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTowntravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We booked at the Nest having heard it was a great family holiday resort.We were paying in peak season R3600 for 4 people, 2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 13.We found the staff friendly BUT the hotel is very run down and the so called newly decorated rooms were terrible.We had 1 bathroom between 4 to share which was tiny and seedy and the childrens room was up stairs which were trecherous to say the least. The mattress and bedding needs upgrading as well.The food was a strong reminder of boarding school in the 70's. We moved to Cathedral Peak Hotel which should be made a 5 star hotel and The Nest should be downgraded to a 1or 2 star.Pricing should also be adjusted accordingly.

Room Tip: Don't book the family rooms with a bedroom upstairs as the people downstairs hear every footstep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The service of all the staff was fantastic from the moment we got there. The food was exceptional, and both my son and I enjoyed the variety. I loved that 3 meals and 2 teas were included in the cost - it was great value for money.

The relaxed environment made our stay extremely pleasant. I will recommend The Nest to all my friends, and will want to return in future.

Some of the photos and pictures on the walls are old and shabby, and I would recommend that some more up to date and less shabby pitures and photos are used - the old photos detracted from the character of The Nest.

Room Tip: We had a room with a mountain view, but it made no difference as we spent very little time in our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
6.9 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
4.8 mi away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
19.3 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
12.6 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel

Property: The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
Address: On the R600 road | Champagne Valley, KwaZulu Natal, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Winterton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite views over the Ukhahlamba Drakensberg World Heritage Site, an area rich in history and adventure, makes The Nest Hotel a unique and much loved destination for so many tourists and families from far flung places. ESCAPE FROM THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE Set in acres of beautiful park-like gardens, our rooms offer a peaceful escape from busy city life. All rooms are neatly appointed and comfy, with bath/shower and toilet en suite, radio, telephone, coffee/tea making facility. HEARTY COUNTRY CUISINE One of the few Resort Hotels offering a sumptuous Table d’Hote included in your tariff. Wholesome six-course traditional dinners, full hearty breakfasts, light country-style lunches and morning and afternoon teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest - Drakensburg Mountain Hotel Winterton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing